We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Club Allard

El Club Allard
Calle de Ferraz, 2, 28008 Madrid, Spain (Arguelles)
+34 915 59 09 39
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with
El Club Allard is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5 of 7,325 Restaurants in Madrid
Cuisines: Contemporary, Fusion, Eclectic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Neighborhood: Arguelles
Paris
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Exceptional”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

The service, presentation, and wonderful choices presented by Diego that appeals to the pallet and the senses is worth the visit. Not inexpensive by Madrid standards but worth the sensual dining experience.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

915 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    725
    118
    40
    15
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best culinary experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012 via mobile

We headed down on our first day to make a reservation the next day but it was full, however the manager placed us on waiting list and we got our table the next day for dinner. Do remember to make a reservation at least 2 weeks before.

The head chef came out to welcome us and introduced us to three different menus and also asked about our food preferences or allergies. We choose the revolution menu which had 3 appetizers, 4 starters, 1 fish, 1 meat, a dessert appertif and then 2 desserts followed by tea or coffee to finish off. Each of the dishes thar was served was an art by itself. We were constantly amazed by how humble foos ingredients look but was intepreted and served in a unique way of its own. Even the desserts of both the fish bowl and poached egg were amazingly created. Definitely worth the visit for a 2 star Michelin restaurant. We ordered two glasses of wine and the total bill racked up to 260 euros for the two of us. A must visit restaurant the next time you are in Madrid!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“It is definitely memorable dining experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

I celebrated my xx Birthday in the Club Allard on December 13th with my sons and my dear friends from Russia. We absolutely loved it! It was very unusual and outstanding dining experience. Regardless of the fact we were dining in the magnificent place of 19th century we felt very comfortable and cozy. The staff was very pleasant and every dish and its presentation were surprisingly incredible. It is definitely memorable dining experience

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Excellent dining experience. Every course a visual delight.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012 via mobile

We came here for my husband's birthday dinner. We made our reservations much earlier. Although we did check out the pictures of the food on the website, it's totally different experiencing it in person.

In the past, we are sceptical with high priced and Michelin starred restaurants, but this restaurant deserves its recognition. Bravo to the chef!

Every course was a visual delight. Not only was it tasty, but the entire meal was just right in terms of the portion. Service was good. The only regret is we did not get to meet the chef as we came all the way from Malaysia. Hopefully, one day when we return, we get to do so.

Highly recommended. For the molecular gastronomy experience at its finest.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Hampton
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Avoid this place like the plague!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

I've never in my life witnessed such a pretentious concoction of smoking (dry ice) foods all disguised as something else or else something totally foreign and unrecognizable. We endured the tedious parade of endless courses (each consisting of two or three bites of something vaguely noxious) and were longing for a single dish of something we could recognize and actually taste. The chef, a very sweet man looking weirdly like Al Pacino as Frank Serpico, would do well making science fixture movies with lots of special effects. Cannot begin to fathom all the race reviews!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Club Allard also viewed

Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 
Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 

Been to El Club Allard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Club Allard, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.