We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money and well situated” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Queen's Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Gibraltar
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Queen's Hotel
Save
You added Queen's Hotel to your Saves list
1 Boyd St., Gibraltar   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Gibraltar
Spectra
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great value for money and well situated”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

There are many reviews on here stating how rubbish this place is. My response to those is that if you stayed at the Queens Hotel you either couldn't afford any of the other hotels or it was the only vacancy left - either way they have no cause for complaint. Why did they not stay in a £250 a night hotel? Because they want something for nothing...
You get what you pay for and essentially it was clean and functional, staff very helpful. Well situated for town and cable car to rock.
Comfy beds, air con worked fine, there was TV if you're desperate to go on holiday and watch Eastenders, nice balcony views, good shower nice hot water. Cooked breakfast fine, plenty of toast/tea/coffee and fresh juice.
I would go back as it served it's purpose very well, thank you

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    33
    48
    23
    22
See reviews for
26
41
15
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

We loved this hotel...it was in a great place for the cable car up the rock and for strolling into town. yes, it isn't the most modern hotel on the rock but it has clean, adequate rooms very friendly staff and simple but delicious breakfast.....excellent value, we will be visiting again.

Room Tip: Nice to have a sea view...no swimming pool...couldn't get the dot to go away!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

very shabby hotel. TV did not work AC did not work so having to sleep with open window which was very noisy due to heavy traffic. Could not have breakfast as that is only possible after 8am.Bathroom is clean and having shower with glass door. Pity they had a rainshower but almost no water pressure at all. Worst problem was that I absolutely needed a taxi to the frontier at 07.45. I asked the previous day and they said, no problem at all at that time of the morning, will be there in 5 to 10 minutes. As I absolutely wanted to catch a train at 9am from San Roque-La Linea (next train wouldn't leave before noon) I went down to reception at 07.15. Taxi did not arrive before 8am. Female receptionist shouted that it was not there responsability. After taxi arrived the driver told me that the hotel staff should have been absolutely aware that there are two days in the year when it is very difficult to get a taxi as only 2 of the normally 100 taxis operate: good friday and september 10th which appeared to be the national feast. The day before when checking in I noticed another guest being treated in the similar way. The hotel advertises with pc's. The pc's however were out of order and they shouted (!) to that guest that it was not their responsability as the pc's were owned by another company. So do not expect any customer service here. Awful mentality

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Gibraltar hotels

Caversfield, Oxfordshire
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

This hotel needs a refurbishment but when it does, prices will go up. Located within walking distance from town centre, the cable car to go to the top of the Rock and with free car park for guests in a Country where car park space is very limited.
Breakfast is basic and of good quality. When I return to gibraltar, I will stay in the same hotel as it has all the basics you need, including a warm shower.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Stayed in this hotel for four days on business. This tired old hotel is in desperate need of a makeover. The rooms are grim with no basics like fridge (for water), tea and coffee making facilities. The room is poorly decorated (as is the rest of the hotel), has a threadbare couch (guess that define's the room as "a luxury room"), an old pine double bed, powerful plastic spotlights and a desk with a minute tv on it. The bathroom has seen better days, with a shower curtain that smells of damp towels, a small hand basin and a toilet that can only be sat on sideways because of its closeness to the wall! The bar/sitting room has to be seen to be believed, it looks like an Oxfam storage warehouse. The dining room is straight out of the 60's. The front desk staff are polite but not very helpfull. I asked for an early morning bacon sandwich because of an early work start and there was no apology, just a resolute "no, breakfast starts at eight". Then I asked if there was a posibility of moving to a room that didnt smell of smoke and had better wi-fi and again got a resolute "no". How much I hear you ask for this level of hotel, £95.00 a night! I definitely will not be staying again. Oh and on a slightly up note location is pretty good and they cook outstanding bacon.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

I use this hotel as a base for business trips to Gib, very close to where I need to be and the staff are helpful, not always service with a smile but they have been very helpful and now know me when I arrive. Rooms are clean and yes it is a bit old but I guess it is the character of the place. I keep going back so would recommend it, just a shame it doesn't have a pool to relax by, but then I am not there to relax!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

This is as basic as it gets. The location is pretty good, very close to the cable car to the rock but it is like stepping back to the 60's/70's (when it was last decorated). The breakfast is dreadful, no cereal, no choice on cooked breakfast and the rooms are shabby and dirty. Limited parking on the street outside. Would not stay here again.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Queen's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queen's Hotel

Address: 1 Boyd St., Gibraltar
Location: Gibraltar
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Gibraltar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 253
Also Known As:
Queens Hotel Gibraltar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Queen's Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.