We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive.......” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Queen's Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Gibraltar
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Queen's Hotel
Save
You added Queen's Hotel to your Saves list
1 Boyd St., Gibraltar   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Gibraltar
London
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Expensive.......”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

As a lot of other reviews have said about this hotel, it's shabby and in need of a makeover, but then so is all of Gibraltar from what I saw of it so this hotel is not out of place there. Having said that the staff were all delightful and helpful, from the receptionists to the two breakfast room staff, Maria and Jose who were excellent and ran the restaurant very efficiently and the breakfast was good and freshly cooked for each guest. The traffic noise outside our room was intense from very early in the morning to late at night, but having read about this before our trip we took earplugs with us which were a great help. This hotel would definitely benefit from double glazing. The location of this hotel is really good, within walking distance to Main Street, the cable car and a lovely marina where we had dinner one night. All in all, not a bad place to stay if you're not looking for five star luxury which you won't find in any hotel in Gib!!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    33
    48
    24
    22
See reviews for
26
42
15
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

where to begin this "hotel" has got some balls for calling itself a hotel at best its a hostel I am currently staying in a family room with 4 single beds. C'mon put a double in here. Whilst on the subject of beds they are hideous to sleep on whilst some people may like springs in their backs I am not one of those. Right. Bathrooms. Cracked tiles, a pointless shower a what was at some point white shower curtain and shower gels that are replaced every other day. If you would like a coffee or tea in the morning bring you're own equipment as there isn't a kettle, fridge, anything really. Although it does have a tv its about the size of an iPad and if you look really hard from the uncomfortable bed you may see it. The whole place needs refurbishing to bring it up to date. If im honest if this is all you can afford spend it on a tent...it does have free WiFi though as thats what im using to post this. Seriously go elsewhere

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holyhead, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Paid extra (£95.00/night) to upgrade to a 2nd floor harbour view room nos 256 which was probably the best room in the hotel. The room was very large (although oddly laid out) and there was a comfortable settee in the room, albeit, in its tatty condition, it should have joined the concrete blocks which have been recently planted in the fishing area by the harbour!

Everything in the room was dated and it reminded me of an old colonial “Manor Hotel” which I stayed in Bulawayo, Rhodesia 40+ years ago. There is a large (lengthwise) balcony and the views from which were very nice. The bed in the room was very comfortable and I experienced a good night sleep for the 2 nights I was there, however, as the hotel is next to a busy roundabout, one can expect some traffic noise.

Breakfast was OK, with a cooked English breakfast available, albeit, the portions were on the small side. The hotel’s internal decor is stuck in a time warp, which I put down to the fact that the hotel appears to be privately owned by an elderley couple who, at their time of life, appear to be not really interested in investing substantial amounts of money to refurbish to the norms of today.

The reception staff were very cordial and friendly. All in all, my stay was ok and worth mentioning is that the location is such, that you can walk into the heart of the town in minutes and it is approx. 250 yards away from the cable car.

I think 2 nights was enough and on my next visit to Gibraltar i will probably stay at the Caletta hotel which is on the other side of the Rock, however, on the negative side, it is pretty isolated, but there is a bus stop just outside the hotel and modern buses run every 15 minutes

Room Tip: Room Tip: Stay in room 256
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel en le Frith
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

As previous responses have said the hotel is in need of a refurbishing. However, location is good being near to Main Street, the waterfront and cable car. It is on a good bus route and quite near to the airport. Staff were friendly and helpful whilst the cooked breakfast consisted of egg, bacon, tomato, orange juice and coffee. Pity there isn't a continental breakfast choice. The rooms were very comfortable and I would recommend an upgrade to the superior rooms as the others were quite small. Water poressure in the rooms is a slight problem as the water does tend to go away for short periods. Overall I would recommend the Queens Hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spectra
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

There are many reviews on here stating how rubbish this place is. My response to those is that if you stayed at the Queens Hotel you either couldn't afford any of the other hotels or it was the only vacancy left - either way they have no cause for complaint. Why did they not stay in a £250 a night hotel? Because they want something for nothing...
You get what you pay for and essentially it was clean and functional, staff very helpful. Well situated for town and cable car to rock.
Comfy beds, air con worked fine, there was TV if you're desperate to go on holiday and watch Eastenders, nice balcony views, good shower nice hot water. Cooked breakfast fine, plenty of toast/tea/coffee and fresh juice.
I would go back as it served it's purpose very well, thank you

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

We loved this hotel...it was in a great place for the cable car up the rock and for strolling into town. yes, it isn't the most modern hotel on the rock but it has clean, adequate rooms very friendly staff and simple but delicious breakfast.....excellent value, we will be visiting again.

Room Tip: Nice to have a sea view...no swimming pool...couldn't get the dot to go away!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

very shabby hotel. TV did not work AC did not work so having to sleep with open window which was very noisy due to heavy traffic. Could not have breakfast as that is only possible after 8am.Bathroom is clean and having shower with glass door. Pity they had a rainshower but almost no water pressure at all. Worst problem was that I absolutely needed a taxi to the frontier at 07.45. I asked the previous day and they said, no problem at all at that time of the morning, will be there in 5 to 10 minutes. As I absolutely wanted to catch a train at 9am from San Roque-La Linea (next train wouldn't leave before noon) I went down to reception at 07.15. Taxi did not arrive before 8am. Female receptionist shouted that it was not there responsability. After taxi arrived the driver told me that the hotel staff should have been absolutely aware that there are two days in the year when it is very difficult to get a taxi as only 2 of the normally 100 taxis operate: good friday and september 10th which appeared to be the national feast. The day before when checking in I noticed another guest being treated in the similar way. The hotel advertises with pc's. The pc's however were out of order and they shouted (!) to that guest that it was not their responsability as the pc's were owned by another company. So do not expect any customer service here. Awful mentality

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Queen's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queen's Hotel

Address: 1 Boyd St., Gibraltar
Location: Gibraltar
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Gibraltar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 253
Also Known As:
Queens Hotel Gibraltar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Queen's Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.