We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sweet.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rock Hotel Gibraltar

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Rock Hotel Gibraltar to your Saves list
Rock Hotel Gibraltar
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3 Europa Road, Gibraltar   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Gibraltar
Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Sweet.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We have just spent the weekend at The Rock Hotel. The hotel is very dated and needs a jolly good paint, the rooms are fine, and the bathrooms could probably do with ripping out, that said, we had a wonderful here. It is a little bit like stepping back in time. The staff are lovely, the hotel lobby is incredibly spacious with tons of sofas to collapse on after the walk back from town, the veranda is beautiful, the breakfasts delicious. I would not hesitate in staying here again. We even had a visit in our first few minutes on our balcony, of an ape and her baby, who sat there and groomed each other for about half an hour in front of us.

Room Tip: When walking back to the hotel from town, walk back though The Botanical Gardens. Far less exhausti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen D, General Manager at Rock Hotel Gibraltar, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear Emma B, Thank you for taking the time to contribute. You may be aware that all the decorative shortcomings (and more) that you allude to are shortly to be addressed. That notwithstanding, I was pleased to read that in a number of other ways you really enjoyed your stay and I am happy that you would not hesitate to stay with us again. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    349
    422
    213
    95
    55
See reviews for
151
612
55
101
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (350)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fife Scotland
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

this was my 1st stay in the rock and wasnt disapointed,the rooms were nice but a bit dated, the windows and door to the balcony were of an old style, metal and not that effecient keeping the noise out, we had great views on a clear day you could see africa and had a great view of all the boats coming and going. the breakfast was good always hot and plentyfull, the reception area and resturant and the bar area was very nice, the free internet was a plus but the down side is that you cant pick it up in all the rooms we had to go down to the foyer area to pick it up, but all round i would recommend this hotel, there are a few bus stops close to the hotel and only a few minutes walk to main street, there is a steep incline getting up to the hotel if walking

Room Tip: ask for a see view and a room that picks up the internet
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen D, General Manager at Rock Hotel Gibraltar, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear afrobain, Thank you for your review. You will be pleased to note that double glazing will be a major feature after our refurbishment - we have a pilot room completed and the effects of double glazing are impressive indeed. Thank you for indicating that you would recommend us, this is much appreciated. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel 3 times before and every time the standards are a little less
This hotel must boast the best view overlooking the bay it is fasinating watching the going ons in the town and bay from the balcony, having said that the hotel is looking very tired and the service is not as crisp as you would expect but it is up for a major referb shortly hopefully it will return to its glory days when film stars and the like visited .
The hotel is situated about half way up the rock so it is a fair walk up the hill but it is only a10 minutes walk from the Waterfront where there are some great eateries and bars

Room Tip: all rooms look over the bay and town my wife recons the higher floor the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen D, General Manager at Rock Hotel Gibraltar, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear fairplay101054, I was sorry to read that as a three-time repeat client you feel that your experience has seemingly diminished over a period. If you would e-mail me personally with some specifics I would welcome the chance to respond and react and to ensure that any future stays are memorable in the more accepted sense. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olvera, Spain
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Excellent location, large family room and good value for money (as breakfast and free internet was included in the rate). Unfortunately, internet did not work in my room (when I asked, it was too late to change room, and I was told there was no room map of internet availability in the hotel - very disappointing); five minutes after switching on the TV, it broke down (it was quickly replaced). Overall the hotel is in need for some TLC. As yet I have not found a decent hotel in Gibraltar. Staff friendly enough though.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea facing room, otherwise you get a view of the rock
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen D, General Manager at Rock Hotel Gibraltar, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear AksaiOiler, Thank you for your feedback. It is true we do have a few wi-fi blindspots across our bedroom floors and these are documented both in our reservations office and of course with reception. I apologise for the fact that we seemed not to be able to provide such a 'room map' when requested as of course, subject to availability, we would have been delighted to have relocated you. Naturally, all the relevant staff have been counselled as to this shortcoming. Thank you once more.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prestwick, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

I have just returned from a tour of Southern Spain and Gibraltar and had the pleasure of a 3 night stay at THe Rock Hotel. The building is is need of refurbishment both internally and externally. That is the down side the upside is that all the staff I had dealings with were pleasant and helpful. Our room was clean and the views were stunning. The food was very good and the afternoon tea was a delight. I look forward to returning to the hotel after the refurbishment.

Room Tip: A room with a balcony on the third or above floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen D, General Manager at Rock Hotel Gibraltar, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear Harry M, Thank you for your pleasant review. I hope that you do return and we have the pleasure of re-delivering all those positives that you mention but alongside a beautifully refurbished product. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, UK
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

This really is one of the worst hotels I have stayed in. It claims "old-fashioned charm", and promises that its shortcomings will be rectified in a forthcoming "refurbishment". However it will take more than a physical refurbishment to change the complacency and low levels of service. If it were in any other location it would not survive. I'm not going to list every detail of the appalling service that we experienced, but here's a few examples
having to make 4 or 5 phone calls before a room service order was properly taken (being sent from one staff member to another, back to the first one ...)
light bulbs not working in room
very stale room smell
low quality bedlinen
poor menu choice and low quality of food when it arrived ( e.g. not one hint of green/garnish/salad on a steak and chips plate, "granary bread" which turned out to be simply sliced brown)
Breakfast buffet with some items completely inedible (scrambled egg like no other egg dish ever encountered anywhere, rock-hard croissant, orange juice which tasted as though it were tinned)
Staff with no desire to assist or, worse, attitude (e.g. no informative response to the question "where can we hire a car", porter so busy gossiping with reception about my complaint on checkout that he had no interest in helping us load our luggage into our car
We booked and paid full whack for a 2-room suite. Judging by how few people we saw around the hotel we cannot imagine that occupancy was very high (and when we were given access to our suite it smelt so stale that it cannot have been occupied for some time prior to our arrival). However they made us wait until 2pm to be given access, even though all flights into Gibraltar arrive late morning.
Internet access extremely unreliable - many dead spots throughout the building.
... I could go on ............
And I know from looking at previous reviews the management are likely to respond to this with all kinds of excuses ... Be warned.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen D, General Manager at Rock Hotel Gibraltar, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear SurreyVisitor_10, I believe that we have already had a seperate, brief, e-mail exchange on the subject of your stay and on this basis I feel that it would not be over-productive to comment further via this forum. As you can imagine, one 'excellent' review in isolation is not a major cause for self-congratulation and in the same vein one 'awful' amongst so many that are positive needs to be taken into context. There are many good and fair reviews of the Rock to be read in these pages that reflect reality. We are certainly not perfect by a long way but we do have a vastly satisfied client base. That said, your observations now sit with our Operations and Services Manager, who I can assure you will drill down on the issues in great detail. I apologise that for your stay we did not seem to hit the mark. We would love you to reconsider the Rock - perhaps after our makeover - when I am sure we can make your stay memorable in the more accepted sense. Thank you for taking the time to contribute.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallingford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We have been to Gibraltar so many times and always stay here for its atmosphere and service. It is an outpost of Britishness in the sun.Tapas meets roast beef.Glass of sherry on arrival sets the civilized tone.Most of the older staff seem to have been there for ever which says a lot.Minutes walk from centre.As the Hotel says,it is an oasis but near the bustle

Room Tip: Difficult as all rooms have balconies and sea views over the harbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen D, General Manager at Rock Hotel Gibraltar, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear JNDawson, Thank you for your review. Here's to many more stays. Your line 'tapas meets roast beef' may well find itself used in our future PR! Thank you once more.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rock Hotel Gibraltar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rock Hotel Gibraltar

Address: 3 Europa Road, Gibraltar
Location: Gibraltar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Gibraltar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rock Hotel Gibraltar 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rock Hotel's 1930s origins are evident in the subtle colours and timeless decoration combining an element of the colonial with more contemporary touches. Ideal for business or leisure, the hotel offers complimentary wifi and smartly designed work or rest areas. The soul of the Rock Hotel lies in its charming decor and friendly and accommodating staff. Bedrooms are elegant and refined and offer the ultimate in comfort. The spacious windows and balconies let the Mediterranean sunlight in and provide breath-taking views of the Bay and Straits of Gibraltar. Each room offers its own unique welcoming atmosphere to make you feel at home. Guests begin the day with a hearty breakfast in the elegant Restaurant and Wisteria terrace. Later in the day, a modern style lunch is served followed by fine dining in the evening. The stylish and sophisticated surroundings are enhanced by the flavours of Mediterranean and Moroccan cuisine as well as the carefully selected wine list. The Lounge Bar is the perfect place to enjoy a coffee, afternoon tea, cocktail or delicious snack, paired with one of the most impressive views of the world - where Europe meets Africa - the bar is open as from 12 noon till midnight. Errol Flynn, Alec Guinness, Andres Segovia and Winston Churchill are just some of the famous names that appear in the historical guest books. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Rock Hotel Gibraltar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gibraltar Rock Hotel
Rock Gibraltar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rock Hotel Gibraltar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.