We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved The Rock” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rock Hotel Gibraltar

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Rock Hotel Gibraltar to your Saves list
Rock Hotel Gibraltar
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3 Europa Road, Gibraltar   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Gibraltar
Glasgow
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Loved The Rock”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2009

I booked this hotel a few years ago after reading reviews about it on the website. I am so glad i decided to stay at the rock hotel because it was one of the best hotel's i have ever stayed in. When i arrived at the hotel the staff were very nice and welcoming but the only disappointment were the restaurants. The breakfast food was average and the dinner time food was just terrible but everything else about this hotel was excellent . The room's were very clean and the bar was good to and overall
my stay at the rock hotel was amazing the best part must have been the view and the amusments.

  • Liked — the pool was very clean and my room aswell
  • Disliked — proberley the restaurants
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,068 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    312
    399
    208
    95
    54
See reviews for
140
579
53
96
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (322)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2008

I stayed in this hotel with my partner for four days in Dec 2008 and our experience has been extremely satisfying. Very friendly staff and absolutely clean room and bathroom and the location is superb. There are plenty of common areas including the bar to hang around and enjoyed the views of the Atlantic sea, the Botanical Garden and the busy port down below.
I always read reviews on trip advisor before booking hotels overseas, and I was little reluctant to book this hotels as few visitors have mentioned that the Rock Hotel is located little far from the town. Having just stayed there, in my opinion this is one of the best locations in Gibraltar. Gibraltar is a tiny place and the high street (Main Street) is less than 10 min walk from the hotel and Marina is 5min walk. However, please note that walking back to hotel involves a little climb on a steep path. The bus service is absolutely brilliant (Efficient and cheap £1.50 day travel pass) and the Bus no 3 and 4 stops right outside the Hotel. To and from the airport takes 10-15 mins and you can take the bus no 3 (Every 15mins) from the hotel as well as to travel to the Europa point and rest of the town.
In the hindsight this is a great colonial hotel located in a very convenient place.

  • Liked — The Location, Views
  • Disliked — Nothing i can think of
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2008

This hotel certainly has a colonial feel about it and still has such great British rituals such as English Afternoon High Tea which was great. The rooms are very comfortable and ours had a balcony overlooking the harbour which was great watching the sunset go down. All rooms also have complimentary whisky and sherry decanters in which was greatly appreciated. Breakfast was fantastic with a huge choice of hot and cold food.

The hotel is quite a trek from the border and I would strongly recommend getting a bus or taxi rather than walking it as we did. The only minor gripe I would say is that the ascent to the hotel is very steep if you are walking but its a small price to pay for a great hotel. Would stay there again and certainly recommend.

  • Liked — Free whisky in the room
  • Disliked — Steep ascent
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2008

We stayed at the rock hotel for our wedding this October. Getting there was a nightmare, don't drive in Gib if you value your life. Parking is not an option, not a free space to be found anywhere. Taxis were around £5 in get to the hotel from town and there's a bus stop right outside the door too.

We were really rather disapointed when we arrived, shabby is an understatement, cracks in the flooring everywhere, stained carpets, miss-matched cockery, just to name a few things that come to mind. We stayed in a junior suite which was spacious and fairly clean with a balcony larger than the suite itself. The bathrooms are very large too. I saw a full suite and is was no bigger than ours except it was divied into two rooms, a sitting room with a sofa and a bedroom, unlike our which was a single large room with chairs making it seems more spacious. Personally I think not worth the upgrade.

We eat in the restuarent on the first night infront of large windows overlooking a beautiful view of Gib below. The food served was average and in my opion over priced and too 'ponsey', the waiters rudely made a big fuss over a small request and had an air of snobbery about them. Breakfast the next day was very poor as they used really cheap ingredients although their was a hugh spread on offer.

We wed else where but had our reception in their Wisteria room which is very pretty and very blue. Organising everything with them was painful and slow and they are not set up for any minor alterations to the normal 'package'. When in the brochure they say they will organise music or flowers for you what they mean is they will give you the number of a muscian and a florist and the rest is up to you. Spossidly the events manager works with you but she was no where to be found on the day nor were our arrangements passed on to someone else so we ended up repeating ourselves and doing a lot of DIY-ing. We had to put the place cards out ourselves with 10mins to go and get someone to move tables and chairs despite giving detailed written instrustions and a seating plan well in advance. They did however set the tables up nicely, the waiters were rather attentive and the food was really good despite it not being quite what I had requested. Nothing like that of the previous night in the restuarent! They even only charged me for the bottles of wine opened. Our expectations were surrpassed for the dinner.

The pool is over a busy road and a bit dirty. Towels are provided over there though. We went up the rock in the cable car which is 5mins from the hotel. I also went next door to the salon for a couple of beauty treatments which were Ok but luxurious is was not, in hindsight I wished I'd saved my money and gone somewhere locally before we left. Rather than felling refreshed and pampered I felt a bit grimy and like I needed a shower.

The staff on the front desk were un-professional, they would gossip with each other right in front of you when you were waiting to be helped. We asked for a few services that they offer in their booklet as complimentary- like additional pillows and the use of a vase. On both occasions they were slow to action and not done with a smile.

The lifts and front door were out of action for most of our stay, mercifully we were on the first floor. Funnily insted of putting a small tasteful sign stating that the door/lifts were out of action they used police crime scene-like tape and traffic cones which made a lovely backdrop for our wedding photos!

The hotel could be so lovely but they have cut corners at every turn, it needs a total refurbishment. It's supposed to be the best in Gib but 4star is really pushing it in my view. It is located a little way from town and half way up the rock, so walking into town was easy at about 15mins as it was all downhill, but you'd want to get a taxi back as it takes 30mins all uphill! I would not recomend the Rock hotel to anyone as it is overpriced for what you get.

  • Liked — amazing view from our massive balcony
  • Disliked — its totaly lack of quality of class
  • Stayed October 2008
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leighton Buzzard
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2008

The Rock Hotel was more or less exactly as it was portrayed in the travel brochures. I was apprehensive upon arrival as location wise it an awkward place to reach by any mode of transport. There is a steep, narrow driveway that leads to the front of the hotel off the main Europa Road, and the taxi driver had difficulty negotiating this.

The inside of the hotel however was well presented and reflected its 4 star rating. The staff were friendly and helpful although occasionally a little aloof.

The rooms were spacious and pleasant and I was lucky enough to have a fantastic panoramic view of the harbour.

The balcony area was not as clean as the room and is certainly not quiet or peaceful given that the main road is directly below and traffic seems to zoom up and down at speed. At night time the tables on the outer patio area are lit up and a rather dark path leads upward to the nearby casino building. Generally speaking I would agree that the Rock Hotel is the best hotel in Gibraltar. If situated in London is would possibly still scrape a four star rating but perhaps just lacks the cutting edge of luxury to be placed on bar with other european four star hotels.

Would definately stay in this hotel again though.

  • Liked — The views and closeness to the centre of GIbraltar
  • Disliked — The awkwardness of the location
  • Stayed September 2004, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, UK
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2008

Booked after reading the reviews here and some discussion with hotel via email and was not dissapointed. I marked it 4out of 5 but by wife wanted to give it 5.

Some of the plus points, very welcoming reception staff and very helpful in general during the stay, comfortable rooms with excpetional sea view, very relaxing lounge areas (although i'd lose the tv as it was dominated by a football match on 1 day which spoilt the ambience), free internet access on hotel computers, the drinks terrace in the afternoon and evening was outstanding, there is a little "casino" garden where you can hide away and read a book, outdoor swimming pool across the road from the hotel was a great way to cool off late afternoon with a drink, breakfast was very good, parking is free either on the hotel slip entrace road or across the road on an overflow car park.

The whole place reminded me of hotels I have stayed at in Bournemouth in the past (Royal Bath) but it is a bit dated, room corridors in particular. My advise is go and stay there and enjoy it for what it is, a classic hotel from another era that offers a very relaxed environment and still has plenty to offer.

On Gibralter itself, for 1 or 2 days it was great fun particularly the rock tour (monkeys, tunnels, caves) etc which we did ourselves in our own car and the dolphin trip, the main square at night was not my cup of tea and took all the advise about Tangiers and decided to do Morroco properly in the future. I found it hard to find a good restaurant on our 2 night stay ( I picked to poor ones and now wish we'd tried the hotel restuarant).

Stayed August 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2008

We recently stayed at the Rock Hotel with 15 other members of our family for our wedding earlier this month. The hotel is a little dated but couldnt be faulted for cleanliness or helpfulness. The wedding breakfast was held in the Wisteria room which on arrival looked quite drab and business like, however on the day the room was made up just how we would have hoped for a wedding breakfast. The food was very good, as was the service.

The rooms were spacious, plenty of room for us and our 17 month old daughter, with big clean bathrooms, clean towels daily. All in all a good service.

This hotel is not contemperary, but as long as you are aware of this i dont think you would be disappointed with anything at this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rock Hotel Gibraltar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rock Hotel Gibraltar

Address: 3 Europa Road, Gibraltar
Location: Gibraltar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Gibraltar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rock Hotel Gibraltar 4*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built on Gibraltar's western flank with stunning views across the bay, it has been welcoming guests since 1932. As the colony’s premier hotel the guest book is littered with famous names as diverse as Sir Winston Churchill and the Two Ronnies! Tastefully renovated, it has the character of a bygone era with the facilities of a modern 'Grand Hotel'. Traditional afternoon tea is served in the lounge and the hotel’s Rib Room Restaurant is recognised as one of the finest places to dine in Gibraltar. The atmospheric Barbary Bar and adjoining wisteria covered terrace are wonderful places to be on a summer’s evening, both are delightful meeting places, the latter a popular venue for weddings. The hotel’s pool area and gardens have an air of tranquillity, yet the centre of town is only a 10-minute downhill walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, EasyToBook and TripOnline SA so you can book your Rock Hotel Gibraltar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gibraltar Rock Hotel
Rock Gibraltar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rock Hotel Gibraltar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.