We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bristol Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Bristol Hotel to your Saves list
Bristol Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8 / 10 Cathedral Square, P O Box 56, Gibraltar   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Gibraltar
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Value for money”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights in September with a group of friends. The dated decor adds character. The room were basic but just as they were expected to be for the money. Staff were helpful when questioned and breakfast was basic. Pool area was ok and the location is great.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

478 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    125
    163
    70
    76
See reviews for
83
178
37
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Had an awful night here, either sweat all night or put the air con machine on and have the noise keep you awake all night, the room smelt of stale urine. The only good thing about the visit was it was for only one night as Easy jet flight was delayed and had to wait till the following day to get replacement.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Gibraltar hotels

Surrey, England
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Nice clean and functional base to stay. Rooms were huge, location excellent and very good value for money. Would not recommend the breakfast, very basic, just yoghurt, toast or croissant .... Really not worth getting up early for, you'd be better off going into Gib to eat.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

By far the worst interior design of any hotel I've visited. Don't where to start - Dark Wood paneling in the corridors, army cot beds with lumpy sprigs, powdered coffee for breakfast, maze like corridor layout. This hotel needed a interior make over 20 years ago and gas gotten worse since then.
On the plus side: reception desk staff was friendly and helpful. Exterior appearance was nice, but don't judge a book by it's cover - inside is awful.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

What depressing place Had to book as others full
The decor is truly horrible unless you're into jigsaw puzzle art (they adorn the corridors)
Breakfast was woeful and UHT milk !!
Room dark and grim (Dont look up unless you're into polystyrene tiling )
Staff ok at reception
Fortunately one night left and I will be out for most of that !!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lossiemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Was really disappointed in this hotel,the manager has informed me that they have bigger rooms if i had told them the room was too small,if that is the case why did they give us a tiny room whereby the two of us couldnt pass each other around the bed,it would be ok to use as a single but definately not a double room. .It was very humid when we were out and the rooms have individual air conditioning units and ours did not cool the room atall,we were so exhausted when we left through lack of sleep due to the heat in the room.The bar and breakfast room do not have any airconditioning either so not comfortable atall to either have breakfast or sit with a drink in the evening.The pool is surrounded in greenery which in makes it unpleasant to sit with so many flies about.The staff are very unpleasant with the exception of the bar man at night and one on reception who checked us in on the night we arrived.To sum it up we will definately not return.

Room Tip: Dont accept 330
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

No fancy accoutrements but a good clean hotel. It is very handy as it is next to the Main Street. There was always fresh towels and plenty of shower gel/ shampoo and soap. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone. The staff are very nice and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gibraltar
0.1 mi away
O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel
0.2 mi away
Sunborn Gibraltar
Sunborn Gibraltar
#1 of 7 in Gibraltar
4.5 of 5 stars 466 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rock Hotel Gibraltar
Rock Hotel Gibraltar
#2 of 7 in Gibraltar
4.0 of 5 stars 1,246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Caleta Hotel
Caleta Hotel
#4 of 7 in Gibraltar
4.0 of 5 stars 639 reviews
1.3 mi away
Asur Hotel Campo de Gibraltar
Asur Hotel Campo de Gibraltar
#2 of 7 in La Linea de la Concepcion
3.5 of 5 stars 736 reviews
1.9 mi away
AC Hotel La Linea by Marriott
AC Hotel La Linea by Marriott
#1 of 7 in La Linea de la Concepcion
4.0 of 5 stars 418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bristol Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bristol Hotel

Address: 8 / 10 Cathedral Square, P O Box 56, Gibraltar
Location: Gibraltar
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Gibraltar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bristol Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Otel and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Bristol Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bristol Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.