We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel best ive been too so far” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rock Hotel Gibraltar

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Rock Hotel Gibraltar to your Saves list
Rock Hotel Gibraltar
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3 Europa Road, Gibraltar   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Gibraltar
UK
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Fantastic Hotel best ive been too so far”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2009

Rooms
Rooms were of a fantastic standard very clean and spacious and plenty of storage space, had a massive bed, tv, tea and coffee making facilities, mini bar, free decanters of scotch and sherry and even lollipops. Had a large balcony with chairs and tables amazing views could see morocco and spain and the strait of Gibraltar, loved watching the sunrise over the straigt every morning and watching the boats and cruise ships come in and go out.
The bathroom again was spacious, even had rubber ducks.
Breakfast - Large breakfast room with views accross the strait food was excellent wide choice of foods cereals, fruits, breads, cakes, cheeses and meats as well, as fried foods, always plenty of choice
Restaurant and bar - Staff very nice again excellent food ate at the hotel most nights.
Staff - All staff at the hotel were very pleasant and helpful
Overall the hotel was very clean and all the staff were friendly and helpfull, I would deffinately stay at this hotel again and would recommend it to anyone. There was also an aviary which was nice. In my opinion the Rock hotel is the best hotel that ive stayed in yet
The hotel was close to the center of Gibraltar within walking distance

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,071 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    314
    400
    208
    95
    54
See reviews for
141
580
53
96
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (324)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2009

What a wonderful hotel we fell in love with the place, its atmosphere, the old fashion courtesy and charm. What else can you say that has not been said that is fantastic about the hotel, yes it needs a lick of paint and the rooms updated but still slightly old fashioned especially the bathrooms. The outsides need more cleaning but what the heck none of this matters the place is just so romantic and I would go back tomorrow. The food was extremely good in the little Bistro and the walk into town only about five minutes to the beginning of the street. We are both pensioners but had no trouble climbing back but of course would not do so with shopping. When we were tired just hailed a taxi - for £3.00 who is grumbling - not us. Would recommend this to anyone except perhaps children.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2009

We spent 4 nights at the Rock middle of February, 2009. We were warned prior to our stay that it is a fairly steep climb to the hotel. This was certainly the case! By the end of our stay, my ankles were hurting me (and I consider myself to be a fit, young woman!). There is a bus stop directly outside the hotel but buses run every half hour and everything is so close in Gibraltar that you feel like you should go everywhere by foot. Despite the steep hill, the location is beautiful. The view from all rooms is wonderful and there is a delighful botanical garden opposite the hotel which is an oasis away from all the tourists.
The hotel room was fine. It is a little old fashioned with dubious fitting windows but comfortable with all the basics and some nice touches - dressing gowns, decanters of sherry and whisky.
The staff are friendly - we found that one or two seemed a little inexperienced and were not very forthcoming with our requests. Aside from that, the hotel is extremley spacious and airy with a good selection of magazines and newspapers in the lobby for guests to read on a daily basis. There is a lovely terrace outside the bar area too.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brightlingsea essex
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2009

Just got back last night from a 4 wonderful night stay in the Rock Hotel. Yes its like going back in time and we loved every minute of it. The last time I was in Gib was in 1976 when I was serving in the Royal Navy , all the memories came flooding back. I would like to say a big and special thankyou to 'Abdula' the bar manager. What a great Guy and now a friend. all the staff were wonderful and polite. Thank you for a wonder full break we are going again.

Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2009

I went with my mother to visit my daughter. I am very picky about where I stay, but I loved every minute at the Rock. It is like something from a lost world. Generally Gibraltar is years behind the times, but this is part of its charm once you get used to it. I can't wait to go back. The staff were all brilliant, nothing was too much trouble. It was a fantastic experience. Choc chip muffins for breakfast - mmmmm.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2009

Great hotel apart from the food. Room service sandwich very bland and very expensive, a steak on terrace was literally that with less than a handfull of fries,again overpriced. But really no major complaints. Pool area where you are supplied with towels is a suntrap. 10 minutes on foot to main street or bus stops outside hotel every 10 mins or so.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2009

I've just come back from visiting Gibraltar for the weekend and can't recommend enough the lazy afternoon experience of sitting in front of the windows in the Bar area and enjoying the Hotel's afternoon tea spread.
We didn't stay there, but we felt right at home coming in and sitting on the comfy chairs staring out the window (view of Spain and Africa) as the sun set on the Saturday and as the April showers moved across the skies on the Sunday.
They had all the English papers at hand and couple that with pots of tea, it set a very nice old world ambience. The scones were a delight and don't skimp on the cream which was just lovely. We tried the chocolate cake, the apple cake, fruit tartlet and they were all good. Lastly, Abdellah the head waiter was just incredibly nice and helpful with every request we made!
So please don't be mean and leave without paying like one couple did on the weekend.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Rock Hotel Gibraltar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rock Hotel Gibraltar

Address: 3 Europa Road, Gibraltar
Location: Gibraltar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Gibraltar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rock Hotel Gibraltar 4*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built on Gibraltar's western flank with stunning views across the bay, it has been welcoming guests since 1932. As the colony’s premier hotel the guest book is littered with famous names as diverse as Sir Winston Churchill and the Two Ronnies! Tastefully renovated, it has the character of a bygone era with the facilities of a modern 'Grand Hotel'. Traditional afternoon tea is served in the lounge and the hotel’s Rib Room Restaurant is recognised as one of the finest places to dine in Gibraltar. The atmospheric Barbary Bar and adjoining wisteria covered terrace are wonderful places to be on a summer’s evening, both are delightful meeting places, the latter a popular venue for weddings. The hotel’s pool area and gardens have an air of tranquillity, yet the centre of town is only a 10-minute downhill walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and EasyToBook so you can book your Rock Hotel Gibraltar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gibraltar Rock Hotel
Rock Gibraltar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rock Hotel Gibraltar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.