We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really comfortable hotel, excellent value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Arrope

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Arrope to your Saves list
Hotel Arrope
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   La Vega 31, 26200 Haro, Spain   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Haro
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“Really comfortable hotel, excellent value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

HOTEL: We traveled from Madrid to San Sebastian, and stopped in various hotels along the way -- even though the Arrope was the cheapest hotel in our itinerary, it was the most comfortable. Although it didn't offer as much in the way of amenities as the other hotels, it made up for it in comfort, which, for me, is a lot of outlets, a strong shower and modern bathroom, a roomy armoire, a nice desk, a comfortable bed and a flat-screen TV. Although the hotel lobby and rooms are modern in style, they still show off the building's more classical architectural appointments, such as floor-to-ceiling, large shuttered windows that you open at night to take advantage of a cool breeze that renders A/C unnecessary.

LOCATION: It is five minute walk to Haro's main plaza and the bodegas. It is about a 5 minute drive to Haro's wineries (CVNE, Lopez de Heredia, Muga, etc.).

AMENITIES: There is also a nice courtyard with a grape arbor where many local Haro residents gather for drinks. (2 glasses of generously-poured rosado cost only 1,50 euros!) Although the staff's English is not great, they make up for it with their genuine warmth, efficiency, and helpfulness.

PARKING: We parked on the street outside of Haro. It is paid parking via an automatic street box. It is free at night and takes a siesta. (If you park within blue lines, it is paid. There is nonpaid parking on side streets, might want to inquire in the hotel.)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    48
    14
    2
    2
See reviews for
19
78
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

in the city of haro, very convenient position, spacious room mostly modern design, very clean room and bathroom, cosy atmosphere in the nice small garden, wifi. all at reasonable price. parking in the street.

Room Tip: select a front looking room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chingford
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

I visited Haro as part of a 4 destination two week holiday to experience the Batillo de Vino on 29th June.. which was absolutely great .. I made my booking direct with the Hotel via e mail from London and every communication was very helpful. I had a double room for single use which was very spacious clean, comfortable with dual aspect windows. I really enjoyed my stay in this very nice hotel. They are in the process of adding 6 extra rooms and a Spa area and although there was a little noise it was nothing to irritating and I look forward to returning when everything is finished.

It wasn't the building work that woke me but the band marching down the street in readiness for the celebrations - great !! There is a modern resturant and bar area and a very nice terrace which is a very nice place to relax and enjoy a glass of wine in the sunshine.

Hotel Arrope is in a great location close to the town square near some very nice eateries. As Dan 307 I would recommend a visit to the Muga Bodega. It is also just accross the road to the Tourist Office. I loved Haro and would be very happy to stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

Being ranked as the top hotel in Haro on Trip Advisor we were expecting good things from the Hotel Arrope, which may have added a little to our slight disappointment.

True it is in a great location, close to the main centre and some amazing restaurants, plus within easy reach of the many Bodegas (I would highly recommend a trip to the Bodegas Muga, at only €6 per person for the Wine Tour its great value!).

The rooms were modern in feel, clean and more than spacious enough for our needs. We had a room on the first floor overlooking the front courtyard, but didn’t find either the noise from the bar/restaurant or the road an issue as we were out in the evenings ourselves. I could see this being an issue if you did want an earlier night (the bar closes at 12pm) as - due to the lack of air-conditioning mentioned elsewhere - you did need to leave the windows open.

However, whilst we were staying there they were in the process of adding a number of new bedrooms and a spa area. This resulted in a constant level of banging and drilling throughout the day, which meant that any form of siesta was out of the question.

I would love to go back again and experience the hotel in a fully finished state, it certainly is a good value hotel in a good location and this probably would have been a 3.5 star review if that was an option!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

We spent a couple of nights at Hotel Arrope whilst touring around the Rioja region. The hotel was excellent as were all the staff. The hotel is only a couple of minutes walk from the centre of town so it is ideally located.

Rooms are large, comfortable and they are only making the hotel better by refurbishing parts of the hotel. Beds were comfortable, room clean and bathrooms well looked after. We had a room on the first floor over looking the courtyard. We didn't have any problems with noise from the bar as mentioned by some other reviews. The rooms don't have air conditioning - but you just open the windows so this is not an issue.

I didn't get the name of the person who sits on the front desk, but she was really friendly and booked all of our visits to Bodegas which was very much appreciated. Service was excellent and all the staff were more than happy to do more that what would be expected to make our visit comfortable and memorable.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

Good location a short walk to all Haro has to offer. Friendly staff although only limited English spoken.
We had a a double room with balcony it was spacious and the cleanest room we have ever seen.
No hair drier but all normal toiletries etc. supplied
There is no air conditioning although this wasn't a problem for us in May and the there were shutters that would help keep the room cool.
A Nice comfortable Proper double bed unlike most Spanish hotels I have stopped in.
The wine in Haro is very nice the best I've tasted in Spain.
All the Bodega tours have to be booked in advance They are all within walking distance Roda and Muga are both worth a visit
Hotel offers an excellent base to explore the town i recommend it and will stay there again

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
219 reviews 219 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

Very friendly- large, airy room, lovely location and just a great place! Booked a visit to the Cathedral in Vitoria (well worth a visit)and the owners could not have been more helpful.

Room Tip: room 102! Jacuzzi being added on terrace for 2013!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Arrope? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Arrope

Address: La Vega 31, 26200 Haro, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > La Rioja > Haro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Haro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Arrope 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Arrope reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Arrope, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.