We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rock Hotel Gibraltar

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Rock Hotel Gibraltar to your Saves list
Rock Hotel Gibraltar
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3 Europa Road, Gibraltar   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Gibraltar
Northampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Fantastic Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We have just arrived home after 7 nights at the Rock Hotel. Ok let's firstly deal with the common theme of reviews on this hotel, yes there is an amount of wear and tear to be found but is generally limited to the odd crack in the plaster or stain on the carpet (no worse than I have found in some Hilton hotels I have stayed in) the place is however fundamentally clean and tidy. The hotel has an incredible atmosphere about it, you sometimes feel that in stepping into the hotel, you are stepping into a different decade (and I mean this most complimentarily). This is (I imagine) how hotels would have been in the 1960's, elegant, classy and not a sheet of Formica to be seen.

The Staff are very friendly and helpful and room cleaning was completed promptly and without disturbance. The only slight criticisms would be the broadband signal in the room (you could get great connection speeds but strangely only if you sat on the toilet, could not get any signal anywhere else in the room) Also the choice of quality Tv channels in our room (231) was limited. We had around 8 channels but did not have a full compliment of prime UK channels (although we did have Sky Sports), the brochure we were given on arrival suggested we should have had more. Neither of these problems however really detracted from the overall impression of the hotel.

What truly makes this hotel special (and one to which we are sure to return) is the stunning views of the Harbour, Spain and Africa from the Balcony. The visiting apes on the balcony are adorable and a true asset to the hotel.

I fear that if the management were to spend great amounts refurbishing the hotel it could detract from what makes it so special, it would also most likely take it out of the price range of most of the people staying there. Be careful what you wish for.

A great hotel that I will certainely be returning to.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CharlesDanino, Manager at Rock Hotel Gibraltar, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear David C,
My apologies for not acknowledging your very kind review sooner. We certainly appreciate the kind and thoughtful comments that you expressed. We will be making certain upgrades to connectivity related issues that will sort out the problems you experienced with the broadband and TV signals.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Rock Hotel.
Best regards,

Charles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    341
    418
    213
    95
    54
See reviews for
148
606
54
101
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (345)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Dear Charles
I would like to thank all of the staff at the Rock Hotel for making my wife Lynne enjoy a perfect birthday celebration in the poolside dining area on 22Sep13 and for making it possible, against all the odds of time and lack of notice, to present a very special birthday cake out of thin air!!!
.
We always enjoy coming to stay at the Rock and would be happy to share our positive experiences on your website review pages.
.
Our very best wishes
Lynne and Richard Wiggins
Room 215. 21Sep-25Sep

Room Tip: The hotel will be undergoing planned renovation over 2013/4 period, so room types and decor will be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CharlesDanino, Manager at Rock Hotel Gibraltar, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Richard & Lynne,
My most sincere apologies for not having replied quicker to your very kind and thoughful note. Staying in any hotel is mostly a matter of living special experiences, whether it is for business or leisure. Orchestrating special moments like Lynne's birthday is what our job is all about. I am so glad that we made you happy.
Look forward to welcoming you back.
Charles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

Having tried all hotels in Gibraltar, this has got to be the worst.

Rooms are so dirty, my chest closes up at night as I can't breathe from the dust. The passage way carpets are so stained you can't see the colour in them anymore. Paint is chipping off all the walls.

THERE IS NO WIFI IN THE ROOMS, and not even cable so Internet is non-existent.

Ordered a chicken Thai green curry from the hotel restuarant, and I could see and taste it was a cheap frozen meal that had been microwaved.

It's really far from the beach, or the city. So walking takes like 30 minutes. It's on the side of the rock, so really a steep climb back.

Maybe I'm just having a bad trip, but unfortunately this is the worst place I've stayed at yet.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CharlesDanino, Manager at Rock Hotel Gibraltar, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Dear thinchef,
First of all please accept my apologies for not having lived up to your expectations during your stay. I will follow up on the issues you have mentioned with the respective departments and look forward to hearing from you with the information I have requested. I am also sorry to hear that you may have ventured to the seaside without knowing the walking distance entailed. Our staff should have explained this to you and recommended our swimming pool which is immersed in beautiful gardens. I sincerely hope you will give us another opportunity to regain your confidence in the near future.
Best regards,
Charles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

I first stayed at The Rock Hotel in 1970, as a child, and remember it as exciting and glamorous.

The Art Deco building could be beautiful, and its location is superb, looking out on the liner terminal. But the outside of the building clearly needs a lot of upkeep and, with peeling paint on the exterior, the 1930s icon is not looking its best.

The marble foyer and stairs up to the mezanine reception are a promising welcome. The public areas on this floor are OK, the bar is fine and the service adequate, the terrace cool and inviting.

My room was basic, no better furnished than a Travelodge. The carpet was threadbare in places and, sitting in the bath, it was plain to see the basin coming away from the wall. But, the room was clean, the bathroom newly-tiled, and I did have an excellent night's sleep in the large bed.

Using the stairs rather than the lift in the morning, it's plain to see how much work is needed: peeling paint, marked walls, old and ill-fitting doors.

Staff were generally pleasant and helpful.

With its history and location this could be a classic hotel, but it really does need a lot of cash spent on it to bring it up to modern standards of decor, inside and out.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CharlesDanino, Manager at Rock Hotel Gibraltar, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Valiant2,
Thank you for your very detalied and constructive review. The great potential you mention in terms of this iconic building with its unparralled location is doubtless and we hope that it will soon come to fruition. Needless to say, we strive each day to provide the best in terms of customer service and I am glad that your stay was pleasant.
Best regards,
Charles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

just came back from a long weekend at the rock hotel , they seem to have started decorating but very slow,
i last visited the hotel in 2011 and they said the work was starting that winter that was 2 years ago .
the staff at the hotel are very good. sometimes very slow in the bar which you have to chase up for food orders which can take an hour . bedrooms clean but dated bathrooms very tried paint falling of the doors and smell of damp . ( put this down to the fact that they all back on to one another.
aircon did not work in our room which was not nice as there is no other way of cooling the room down at night. wifi only works in reception lost signal when you enter the outside bar area.
the views from this hotel are the best ,
not enough tourist info around the hotel for the first time visitor , i use to live in gib so know my way around ,

Room Tip: the higher up the the better the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CharlesDanino, Manager at Rock Hotel Gibraltar, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear lesley w,
We really value your comments as it is thanks to this feedback that we are able to monitor our facilties and operation. I am glad that our staff served you well despite some waiting in the bar. We have addressed this issue and have taken measures to reinforce the service as we are well aware of the still growing popularity of the bar and Wisteria Terrace.
We hope to welcome you back soon to The Rock !
Best regards,
Charles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cox, spain
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

This hotel enjoys good views over the strait of Gibralter. All rooms have a balcony. The hotels atmosphere gives a feeling of early 20th century. The staff make your stay welcoming and pleasant. The rooms are now a little tired but never the less clean and comfortable. The restaurant has excellent wines and a good menu. Breakfast is well worth taking. The bar and outside terrace are very nice but the apes can be a pest. Walking distance to everywhere and a bus service across the road to all parts of Gibralter. A great place to relax for 2 or 3 nights.

Room Tip: All are ok
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CharlesDanino, Manager at Rock Hotel Gibraltar, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear David D,
Thank you very much for your review. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your short stay with us and the genuine Colonial charm of The Rock Hotel and appreciate your mention of the good service our staff provided.
Best regards,
Charles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

The views are the best thing I can say about the Rock Hotel. We had planned to stay two nights, but left after one. When we arrived, we misread our key, went to the wrong room, our key worked, and we walked in on someone. We then went to our room and the key worked again. There was no security lock or chain so we wound up wedging a chair under the doorknob. The room - and the hotel - felt old, but the bed was comfortable. The foot in the bar was actually quite good.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CharlesDanino, Manager at Rock Hotel Gibraltar, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear prhnjd,

Firstly I would lke to thank you again for providing me with the additional information I requested. This was very useful as it helped us identify the problem and fix it. I do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Rock Hotel in he near future.
Best regards,

Charles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rock Hotel Gibraltar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rock Hotel Gibraltar

Address: 3 Europa Road, Gibraltar
Location: Gibraltar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Gibraltar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rock Hotel Gibraltar 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rock Hotel's 1930s origins are evident in the subtle colours and timeless decoration combining an element of the colonial with more contemporary touches. Ideal for business or leisure, the hotel offers complimentary wifi and smartly designed work or rest areas. The soul of the Rock Hotel lies in its charming decor and friendly and accommodating staff. Bedrooms are elegant and refined and offer the ultimate in comfort. The spacious windows and balconies let the Mediterranean sunlight in and provide breath-taking views of the Bay and Straits of Gibraltar. Each room offers its own unique welcoming atmosphere to make you feel at home. Guests begin the day with a hearty breakfast in the elegant Restaurant and Wisteria terrace. Later in the day, a modern style lunch is served followed by fine dining in the evening. The stylish and sophisticated surroundings are enhanced by the flavours of Mediterranean and Moroccan cuisine as well as the carefully selected wine list. The Lounge Bar is the perfect place to enjoy a coffee, afternoon tea, cocktail or delicious snack, paired with one of the most impressive views of the world - where Europe meets Africa - the bar is open as from 12 noon till midnight. Errol Flynn, Alec Guinness, Andres Segovia and Winston Churchill are just some of the famous names that appear in the historical guest books. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Rock Hotel Gibraltar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gibraltar Rock Hotel
Rock Gibraltar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rock Hotel Gibraltar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.