We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great short break” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rock Hotel Gibraltar

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Rock Hotel Gibraltar to your Saves list
Rock Hotel Gibraltar
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3 Europa Road, Gibraltar   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Gibraltar
Surrey, England
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great short break”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

This was our 2nd visit to The Rock Hotel. Once again we found all the staff very friendly and efficient. The hotel in general and our room was kept very clean and the breakfast was very good. The views are excellent all round. As mentioned in previous reviews, the hotel badly needs a refurbishment. This was on the agenda 2 years ago when we last visited and it would be nice to know that these works are going ahead and then The Rock will be a wonderful hotel once again.

Room Tip: Ensure a room with a balcony is booked.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CharlesDanino, Manager at Rock Hotel Gibraltar, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Dear SandUK,
Thank you for your review. I am delighted to hear that your enjoyed your stay and that the service received was as you expected.
We look forward to welcoming you back.
Best regards,
Charles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    360
    429
    214
    96
    56
See reviews for
153
627
55
105
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (360)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Arboleas, Spain
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

Just got back from Gibraltar, had a wonderful weekend the Hotel is looking a little tired, but is made up for by the really friendly Staff, although it is a shame that the sherry and whisky decanters are no longer in the room when one arrives, also the Hotel restaurant no longer supply's Olives and appetizers as they used to, these small but important touches make all the difference to ones stay. The Hotel is in desperate need of refurbishment will still go back in the New Year and hope that these things have been remedied.

Room Tip: I would ask for either 2nd or 3rd floors, as these seem to be in better condition than on the first...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CharlesDanino, Manager at Rock Hotel Gibraltar, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Dear Christine B,
Many thanks for your review. I really appreciate the kind words that you have expressed toward out staff as they are so genuinely caring and friendly. The decanters and sherry were offered some time ago but we still offer a glass upon arrival. I apologise if you were not offered the olives and appetisers because this special touch is still being offered at our restaurant. I have made a note of your comment in my agenda to make up to this oversight in a dutiful manner when upon your next visit. Please contact me directly in due course.
Best regards,
Charles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kidsgrove
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

Had a great seven night break here in November.Very comfortable and all the hotel staff were most helpful.It is a little dated but clean and comfortable and the food was very good.Have been before and will be back again,hopefully.

Room Tip: All rooms face West,those with balconies get lots of sun from midday.New a/c units are whisper quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wilts
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

We have stayed here several times before and if it wasn't for the magnificent views -all seaview and the friendly and accommodating staff we probably would have to be quite critical of its appeal. The décor is in dire need of a facelift, we had problems with the plumbing - no hot water- the first bar meal we had was mediocre - it was only a burger but the salad was dire - soggy lettuce two skinny slices of cucumber and few scraps of tomato with a tasty burger not cooked to our request - not asked for The public areas were shabby with tired settees and worn out chairs. The room, however was clean and the bathroom and loo spacious and clean but we had no hot water so after two days were kindly moved to a better room where we did have hot water but no balcony. However the new room had its own problems - I,e, the door opened without a key ! - maintenance sorted out the problem but when I tried to exit the room the door knob came away in my hand. There was no information in the room regarding internal phone numbers or how to contact reception - I had to resort to using my mobile! We gave the dining room a miss in the evening - the menu looked fussy and expensive but the breakfasts were very good with plenty of choice. I think it is hard to justify its 4star status now but it has a charisma of its own and was could be a wonderful location with a bit of refurbishment. I hope it gets it.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faversham
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

We stayed at The Rock Hotel for three nights and enjoyed our time there. It is true that the Hotel is probably living on it's majestic past but even though the Hotel is looking a bit tired it is still an exceptional place to stay. The view and the staff are both great and the Art Deco facade to the Hotel is amazing. We would definitely stay there again.

Doug
Faversham GB

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wittlich, Germany
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

This hotel is past it's prime! It's needs some serious TLC. Dirty and unkempt. The location is good, but it was more two, may be three, stars than the four advertised. It is extremely overpriced for the conditions. No internet in rooms, restaurant was closed no matter what time or meal we tried to eat, etc. We were extremely disappointed in this hotel!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

Stayed 4 nights in late November. We were made to feel very welcome and were pleased with the room which, while not on a decor level with swish modern hotels, was pleasant, clean, of a good size with all facilties including tea making and air conditioner, and the biggest bed I have ever seen. The view was just fantastic. It is quite a steep walk up to the hotel from the town but well worth it in our view. It was wonderful to relax with a glass of something on the balcony taking in the views. Should also mention that the reception area is lovely - pleasant décor, very spacious and open with lots of casual seating areas. We stay in loads of hotels and on a comparative basis, for the price, we were very happy with this one and I would recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Rock Hotel Gibraltar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rock Hotel Gibraltar

Address: 3 Europa Road, Gibraltar
Location: Gibraltar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Gibraltar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rock Hotel Gibraltar 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rock Hotel's 1930s origins are evident in the subtle colours and timeless decoration combining an element of the colonial with more contemporary touches. Ideal for business or leisure, the hotel offers complimentary wifi and smartly designed work or rest areas. The soul of the Rock Hotel lies in its charming decor and friendly and accommodating staff. Bedrooms are elegant and refined and offer the ultimate in comfort. The spacious windows and balconies let the Mediterranean sunlight in and provide breath-taking views of the Bay and Straits of Gibraltar. Each room offers its own unique welcoming atmosphere to make you feel at home. Guests begin the day with a hearty breakfast in the elegant Restaurant and Wisteria terrace. Later in the day, a modern style lunch is served followed by fine dining in the evening. The stylish and sophisticated surroundings are enhanced by the flavours of Mediterranean and Moroccan cuisine as well as the carefully selected wine list. The Lounge Bar is the perfect place to enjoy a coffee, afternoon tea, cocktail or delicious snack, paired with one of the most impressive views of the world - where Europe meets Africa - the bar is open as from 12 noon till midnight. Errol Flynn, Alec Guinness, Andres Segovia and Winston Churchill are just some of the famous names that appear in the historical guest books. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Rock Hotel Gibraltar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gibraltar Rock Hotel
Rock Gibraltar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rock Hotel Gibraltar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.