We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant experience” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Rock Hotel Gibraltar

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Rock Hotel Gibraltar to your Saves list
Rock Hotel Gibraltar
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3 Europa Road, Gibraltar   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Gibraltar
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
“A pleasant experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We stayed at this hotel in December so weren't able to use the pool. The room was a cosy and clean room although as others have pointed out the curtains were worn out. The views from the room were stunning although the balcony door was old. The hotel was apparently built in the 1930s and it must have been grand in its day but it does need some updating now. The Wifi signal in the room wasnt great and dropped out frequently but overall was alright.
The AC remote control was a bit tricky to get going but the staff promptly attended our request to help us make it work. Luckily being winter we weren't too fussed.
There was a decent buffet spread for the breakfast but was average quality, the sausages lacked real flavour and the scrambled egg looked unappetising. Fried eggs could be requested and were made to order but this wasnt displayed prominently. The staff at times appeared a bit weary but promptly helped with any request. ( we needed a print out for a dolphin booking that was done with a smile.) I would recommend anyone to this hotel as long they are happy with the dated decor, the hotel was always clean and had great views. We felt the restaurant prices for meals were a bit atrocious considering that the decor wasnt anything great, there is a superb italian restaurant down the slope which is an excellent and cheerful alternative for meals.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen D, General Manager at Rock Hotel Gibraltar, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear anipilot, Thank you for your review. We were indeed built in the 1930s and are shortly to embark upon an investment that will see us 'grand' again in a much more contemporary way, whilst retaining some of the old fashioned values we are known for. I was sorry to read that you thought our restaurant pricing was 'atrocious' - naturally I would argue that £24.95 for a three course meal with an aperitif included of AA rosette standard is not unreasonable in a four star hotel environment but I was glad to read that you enjoyed the pizza restaurant which is close by. Lastly we really appreciate your comments regarding recommendation to others. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    352
    422
    213
    95
    55
See reviews for
151
615
55
101
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (351)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Spain
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

Together with two other couples we recently spent three truly enjoyable nights in the Rock Hotel. I would describe it as a chic colonial style hotel but one which is perhaps getting just a little "shabby" around the edges perhaps a little like a grand old lady whose pension does not stretch quite as far as it once did!. However, we were told that major renovation work is planned and, in any case, we very much appreciated the style and elegance of it all just as it is now.
There were parking spaces in front of the hotel.Our balcony rooms were spacious and comfortable. Reception staff were professional, courteous and helpful - as indeed were all members of staff with whom we came in contact. The breakfast buffet offered a wide selection of cold and some hot dishes. We dined in the hotel on two evenings and found an interesting menu and a good wine list. Every dish was well cooked and well presented. The service was of the old style - gracious and truly professional. One day we had a light lunch in the bar area and again this was an enjoyable experience.
In summary we enjoyed every aspect of our stay and would most certainly return. Indeed we look forward to returning when some of the renovation work is completed - we just hope that it does not harm any of the hotel's current olde worlde charm.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen D, General Manager at Rock Hotel Gibraltar, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Dear Inmigrante, Thank you for your pleasing review. You will be happy to read that the 'pensioner' has just been left a legacy which she will spend on a serious makeover! In short, watch this space. I can assure you that our aim is to retain the 'style and elegance' but with a brand new infrastructure and some amazing new facilities. Seasonal greetings from all at the Rock.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

The Rock is still a wonderful colonial style hotel. It is a little tired and due a well deserved facelift. The staff are excellent, very friendly and attentive. Rooms are spacious - shame they've stopped the decanters of sherry & whisky in the rooms! You have to watch out for the apes trying to get in through the window, but it all adds to the experience. Food is very good.

Room Tip: Roos with a balcony are great for relaxing
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen D, General Manager at Rock Hotel Gibraltar, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Dear CathyS51, Thank you for your kind review and in particular your comments about our staff and your comment about the quality of our food. Regarding our facelift, I am sure you would be more than surprised as to what we have in store but we hope to retain that 'colonial' feel. Regards and seasonal best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012 via mobile

A unique kind of hotel. Its charm is in its ways. It seems to be run in an old fashioned way which grows on you quickly and you appreciate. We had some issues with our room which David the duty manager handled well. The apes were a delight to watch. Needs a bit of paint but somehow it adds to the character of the place. Gibraltar turned out to be a fascinating experience and well worth a visit.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen D, General Manager at Rock Hotel Gibraltar, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear pand001, Thank you for your review. I appreciate the use of the word 'unique' as in this case it seems to be a term of endearment. I am glad that David sorted out out any issues you may have had with your room in an efficient manner. The lick of paint is well on its way, as you would have read elswhere in these pages. I was also pleased that you enjoyed Gibraltar as a destination and made mention of the fact here. Thank you once more.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

Last weekend was our third stay at The Rock, and although my initial review was quite comprehensive I feel that I have to say again what a wonderful hotel this is. In my opinion, it can't be beaten on style or location. The view over the Straits from all rooms is without comparison and, inspite of the faded decor, the feeling of opulence is still there.

As soon as we returned back to the UK I couldn't wait to book again, and we'll be back mid January. Gibraltar may be a British territory, but weekend at The Rock is an experience you won't get at home.

Room Tip: All rooms have an excellent view, but I'm hoping to get 432 next time as this has a corner balco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
srevad, General Manager at Rock Hotel Gibraltar, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
Dear Newtish, Thank you for your review. I think that it sums us up in just a few sentences. It should be noted that our impending investment will put paid to the 'faded decor' observation and add a touch of chic to the colonial ambience that we are historically known for. Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you in the new year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

Stayed there at the end of November 2012. We were visited by the monkeys as soon as we arrived, they came into the room and ate the biscuits, they know what time is check in at the hotel. My fault for opening the door to the balcony. The hotel staff were very helpful and very professional at all times. The hotel does need to be updated only as long as the decor and the feel of the hotel remains the same, it was like stepping back in time. Fantastic. We would stay there again and recommend it to others. This hotel is not a modern hotel, but if you take it for what the hotel used to be, you will enjoy your stay so much. The breakfast was one of the best we have had, and room service was brilliant. The views over the harbour are breath taking.The hotel is about a 5 mins walk from the cable car to go up to the rock, and about 10 min to the main shopping road which is downhill. You can buy a day ticket for the bus which means you can hop on and off the bus, the bus stop is about 2 mins from the hotel. Hope you enjoy yourself if you go.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
srevad, General Manager at Rock Hotel Gibraltar, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
Dear Caroline M, A big thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chirk, Wales, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

I was lucky to stay at this wonderful hotel last month with a friend for 5 days.

What this Old Lady lacked in decor she definitely made up for in style and grace , from an era long lost in this modern world this hotel more than made up for in its staff & excellent food .
The rooms were pleasent and well presented the cleanliness surperb

And as a final endorsment to a by gone era the actors of New Tricks checked in for their stay while shooting an episode on the island lol

Room Tip: Front of Hotel above Dining balcony looking out to Spain and North Africa with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
srevad, General Manager at Rock Hotel Gibraltar, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Dear Jim B, Thank you so much for your kind review. You will read elsewhere in these pages that the 'Old Lady' is shortly to receive a much awaited rejuvenation! We hope that when she is young and pretty again she retains all her charm and dignity. Thanks once more for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rock Hotel Gibraltar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rock Hotel Gibraltar

Address: 3 Europa Road, Gibraltar
Location: Gibraltar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Gibraltar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rock Hotel Gibraltar 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rock Hotel's 1930s origins are evident in the subtle colours and timeless decoration combining an element of the colonial with more contemporary touches. Ideal for business or leisure, the hotel offers complimentary wifi and smartly designed work or rest areas. The soul of the Rock Hotel lies in its charming decor and friendly and accommodating staff. Bedrooms are elegant and refined and offer the ultimate in comfort. The spacious windows and balconies let the Mediterranean sunlight in and provide breath-taking views of the Bay and Straits of Gibraltar. Each room offers its own unique welcoming atmosphere to make you feel at home. Guests begin the day with a hearty breakfast in the elegant Restaurant and Wisteria terrace. Later in the day, a modern style lunch is served followed by fine dining in the evening. The stylish and sophisticated surroundings are enhanced by the flavours of Mediterranean and Moroccan cuisine as well as the carefully selected wine list. The Lounge Bar is the perfect place to enjoy a coffee, afternoon tea, cocktail or delicious snack, paired with one of the most impressive views of the world - where Europe meets Africa - the bar is open as from 12 noon till midnight. Errol Flynn, Alec Guinness, Andres Segovia and Winston Churchill are just some of the famous names that appear in the historical guest books. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Rock Hotel Gibraltar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gibraltar Rock Hotel
Rock Gibraltar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rock Hotel Gibraltar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.