We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid this place like the plague!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of El Club Allard

El Club Allard
Calle de Ferraz, 2, 28008 Madrid, Spain
+34 915 59 09 39
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with
El Club Allard is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 6,833 Restaurants in Madrid
Cuisines: Contemporary, Eclectic, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
East Hampton
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Avoid this place like the plague!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

I've never in my life witnessed such a pretentious concoction of smoking (dry ice) foods all disguised as something else or else something totally foreign and unrecognizable. We endured the tedious parade of endless courses (each consisting of two or three bites of something vaguely noxious) and were longing for a single dish of something we could recognize and actually taste. The chef, a very sweet man looking weirdly like Al Pacino as Frank Serpico, would do well making science fixture movies with lots of special effects. Cannot begin to fathom all the race reviews!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

771 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    615
    95
    37
    11
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Gorgeous food presented with a theatrical touch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Fantastic restaurant - inventive food presented with a real theatrical flair. From the moment you sit down, and realise you can eat the restaurant business card on the table you know you're in for something a little unusual. Everything course of the taster menu has some exciting twist - smoke wafted with one dish to enhance the smell; food served over a lantern; a pudding disguised as an egg. Though most importantly the food tastes as well as looking amazing, the theatrical touches add to the experience of the food rather than detract from it.

Everything is spot on the food, the service and the ambience. Whilst not cheap - for food of this quality its good value (the wine list is particularly good value for a restaurant of this quality).

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“One of the Best in the World”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Outstanding!! This restaurant beats Per Se, Le Bernardin, Minibar and many other great places. It pushes the limits of creativity but importantly, not to the detriment of fabulous taste. It is a nice touch that the chef visits every table before and after the meal -- perhaps because he knows he will only hear accolades. While not inexpensive, it is a good value for what it delivers. The four of us sat in a private room at the back -- request it if you can.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ankara, Turkey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A wonderful memory”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Dinner at the Club Allard was the highlight of our Madrid visit (we are a family of three with a 15-year-old son). There is nothing I can really add to all the existing reviews, except to agree with the common positive points--amazing food (our son was clearly more taken with the art of Mr. Diego Guerrero than any of the old masters at the Prado) and charming service (a special hello to Osman)--all of which made for a memorable experience that we still take pleasure in recalling and reliving. Thank you, from Ankara.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“WOW A most unusual dinning experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

My wife found this restaurant on trip advisor for our autumn break. I went along with it not realising it had 2 Michelin stars. I now know why. Delicious food and presented in such an unusual way. Most other reviewers have said all there is to say but the Diego coming to the table at both the begining and end of the meal was attention to detail of the highest level. We didn't have a reservation and just called in on the off chance. We were lucky.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Club Allard also viewed

Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 
Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 

Been to El Club Allard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Club Allard, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.