We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs to upgrade” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Queen's Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Gibraltar
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Queen's Hotel
Save Saved
You added Queen's Hotel to your Saves list
1 Boyd St., Gibraltar   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Gibraltar
Windsor, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Needs to upgrade”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Position ok, but stuck in time. Water leaks to start with, so had to change room. Sheets and blankets for the bed! Shower head no pressure, breakfast basic glad only there for few nights.
Would not recommend for more than that.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    33
    48
    23
    22
See reviews for
26
41
15
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk, Virginia, United States
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

This hotel might be called quaint or even retro, but really, it is a 1954 hotel stuck in time. The "lift" is large enough for three slim people or maybe two adults and two children. Our room had a nice, noisy view of a roundabout, a pub, and the bay in the distance. The toilet is situated such that one's knees are under the bathroom lavatory. The staff were quite pleasant. The location is excellent, and the free parking is on the street, but very convenient. We would look for another hotel should we return to Gibraltar.

Room Tip: Ask for an upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

Reviews that refer to 'old charm' clearly loved Fawlty Towers. This is an over-priced, dingy hotel on a roundabout, everything about it reminiscent of British catering standards from the late 1950s. The rooms are passable at best, but the public spaces are dirty and decrepit. Breakfast is a joke: stale coffee, packet orange juice. Would you like the cooked breakfast, sir? Is there an alternative? No. Roll on two slices of soggy bacon, a cooked tomato, fried egg and a dollop of that gourmet delight, baked beans, alongside two slices of overdone toast, served by waiters who couldn't care less. Gibraltar in general is overpriced and antiquated, and standards of food, drink and service light years behind those just across the frontier. Next time I need to use the (very good) airport, I shall be staying in La Linea.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else, or if you have to be here ask for a room with balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Gibraltar hotels

Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

By these standards the Gibraltar hotel market is in dire need of an injection of competition. As other reviewers have noted, the hotel is basic and dated. That is fine if the prices reflect that fact, but they do not. On the plus side, it has a good location in the heart of the town, close to Main Street and with a view of the Rock and the cable car. It was also spotlessly clean, and I found the shower worked well. Breakfast was inflexible. Service did not start until eight and you got a full English whether you like it or not. On the first day, I asked for mine without beans, but it came with beans. On the second day, about twenty of us were waiting outside the dining for about twenty minutes for service to start, and then they seemed surprised to see us, but at least no beans. One other concern was that the rooms were secured only with Yale locks, although Gibraltar has a relatively low crime rate and I never felt unsafe in the slightest. All in all I was not impressed, but given the lack of reasonably priced alternatives, I have to conclude that I would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

A decent budget hotel at the bottom of the rock just minutes walk from the cable car station and Main Street is just a 5 minute walk away.

When I booked the hotel I requested a room with a sea view which ended up being on the first floor at the front of the hotel which overlooked a roundabout and a bar, making it a very noisy place to stay!

We had a fairly large room with a very small double bed and weirdly, the mattress was wrapped in plastic!! A tiny bathroom with a terrible shower but scalding hot water and hardly any of the lights in the room worked.

Breakfast was bacon, eggs, beans, tomatoes, toast and tea. Nothing to write home about but a good start to the day.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

Pro's: Close proximity to cable cars, Main St and number 2 bus route; air con (of a sort); friendly staff; cleaners did a good job everyday; TV in room.

Con's: Showering is nigh impossible due to unstable water temperature, pressure, or discolouration of water (water was brown or yellow intermittently); the one breakfast we braved was 15 minutes late to open, contained an eyelash and consisted of a fried breakfast as the only option (we ate out for the remaining stay); my balcony door was left open by the cleaners on more than one occasion, even with my laptop in the room for safe keeping (and the fact that balconies were close enough to climb over!); ear plugs were required in order to sleep due to the lack of soundproofing from the road outside; poor wifi coverage which only seems to work in reception and is on an insecure open network.

Summary: Regardless of the outdated décor that everyone has mentioned, this hotel falls short in many fundamental areas, especially when showering (the cold water tap would not run at all one day). The hotel would be adequate if priced at £20 a night and was used as merely a place to rest your head, but at roughly £80 a night it fell woefully short of any sort of expectations (which were already low). Whilst the prices are average for the area, I'd recommend going somewhere else (anywhere else) in order to get more for your money, which was a view also shared by the local taxi drivers.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estonia
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

A lot of other reviewers have pointed out the need for upgrade and renovation... and I sort of agree, but then I also don't. There's something about Queen's being so old-fashioned that it's almost stylish. It kind of makes me think this is what England could have been like in 70s and 80s, before the European standardisation kicked in and made everything modern, comfy, shiny and.... the same. Queen's is different to that and although part of me wished the amenities were more modern, the other part of me enjoyed the trip back in time.
Otherwise it was spotlessly clean, the breakfast was tasty, staff was very friendly and the location was great.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Queen's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queen's Hotel

Address: 1 Boyd St., Gibraltar
Location: Gibraltar
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Gibraltar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Queens Hotel Gibraltar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Queen's Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.