We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely place, edxcellent location, great value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bristol Hotel

Save Saved
You added Bristol Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Bristol Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8 / 10 Cathedral Square, P O Box 56, Gibraltar   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 7 hotels in Gibraltar
Bangor, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“lovely place, edxcellent location, great value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

I went here with a group of friends, after reading other reviews on here I was a little nervous as to what we would get on arrival. However, on arrival I was pleasantly surprised. The room was clean and well maintained, it wasn't what you call modern décor, but it was very comfortable and we had a great nights sleep every night, which considering its central location is great. One thing is that the rooms only had one pillow per person, but the reception was very happy to provide more, also there aren't many spare plugs in the room, there is a hair dryer, but we had to take it in turns to plug in our hair straighteners and phone chargers.

The staff were always helpful and friendly.

We paid about £60 per room per night including breakfast, which with 2 people to a room is great value

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    33
    74
    100
    42
    64
See reviews for
49
110
31
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle-upon-Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

This was my second time ive stayed in the Bristol, this hotel is clean & the staff were friendly booked a room with an interior view but got one with an exterior view (bounus) breakfast was continental all the usual (ham cheese croissants tea/coffee) good quality all round. we booked a triple room for £90 i consider £30 for bed & breakfast a good deal!! WELL DONE

Room Tip: Book Through "mygibraltar.com" you get a better deal
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

As soon as we arrived the attitude at reception did little to impress .... They put us in room 105 that resembled a hostel room ... dirty carpets ... moldy window frames and window surrounds ... a very lumpy matress !!!
We left straightaway and booked into another very nice hotel for a little more money than this dump charge.
After complaining and having no one call me back i emailed tham and recived a reply after 6 days saying all was ok with their hotel. They have obviously not been to see what their competiton offer ....... look at their other feedback .... most of them are POOR or TERRIBLE .... DONT stay here it will spoil your holiday just as it did ours ....

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We arrived in gibraltar having not booked accomodation for one night. We chose this hotel mainly due to the write up in Lonely Planet. All I can say is whoever wrote that must have stayed somewhere completely different. After years of travelling this would be the worst hotel we have ever stayed in. We should have checked the room before parting with our 98pound (I'm sure they saw us coming!).The gentleman in reception was un-friendly & abrupt. This is an absolute rabbit warren which smells & is so outdated. Our Air con unit was useless & the one in our friends room did not work at all. The bathroom was like something out of the dark ages & like others I had to climb under the table to plug in the straightners etc. This would be the first time ever in a hotel that the first thing I did was to go & seek out the fire exits. We had spent 2 weeks prior travelling in Portugal & Spain & stayed in beautiful hotels for the same amount of money.
From the outside it is an attractive old building, what a shame it has been left to deteriorate inside. The only plus is the location. Never ever again would I stay in this Hotel.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

After reading some of the bad reviews for this hotel, I was somewhat a little worried about going there instead of The Rock (which we also looked at before booking) but I have to say the Bristol is fabulous! The staff can't do enough to help you and are all so friendly that you immediately feel like a friend and resident of Gibraltar.

Rooms
The hotel itself is clean and the rooms have all you need and more. The beds are comfy and the en-suite bathroom was fabulous – with both a bath and shower, both of which were good and with plenty of very hot water so you may want to add some cold water before getting in! The TV has numerous free channels that you have to pay extra for in the UK (such as Sky Sports and Movies) and the fridge is a good size with a freezer compartment that froze our ice cubes quicker than I've ever known happen before (which is good if you forgot to do it before going out for the day and want it for your gin and tonic when you return to your room after sight-seeing!) The room is equipped with both air conditioning and a heater so take your pick as to whether you want to warm up or cool down! Plenty of wardrobe space and equipped with enough hangers even if you over-pack like me! Lots of drawer space too. There are various lamps/lights that suit any type of activity you may wish to do in your room (from reading to romance)!

Facilities
Both of the 2 lifts are quick and in good working order – they even have an up-to-date weather map for you to read as you go up or down the shaft! The swimming pool is a must unless you’re really boring! Yes, it was November when we went and yes, the weather was not particularly warm or dry that day but we had such fun doing it and had the pool to ourselves! If you go, take a gin and tonic with you (for medicinal purposes for when you get out of the pool) and take your cigarettes as you can smoke at the tables by the pool. You can get to the pool the quick way (which is out the hotel’s main entrance and across a little side street – about 10 footsteps in all) or you can go the longer way via reception and over the covered flyover/bridge inside.

Location
In Gibraltar – this hotel has by far the best location as you are within walking distance to anywhere and everywhere that you may want to go. The cable car is about a slow 5 minutes walk away and well worth the money to go up to the top of ‘The Rock’. Views are outstanding and the apes are plentiful! Don’t get too excited about the café or souvenir shop at the top of the Rock – neither is particularly brilliant but the apes are the stars of the Rock! We saw loads – some with tiny babies and yes, they are semi-wild animals so hugging them (as some people tried to) would be stupid (i.e. one woman got her face badly scratched) but if you just watch them and leave them be – they are both fascinating and amusing. Allow yourself more time to look at the apes than you originally think you may want – we couldn’t get enough of them but had so many other things as well that we wanted to do or see and the time goes very quickly! The caves are interesting and better than I thought they would be but I wouldn’t say you’ve missed the best of Gibraltar if you don’t see them.

Shopping, Eating and Dolphins
The Main Street is literally around the corner from the Bristol Hotel and it has all the shops and bars/cafes you could want. If you are a smoker / drinker – leave some space in your suitcase for your return journey – 200 B&H for £21.50, a litre of vodka is £4.99 and a 3 litre bottle of Jack Daniels is just £30!!

At the end of Main Street, there is the gorgeous Casement Square and it is a must-see – both during the day (lots of little unique shops) and in the evening as it is so different. Go to the Lord Nelson in the evening for fabulous food at reasonable prices and live music that was also excellent (they also have lots of big plasma screens for every type of live sporting event going on in the world – but no sound so it doesn’t spoil the ambience). We also loved Ocean View – a very plush marina near Casement Square and it has lots of lovely restaurants and bars that are not over-priced and the food is excellent at all the ones we went to. There is also a casino there if you are feeling lucky! If you want to do one of the dolphin trips – go with ‘Dolphin Adventure’ (which is located at the back of the casino) – they are totally brilliant, you are 99.9% guaranteed to see countless wild dolphins and the crew we had (Shane and Tim) were exceptional. The trip lasted a good hour and a half and every minute of it was amazing. It is unbelievably cheap and well worth the £20 it costs per person.

The Rock Hotel verses The Bristol
We went and had a nose around the Rock Hotel and yes, it is a beautiful hotel and I imagine it has a great view of the Rock from your room. It depends what you want – if you like walking up a VERY steep hill to get to your hotel, prefer to pay more for a few more minor luxuries, then I suppose you would prefer the Rock Hotel. However, if you prefer friendly and personable staff, being within easy walking distance to everywhere else in Gibraltar (without a steep hill) and are satisfied with comfort and all-you-really-need from a hotel – go to the Bristol. People who have written negative reviews about this hotel are totally unfair and seem to think it is reasonable expecting their hotel to be like The Ritz after only paying Fawlty Towers prices!

The Journey
We flew British Airways and it is well worth paying a little extra to go with them as opposed to going with the cheaper operator Easy Jet. British Airways were great in every way, the seats are comfy, you have more leg room than other short-haul flights and to top it off, you get free drinks (including alcohol) and snacks throughout the flight!

The landing at Gibraltar is a bit of a gamble (if you can actually land there) and it may be a bit bumpy to say the least but well worth the experience! Have your camera out during the flight and landing as there are some great views to take photos of! If you can’t land at Gibraltar (because of the cross winds or heavy cloud) then you are diverted to Malaga and travel to/from Gibraltar on a coach instead (which apparently takes 1-2 hours and customs may check you more thoroughly at both Malaga and the UK than if just going from UK to Gibraltar or vice-versa). British Airways never failed to land/take off but Easy Jet seemed to go to Malaga instead quite often whilst we were there. However, an airport official told us that Monarch Airlines “will land in any condition” so take your pick of the 3!

Room Tip: Email the hotel ahead of your stay and they will do their best to accommodate you if at all possible...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Bristol Hotel, is in the heart of Gibraltar, which is ideal for a short stay. Reasonable prices for a Town Centre property. The hotel and decor is somewhat dated, but all areas are clean and fairly well maintained for such an old building. Rooms are a bit basic but for the money ok. Could do with tea/coffee making in the rooms, but no plastic undersheets and my bed didn't creak, but he passageways and stairs do,but to me this adds character.Breakfast (continental) was eat as much as you want and good quality to choose from. Getting there is also in character ie go outside and get wet, or cross the minor side street to the separate building by a glass sided bridge (up and over) quirky. No complaints for a 3* ageing property.

Room Tip: Cannot advise on this point apart from 308 is a lot larger than 309. Both overlooking the street, bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Where else outside of Great Britain would you get 1970’s timber panelling throughout, squeaky beds, full plastic mattress covers and the old English guest, but in this little pierce of England called Gibraltar.

Plastic mattress protectors you ask? Yep you wake every time to roll over or move from the squeaky bed and/or the crinkling plastic protector. Perhaps the plastic mattress covers reflects the average age of the guests and their nightly habits?

The hotel claims to have internet access in the lounge, well, they do, just make sure that someone doesn’t get on “their” Skype and ring someone; it will suck every bit out of the internet access and leave you stranded until they finish. Multiple WIFI internet users seem OK but they have to upgrade their service or ban Skype.

Rooms: There is no internet access in the rooms. The room is air conditioned but boy where did they get it, looked more like a water cooler and worked rather inefficiently. I can’t say how well it would work on a hot day/night. The bathroom was small, had a strange fit out, and in the morning we were welcomed by a cockroach.

The lounge area is quite attractive (hasn’t changed for 50 years) as is the swimming pool area.
They have a breakfast room but we didn’t use it.

We arrived late so didn’t hunt around for prices nut at 95 Pounds for a double room, seemed to be expensive for what we got.

They did provide car parking for us which was gratefully received. Thank you.

An experience probably worth laughing about because it wasn’t a disaster, just old fashioned. I think the plastic mattress cover and the air conditioning were the very worst features.

Unless the rest of Gibraltar is in a time warp I would look for somewhere else or unless you can get the price down to sub 60 pounds .

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bristol Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bristol Hotel

Address: 8 / 10 Cathedral Square, P O Box 56, Gibraltar
Location: Gibraltar
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 hotels in Gibraltar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bristol Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel and TripOnline SA so you can book your Bristol Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bristol Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.