We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Brief Tour of Tangiers.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Blands Travel -Day Tours

Blands Travel -Day Tours
Cloister Building, Gibraltar GX11 1AA
(350)200 50932
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 22 Activities in Gibraltar
Type: Boat Tours, Sightseeing Tours
Attraction details
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A Brief Tour of Tangiers.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

We chose to travel to Morocco with Blands whilst in Gibraltar, and it is something we looked forward to before arriving! The tours travel at various times during the week, and only go if a certain number of people book, so it is important to register interest early in your holiday!

The trip overall was good - it's £80 each, which includes all transport, ferry crossing, a camel ride, lunch and tour. The trip took us to Tarifa, Spain, for the ferry and over to Tangiers, Morocco. We had a brief bus tour of the city, with commentary from a local guide, and were offered a camel ride (nothing major, just a wander around a bit of land next to a beach, but it was novel.) We were also taken to the place where the Atlantic and the Mediterranean meet (although there's not a great deal to see!).

We were then taken on a walking tour of the markets of Tangiers, before a traditional Moroccan lunch, with a band playing. Then we had a bit more of a walking tour, before being taken to a Bazar for a talk on carpet making, and a pharmacy/herbalist, for another talk.

Overall the experience was good. I wouldn't have felt comfortable travelling to Morocco on my own, and the guides are knowledgeable, and helped us through passport control etc. As an overview of the city it is a good experience, however it is a TOUR. I'm not generally a fan of organised trips, and although it could not have been organised any other way I did feel at times that I wasn't getting the chance to fully explore the areas that I would have liked to. We spent a lot of time in the Bazar, but weren't really given the opportunity to stop at shops elsewhere.

The lunch was good, but clearly rushed, with the next course being served whilst you were still eating the one before, and it was obvious that they were expecting the arrival of another tour.

Overall it was a good experience for an overview of Morocco, I probably wouldn't repeat the experience, but for anyone interested in travelling over here whilst in Gib, go for it!

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    2
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable Excursion”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Brilliant tour of the Rock of Gibraltar., done in a minibus. First to Europa Point, then the apes, the tunnels and a tour of the town itself. Driver was very entertaining (the guy who did Manuel impressions - you know who are) whilst at the same time very knowledgable.

A bit of walking involved in the tunnels, not suitable for those less able.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morpeth, Northumberland, UK
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Great Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Booked two trips on our recent stay.

First to Ronda and then a Rock Tour.

Jennifer in the sales office was exceptionally helpful given that the Ronda trip was in doubt until the last moment because of insufficient numbers. However she kept us informed by text and confirmed the trip the day before.

Similarly we postponed our Rock trip by 48 hours because of cloudy conditions and this was no problem.

On both trips our driver was Phil and he kept us well informed, entertained and most importantly safe.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Shereen is AMAZING Wedding transport EXCELLENT”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We stayed in Torremolinos and then had Blands ferry us and our friends and family from there to Gibraltar Botanical Gardens for our Wedding in June 2013,. Shereen in the office is excellent as were the drivers i'm so glad I booked with them as they really were excellent.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Tangiers trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We decided to go to Tangiers on a day trip with Blands. We were so fortunate to have a lovely guide, Phill Taylor. Phill made sure we had a really great day out from start to finish. At the end of the trip we had got friendly with some of the other people on the minibus and made plans to see them that evening. Phill came too with his lovely partner Rita and they took us to the the marina area where everyone seems to know each other. We used Blands last year for our airport transfers and would recommend using them for all guided trips both on Gibraltar and into Spain and Morocco.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blands Travel -Day Tours also viewed

 

Been to Blands Travel -Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blands Travel -Day Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.