We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lived up to my expectations.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rock Hotel Gibraltar

Save Saved
You added Rock Hotel Gibraltar to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rock Hotel Gibraltar
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3 Europa Road, Gibraltar n/a   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 7 hotels in Gibraltar
Winchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Lived up to my expectations.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

I stayed one night at The Rock on my way back to England and there is no doubt in my mind that I shall return, possibly during the spring or summer months. Mr Danino, the manager, did so much to make us comfortable in a small suite on the third floor. Our rooms were beautifully furnished and squeaky clean, the sheets and blankets were as one should expect them to be, there was a fridge in the sitting area with a tray on which was a large kettle and a cafetiere complete with freshly ground coffee. We had supper in the downstairs bar which is replete with interesting black and white photographs from the past featuring the Queen, warships, aircraft and famous people. The breakfast was first-rate with full English breakfast if you wanted it, cold meats, cheese, yogourt, cereal, fruits and juices. The staff were courteous. The lounge area overlooks the harbour and there are pleasant gardens and a terrace. My only disappointment was that I was not lucky enough to see the apes! The Rock will soon undergo renovations and I am hoping that the colonial style will be kept throughout.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CharlesDanino, Manager at Rock Hotel Gibraltar, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Dear Maeve,
Thank you for your lovely review. I am so glad we succeeded in providing you with the service and positive experience that the Rock Hotel strives to offer. I have intentionally not mentioned the refurbishment in my responses as I want to leave that to the appropriate time and not make promises about timings yet. However, I can assure you that the colonial charm with the art decor touch will remain.
Best regards,
Charles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

989 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    286
    362
    196
    92
    53
See reviews for
134
532
51
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (292)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hertfordshire
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

Sometimes personality makes up for a few shortcomings, and that's how I feel about The Rock. It's a little faded, a touch shabby in places, fallen from a graceful and glamorous past, but I loved it anyway. Yes, the WiFi doesn't work in most of the rooms, my TV didn't work, and there is definitely a need for updating and refurbishment throughout, but it has a charm and individuality that makes me glad to have stayed there.

On the plus side, the staff were charming and helpful and the views are to die for.

If someone were prepared to spend a lot of money, this could be one of the great luxury hotels of the world - but, to be honest, I was enchanted by its genteel delights.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CharlesDanino, Manager at Rock Hotel Gibraltar, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Dear redwinter,
Thank you for capturing and expressing the true spirit of The Rock Hotel's charm and singularity. Having said this we will before not too long bring back the "grand old lady" (1932) to a new era of glory.
Best regards,
Charles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, England
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

This was our 2nd visit to The Rock Hotel. Once again we found all the staff very friendly and efficient. The hotel in general and our room was kept very clean and the breakfast was very good. The views are excellent all round. As mentioned in previous reviews, the hotel badly needs a refurbishment. This was on the agenda 2 years ago when we last visited and it would be nice to know that these works are going ahead and then The Rock will be a wonderful hotel once again.

Room Tip: Ensure a room with a balcony is booked.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CharlesDanino, Manager at Rock Hotel Gibraltar, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Dear SandUK,
Thank you for your review. I am delighted to hear that your enjoyed your stay and that the service received was as you expected.
We look forward to welcoming you back.
Best regards,
Charles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arboleas, Spain
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

Just got back from Gibraltar, had a wonderful weekend the Hotel is looking a little tired, but is made up for by the really friendly Staff, although it is a shame that the sherry and whisky decanters are no longer in the room when one arrives, also the Hotel restaurant no longer supply's Olives and appetizers as they used to, these small but important touches make all the difference to ones stay. The Hotel is in desperate need of refurbishment will still go back in the New Year and hope that these things have been remedied.

Room Tip: I would ask for either 2nd or 3rd floors, as these seem to be in better condition than on the first...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CharlesDanino, Manager at Rock Hotel Gibraltar, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Dear Christine B,
Many thanks for your review. I really appreciate the kind words that you have expressed toward out staff as they are so genuinely caring and friendly. The decanters and sherry were offered some time ago but we still offer a glass upon arrival. I apologise if you were not offered the olives and appetisers because this special touch is still being offered at our restaurant. I have made a note of your comment in my agenda to make up to this oversight in a dutiful manner when upon your next visit. Please contact me directly in due course.
Best regards,
Charles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kidsgrove
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

Had a great seven night break here in November.Very comfortable and all the hotel staff were most helpful.It is a little dated but clean and comfortable and the food was very good.Have been before and will be back again,hopefully.

Room Tip: All rooms face West,those with balconies get lots of sun from midday.New a/c units are whisper quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wilts
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

We have stayed here several times before and if it wasn't for the magnificent views -all seaview and the friendly and accommodating staff we probably would have to be quite critical of its appeal. The décor is in dire need of a facelift, we had problems with the plumbing - no hot water- the first bar meal we had was mediocre - it was only a burger but the salad was dire - soggy lettuce two skinny slices of cucumber and few scraps of tomato with a tasty burger not cooked to our request - not asked for The public areas were shabby with tired settees and worn out chairs. The room, however was clean and the bathroom and loo spacious and clean but we had no hot water so after two days were kindly moved to a better room where we did have hot water but no balcony. However the new room had its own problems - I,e, the door opened without a key ! - maintenance sorted out the problem but when I tried to exit the room the door knob came away in my hand. There was no information in the room regarding internal phone numbers or how to contact reception - I had to resort to using my mobile! We gave the dining room a miss in the evening - the menu looked fussy and expensive but the breakfasts were very good with plenty of choice. I think it is hard to justify its 4star status now but it has a charisma of its own and was could be a wonderful location with a bit of refurbishment. I hope it gets it.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faversham
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

We stayed at The Rock Hotel for three nights and enjoyed our time there. It is true that the Hotel is probably living on it's majestic past but even though the Hotel is looking a bit tired it is still an exceptional place to stay. The view and the staff are both great and the Art Deco facade to the Hotel is amazing. We would definitely stay there again.

Doug
Faversham GB

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rock Hotel Gibraltar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rock Hotel Gibraltar

Address: 3 Europa Road, Gibraltar n/a
Location: Gibraltar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 hotels in Gibraltar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rock Hotel Gibraltar 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built on Gibraltar's western flank with stunning views across the bay, it has been welcoming guests since 1932. As the colony’s premier hotel the guest book is littered with famous names as diverse as Sir Winston Churchill and the Two Ronnies! Tastefully renovated, it has the character of a bygone era with the facilities of a modern 'Grand Hotel'. Traditional afternoon tea is served in the lounge and the hotel’s Rib Room Restaurant is recognised as one of the finest places to dine in Gibraltar. The atmospheric Barbary Bar and adjoining wisteria covered terrace are wonderful places to be on a summer’s evening, both are delightful meeting places, the latter a popular venue for weddings. The hotel’s pool area and gardens have an air of tranquillity, yet the centre of town is only a 10-minute downhill walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Otel, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Hotels.com so you can book your Rock Hotel Gibraltar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gibraltar Rock Hotel
Rock Gibraltar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rock Hotel Gibraltar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.