We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A decent stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bristol Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Bristol Hotel to your Saves list
Bristol Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8 / 10 Cathedral Square, P O Box 56, Gibraltar   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Gibraltar
Ontario
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“A decent stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

I travelled to Gibraltar and had pre booked this hotel. Unfortunately my plans changed and I arrived a day late. The hotel was very accommodating to allow me to stay without additional charges. The staff were very friendly, the breakfast was also nice. The only negative comment I could make about the hotel is that the room was very dated. The electrical outlets had so e covers off and lots of dust throughout the room.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    102
    130
    57
    73
See reviews for
70
141
34
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bolton
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Stayed 2 night. It was like going to Blackpool in boarding house with old fasioned carpets. Was clean but has some sort of lino in bathroom which smelled slightly of urine. Tiles need to be placed in bathrooms. Breakfast was ok and staff very good. Was in the best position for the town and had reasonable swimming pool area to sit. Only annoying thing round pool was amount of flies which were a nuisance. All in all as cheapest hotel on island is ok for a couple of nights as you only zleep I your room. Gib is very quite at night after all tourist gone home.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Gibraltar hotels

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

we stayed here for 10 days B&B from 1st July until 11th July 2014 a we fancied a nce relaxing break somewhere different.
Hotel did not meet our usual standards and was very drab and in need of a good refurb.Our room was at the front facing cathedral square which doubles as a taxi stand throughout the day and night resulting in a very noisy room with disturbed sleep throughout the night.
Gibraltar itself had a lot to offer and as a resort with some very good beaches restaurants and pubs throughout the town.we would do Gib again with only a 2 1/2hr flight to the sun but we would not but would not stay at the Bristol if you do I recommend a room to the rear and upper floors of the hotel for a good nights sleep.

Room Tip: rear rooms upper floor recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Smelled of smoke in the corridors. Television pixelated on all but one channel. Staff not too bad except one female receptionist who was rude and abrupt. Rooms dark and dated and beds had other occupants. Would not return but Gibraltar excellent

Room Tip: Smelled of smoke in the corridors. Television pixelated on all but one channel. Staff not too bad ex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Stayed here on route from Morocco to Andalucia. The Hotel is somewhat dated, but staff is friendly and efficient. The small pool isn't particularily scenic, but the kids loved it after a long day of traveling. Room was clean and functional. Staff was very helpful. When the cable car to the rock shut down because of wind, they helped us to find an alternative way to get up on the rock. Bus from the border stops about 500m from the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

The Bristol Hotel is a very dowdy and dark hotel we had a 4 night stay in July 2014. . The corridors were dimly lit and on the 2nd floor there was a distinct smell of stale cigarette smoke in a supposedly smoking free hotel. The carpets were very old fashioned and the walls covered in dark wood veneer paneling. Some of the pictures on the walls were framed jigsaw puzzles. The whole hotel needs a complete refurb from top to bottom. The pool was the best part of the hotel but was very small and did not really cater for the 60 or so rooms in the hotel. If there had been more than 20 people around the pool it would have been a health and safety issue. The breakfast was poor and there was not a lot to choose from especially if you have dietary restrictions (gluten allergy). no fruit or choice of eggs only boiled and warm if you were lucky. The staff in the hotel did not appear to be happy in their employ especially the lady who when asked why there was no power in the room replied "how do you expect me to know" and said we were rude when we decided cut out losses and go back to the room.

Room Tip: Didn't get a chance to see any other rooms, just don't stay in 209.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

We had a pleasant stay at the Bristol Hotel. We found all the staff helpful, friendly and always willing to help. I have found many reviews online which suggests the hotel the hotel is dated, this is very true, but I find it keeps a charm by staying this way, it still offers clean bedding and towels daily, with sky tv in the room also.
My only room for improvement would be the breakfast which is basic, but in no way means lacking in quantity!
If you are a seasoned traveller used to big beach resorts, this hotel will not appease you! For those who know and love Gibraltar its an ideal hotel, no frills, more than excellent location and of course some of the cheapest drinks on offer at the pool bar!.
I am back there next year and have been all over the world, im happy to stay again, this hotel gave me everything basic i needed and at a price which was hard to beat!

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bristol Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bristol Hotel

Address: 8 / 10 Cathedral Square, P O Box 56, Gibraltar
Location: Gibraltar
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Gibraltar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bristol Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Bristol Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bristol Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.