We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Visit to the Rock Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rock Hotel Gibraltar

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Rock Hotel Gibraltar to your Saves list
Rock Hotel Gibraltar
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3 Europa Road, Gibraltar   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Gibraltar
england
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Visit to the Rock Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2012 via mobile

The reception staff who appeared quite stand-offish , but if you stand up to them they are helpful.they were the only minor problem in what is a nice hotel with brilliant views. You have to be fit to walk back and forwards from the town ( steep hill) breakfast was fine, but it helps to be early otherwise the cooked food is Luke warm the waiting staff went to the same charm school as the reception staff.except for the mangar who made a effort for you.The housekeeping staff were wonderful and friendly, a credit to the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
srevad, General Manager at Rock Hotel Gibraltar, responded to this review, February 6, 2012
Dear bellgriffin, Thank you for your review and thank you for giving us an almost perfect score, despite our staff seemingly appearing 'stand-offish'. Naturally this is of concern as we always feel that the team at the Rock contribute so much much to the 'feel good' element of the hotel. That said your comments will be discussed and this deviation from the norm highlighted to the HoDs concerned. I was glad to read that our housekeeping staff managed to go some way in redeeming us and we hope that you will return some day. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,071 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    314
    400
    208
    95
    54
See reviews for
141
580
53
96
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (324)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cadiz, Spain
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2012

Spent new year at the Rock with friends great night, the food and service was above reproach.
Not had a better banquet, every course piping hot and the rack of lamb especially was cooked to perfection

Room Tip: Keep your terrace doors shut or you might get an unexpected visitor, see photo
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
srevad, General Manager at Rock Hotel Gibraltar, responded to this review, February 6, 2012
Dear Gemmawillcox, Thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us over the New Year period and for your kind words about the New Year's Eve gala dinner in particular. We are very proud of our chef and naturally he was delighted that you had taken the time to comment so positively on the endeavours of he and his team on the night. Thank you once more.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

I can understand the good and some of the negative comments about this hotel. Yes it is run down, yes it needs a paint job, indeed a whole refurbishment - but you can really see the elegance this hotel must have once had. It is still the best hotel in Gibraltar, and luckily a bit of a refurb is planned. My only negatives were the formal dining room is too stuffy (and why do the seats by the window face into the dining room and not out onto the magnificent view?),the food in the main restaurant was very average and the staff in that dining room were a bit like Faulty Towers staff (apart from the manager). Housekeeping in public areas was lacking a bit (spiderwebs, dust). And can someone please throw out the fake flowers that dot all public areas? However, the 2nd bar/restaurant was fantastic and the staff there were great. Our room was comfortable - the views from every room were great, and the location is very convenient. Shabby - but for those who have been there, I am sure they will agree that Gibraltar itself is a bit shabby these days (what town planning?) - so it fits in perfectly! Incredible history, a glorious past - and a need for a bit of TLC.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
srevad, General Manager at Rock Hotel Gibraltar, responded to this review, January 31, 2012
Dear Wanderlusting_Aussie, Thank you for your review and for giving us four 'dots'. Yes we are embarking on a large investment this year and a review of the whole food and beverage offering is likely to be a part of that strategy. Our restaurant seats are slightly tilted in the fashion you describe but this, in the main, is so that diners who occupy the window seats do not have their backs to the remainder of those customers who are not lucky enough to occupy them. I think, in the main, window diners do end up enjoying what, as you say, is a fantastic vista. I was glad to read that you enjoyed the Barbary Bar and the staff in there. I can assure you that TLC, and more, is on the way. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset, U.K.
Top Contributor
290 reviews 290 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 106 cities Reviews in 106 cities
154 helpful votes 154 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2012

All the reports state the obvious- though the staff were extremely friendly and the breakfast was one of the best we have had for some time. You can see that the place exuded style in the past years- and yes- it does need a lick of paint, etc. However the good news is that whilst we were there a $25million refurbishment was announced that will start in September- so the hotel may well close for about a year.
The only point I would make is that you should keep your balcony door locked at all times: at 4pm on out first day a Barbary ape came in through the balcony door ( which was slightly ajar) and then took an unopened bag of peanuts from the table and went out on the balcony to consume them in about 15 minutes. Great opportunity to watch an ape in action, but rather frightening at the time. Luckily he/she did not take passports, wallet etc.

Room Tip: All rooms face the sea. Having a balcony can be an advantage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
srevad, General Manager at Rock Hotel Gibraltar, responded to this review, January 30, 2012
Dear oilmanDorset, Thank you for your kind words about the team here and I was pleased that you enjoyed our breakfast offer. It is true that we shall be embarking on a huge investment this year but I am afraid that the sum that you mention is somewhat overstated even given that you have expressed the value in dollars! That notwithstanding, it will be in the region of several millions of pounds and certainly address the issues you raise regarding our need for a 'lick of paint'. I hope that we have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the Rock after the investment programme - if not sooner. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helston
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2012

We visited this hotel in january 2011, loved it so much we couldnt wait for our visit this year. In fact we had such a great time, my brother and his wife tagged along too. The hotel is fantastic, the staff the most friendly and attentive of any hotel I have evr stayed at and the rooms perfectly acceptable. Have always had a soft spot for Gib, and the Rock makes each visit one to remember!

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
srevad, General Manager at Rock Hotel Gibraltar, responded to this review, January 26, 2012
Dear Trevor P, Thank you for your very encouraging report. We consider that our staff are a great asset and I was so pleased that you have commented so positively about them in your review. Naturally, I will be sharing your comments with all concerned. Thank you once more.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st helens
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2012

our first time at the ROCK HOTEL , it wil not be the last, from the cleaners to the management they all gve 100% A GREAT HOTEL we will look forward to be returning back there,i have traveled many places and this hotel i rate the best , a BIG THANK YOU to you all at THE ROCK you made our holiday ,see you soon

Room Tip: just ask reception they give 100% help
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
srevad, General Manager at Rock Hotel Gibraltar, responded to this review, January 26, 2012
Dear Capricorn_7, Thank you so much for the kind words about your first visit to the Rock. I was glad to read that we made a contribution in 'making your holiday' and we too hope that you will return soon. Many thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scawby, N.Lincs
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2012

My wife and i spent a week at the hotel in january 2012 and simply enjoyed every minute of our stay. From entering our room and finding all those little extras which are so often missing in other hotels to going down to the restaurant and being treated to superb food, served by a most obliging staff, we found the experience delightful. We will not hesitate to return.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
srevad, General Manager at Rock Hotel Gibraltar, responded to this review, January 26, 2012
Dear BryanBScawby, Thank you for taking the time to post such a pleasing review. The greatest compliment that any establishment can hope for is a return visit and the fact that you will not hesitate to return is most welcome. I do hope that we have that pleasure in the not too distant future. Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Rock Hotel Gibraltar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rock Hotel Gibraltar

Address: 3 Europa Road, Gibraltar
Location: Gibraltar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Gibraltar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rock Hotel Gibraltar 4*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built on Gibraltar's western flank with stunning views across the bay, it has been welcoming guests since 1932. As the colony’s premier hotel the guest book is littered with famous names as diverse as Sir Winston Churchill and the Two Ronnies! Tastefully renovated, it has the character of a bygone era with the facilities of a modern 'Grand Hotel'. Traditional afternoon tea is served in the lounge and the hotel’s Rib Room Restaurant is recognised as one of the finest places to dine in Gibraltar. The atmospheric Barbary Bar and adjoining wisteria covered terrace are wonderful places to be on a summer’s evening, both are delightful meeting places, the latter a popular venue for weddings. The hotel’s pool area and gardens have an air of tranquillity, yet the centre of town is only a 10-minute downhill walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, EasyToBook and TripOnline SA so you can book your Rock Hotel Gibraltar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gibraltar Rock Hotel
Rock Gibraltar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rock Hotel Gibraltar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.