We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“How can you review this” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rock Hotel Gibraltar

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Rock Hotel Gibraltar to your Saves list
Rock Hotel Gibraltar
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3 Europa Road, Gibraltar   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Gibraltar
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“How can you review this”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Well after reading some reviews about the rock hotel I nearly didnt go but after spending two days at the rock hotel i am pleased I went and my other half was delighted.
The hotel is very tired and needs a good furniture update in all rooms and public areas and the outside needs a good painting.
I dont know what it is about the hotel but it seems to make you feel very at home I think if it wasnt for the staff who are very good this hotel would not get a booking there is just something about it that makes you want to go back which we will but might wait until its had a face lift.
A big well done to your staff who are mostly an asett to the hotel apart from the barman in the pool area who might have been on an off day as he looked like his lottery numbers came up but forgot to buy his ticket.
Pool area very good
Abdulla from morrocco is an assett to your hotel and should get a pay rise what a nice man.
If the owner reads this review I can take him to china where he can buy his new furniture.
To anyone who reads this
Old school hotel,very good and worth going seems to get under your skin and makes you very comfortable makes you look back in time to the war.

Room Tip: All rooms are okay as in they are comfotable all sea views best views in gibraltar
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
srevad, General Manager at Rock Hotel Gibraltar, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear DavidBurgess404, Thank you for your review. I was so pleased to read that despite our need to refurbish you enjoyed your stay and liked the quirky 'feel' of the hotel. Your comments about our staff (I apologise for the pool barperson) were very welcome and Abdulah (Ghazi as we know him) will be thrilled that he has been singled out for special mention. I do hope that you will return after the refurbishment where we hope to display many of the characteristics you enjoy alongside a massively refreshed fabric and enhanced amenities.. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    405
    468
    223
    99
    56
See reviews for
170
675
58
118
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (400)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

I had three nights at The Rock hotel in early September. I caught a taxi from the airport which cost around 7 Gibraltar pounds and took less than ten minutes to reach the hotel. I arrived about 12.30 but was told the room wouldn’t be available until 2pm so decided as it was a beautiful day to climb the rock.
Upon my return I found my room was a decent size on the second floor facing the harbour which was great. Everything worked well and it was pretty clean. I had breakfast in the hotel which was also very good with a mix of hot and cold dishes, cereals, juices and pastries. My only complaint here was travelling solo I was never offered one of the window tables with views of the harbour. These were clearly only offered to couples or families which I thought was a little unfair. The hotels pool is situated across the road and is great with deck chairs, poolside bar etc
The location is great. It is only a couple of minutes walk back down the hill to the cable car which will take you to the top of The Rock. Alternatively, you can follow the road which runs past the hotel further up and it forks with the left side going to the top via a winding road. Everyone has to pay to enter with pedestrians charged around 50p and cars around 10 pounds from memory. The main street is around ten minutes walk back down the hill. I found it odd that Gibraltar was extremely busy during the day but at night time was very quiet, which has its benefits. I think most visitors come across from Spain, get all their souvenirs and duty free and shoot back across the border late afternoon or early evening. There are a number of very reasonably priced restaurants and pubs to dine at along the main street as well as in the Ocean Village Marina area. I did one of the tours which took a couple of hours and covered the rock pretty well. I certainly recommend visiting St Michaels cave, the look out at the top as well as the various gun emplacements and tunnels which would seem to almost render the rock hollow it would seem! It certainly has a fascinating history.
As mentioned in other reviews, the hotel is in need of a face lift and clearly the pool area and foyer have been renovated. It reminded me a little of the Fawlty Towers tv program in some ways, but only with similarities from that era not the antics although I did have a problem with getting my laundry taken away and then trying to get it back.
Overall it is a great hotel which I enjoyed staying at and would certainly like to visit again. It is almost like a time capsule from another era.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
srevad, General Manager at Rock Hotel Gibraltar, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear NX622, Thank you for reviewing us after your stay last month. Your comment about individuals and window tables is noted and we will try to be less 'solo' prejudiced in the future. You will be happy to know that the newly developed hotel will have increased opportunities for window tables and that too should help. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and that you would contemplate a return visit. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Just returned from my 6th stay in The Rock,the first time with two young children. Check in was fast and the Sherry most welcome. I requested adjoining rooms and they were perfect, end of the corridor with great views. Both rooms were spotless and the bathrooms could not have been cleaner. The chocolates and lolipops were a big hit with the children, as were the ducks in the bath. I have read many reviews on here complaining about the breakfast and the poor service, we were served promptly each morning with coffee following soon after being ordered, although I do agree with many reviewers that many of the staff could smile more. Breakfast for me is fantastic at the Rock, plenty of choice, there are things I did not like but that is my individual taste, especially pleased that soya milk was provided as my son has a milk allergy and this meant he could have cereal rather than the toast he is usually stuck with on holiday. We ate on the Wisteria terrace for lunch one day and despite walking through the door as it opened at noon, no one came to take our order for 15 mins and then the two drinks took another ten mins to arrive despite us being the only people there at the time. The food however was served quickly and was very nice. We enjoyed spending time around the lovely pool as usually when we visit it is closed for the winter. Overall we really enjoyed our firt family stay in the Rock and will definately be back again. I hope the refurbishments dont change things too much as its lovely the way it is, maybe a lick of paint would be enough. Reviewers who complain about the decor etc.., just dont get it. My advice if you want a nice relaxed break with great views in a nice environment stay here. If ultra modern is your thing it wont be for you.

Room Tip: All rooms i have stayed in have lovely views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
srevad, General Manager at Rock Hotel Gibraltar, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Dear Castigergirl, Thank you for your review. I apologise for the less than speedy service you received in the bar - this seems to be have been an unforunate negative in what was an otherwise pleasant stay. I am glad that you enjoyed what was your first family stay with us and that you would return. Our refurbishment will be changing the hotel quite a bit (all for the better) but along with this it is our intention to retain much of the 'feel' of the old Rock and the history and heritage we enjoy. Thank you once more.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

We have stayed here twice before. This time we took the family. A problem we had on our previous visit was dealt with exceptional well by Mr Davenport. It is clear that the building is in need of a makeover, but its not just the building that makes a holiday. Food, service, bar, pool and staff all very good. Can't wait for the refurbishment to be completed. Kids love the place. We will be back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
srevad, General Manager at Rock Hotel Gibraltar, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Dear Karen H, Thank you for taking the time to post a comment about your last stay with us. I do agree that hotels aren't just about bricks and mortar but we do need our up and coming investment and I am sure that when you return after completion you will be wowed by what we have achieved. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Just back from the Rock. The hotel advert in the Gibralter Property magazine states 'all rooms have breathtaking views'. When were you last in Room 234 Mr Davenport? Allocated on arrival at the side of the building it is overlooked by decaying trees and a rubbish tip. What is your definition of breathtaking Mr Davenport? Only by being somewhat forceful with an offhand/dismissive receptionist did a seaview room which I had booked become available. Other guests were not so successful.
Dining room service is extremely slow - although dinners are excellent - and served by sullen staff who verge on being rude. The much vaunted million pound refit will not address these issues.
The hotel pool is lovely but when the hotel accept a private function (there were two in our week's stay) we,although as residents, who had paid for the facility were asked to leave in the af
ternoon. Hardly fair Mr Davenport?
The fact this hotel has a 4 star status brings the AA grading system into disrepute.
Left these observations on the hotel questionaire but got no response. Says it all really.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
srevad, General Manager at Rock Hotel Gibraltar, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Dear scotsman186487, I did in fact once reside in room 334, one floor above the room you were initially allocated and whilst it is true that the views from the few rooms we have at the north end of the building do not compare with those that face directly over the bay, some people enjoy the views that show some aspects of the town below as well as the Spanish hinterland. I was glad that reception were able to find a suitable room in due course. Gibraltar, as you know is a small place and venues for some events are naturally in short supply. I apologise that we embraced this concept during your stay and hosted evening events that necessitate an early closure - we do give notice and always endeavour to minimise guest disruption on such occasions and in the main our customers understand our position. If you would contact me via e-mail I would be delighted to engage in further correspondance on other issues you raise. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

We stayed at the Rock Hotel for 4 nights, the building itself is in need of a makeover, a bit behind the times, but very comfortable, and nothing was too much trouble for any of the staff, we had minor issues with our room [ £120.00 per night ] both these were soon resolved by the maintenance staff, Our bed was the biggest bed I have ever seen and very comfortable. The breakfast at £18.00 ahead seemed expensive, but easy to walk to main street where breakfasts were @ £6.00 ahead. conveniently situated for the cable car, and the town centre. we are already planning our return. Gibraltar is a unique experience.

Room Tip: All the rooms in the Rock, overlook the bay of Gibraltar, and it was fascinating to watch the cruise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

We came here for 'romancing'.

We stayed in the Montgomery suite from 4-11 Aug. and it was fantastic.

The staff were so welcoming, willing and helpful at reception.

The persons at the terrace, restaurant - spot on.

Without a shadow of a doubt, we will recommend and return soon. Enough said.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Montgomery Suite and we loved it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
srevad, General Manager at Rock Hotel Gibraltar, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Dear jogastar, Thank you for your short, concise and flattering review. I hope that you experienced the 'romancing' that you came for! Your comments about our staff were most welcome and naturally we hope that you do return soon. Thank you once more.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gibraltar
0.6 mi away
Sunborn Gibraltar
Sunborn Gibraltar
#1 of 7 in Gibraltar
4.5 of 5 stars 481 reviews
0.5 mi away
O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel
0.6 mi away
Caleta Hotel
Caleta Hotel
#4 of 7 in Gibraltar
4.0 of 5 stars 645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Asur Hotel Campo de Gibraltar
Asur Hotel Campo de Gibraltar
#2 of 7 in La Linea de la Concepcion
3.5 of 5 stars 740 reviews
2.4 mi away
AC Hotel La Linea by Marriott
AC Hotel La Linea by Marriott
#1 of 7 in La Linea de la Concepcion
4.0 of 5 stars 419 reviews
5.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Campo de Gibraltar - Barrios
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rock Hotel Gibraltar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rock Hotel Gibraltar

Address: 3 Europa Road, Gibraltar
Location: Gibraltar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Gibraltar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rock Hotel Gibraltar 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rock Hotel's 1930s origins are evident in the subtle colours and timeless decoration combining an element of the colonial with more contemporary touches. Ideal for business or leisure, the hotel offers complimentary wifi and smartly designed work or rest areas. The soul of the Rock Hotel lies in its charming decor and friendly and accommodating staff. Bedrooms are elegant and refined and offer the ultimate in comfort. The spacious windows and balconies let the Mediterranean sunlight in and provide breath-taking views of the Bay and Straits of Gibraltar. Each room offers its own unique welcoming atmosphere to make you feel at home. Guests begin the day with a hearty breakfast in the elegant Restaurant and Wisteria terrace. Later in the day, a modern style lunch is served followed by fine dining in the evening. The stylish and sophisticated surroundings are enhanced by the flavours of Mediterranean and Moroccan cuisine as well as the carefully selected wine list. The Lounge Bar is the perfect place to enjoy a coffee, afternoon tea, cocktail or delicious snack, paired with one of the most impressive views of the world - where Europe meets Africa - the bar is open as from 12 noon till midnight. Errol Flynn, Alec Guinness, Andres Segovia and Winston Churchill are just some of the famous names that appear in the historical guest books. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Venere, HotelTravel.com and Priceline so you can book your Rock Hotel Gibraltar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gibraltar Rock Hotel
Rock Gibraltar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rock Hotel Gibraltar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.