We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A charming hotel and a lovely wedding” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rock Hotel Gibraltar

Save Saved
You added Rock Hotel Gibraltar to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rock Hotel Gibraltar
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3 Europa Road, Gibraltar n/a   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 7 hotels in Gibraltar
essex, england
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
“A charming hotel and a lovely wedding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2011

We were at the Rock hotel for a family wedding and found the venue to be splendid. Gibraltar in itself is an interesting place to visit, and having travelled from Spain, negotiating the border crossing and then the steep windy roads of Gibralter, reaching the hotel was a relief! - The hotel is perched high on the hillside commanding superb views out across the bay. We were lucky with weather, and looking out from the hotel onto the blue sea and cloudless skies was amazing.
All rooms boast sea views with very small balconies so you can go out and breathe in the sea air! - tho, be warned - the hotel is prey to the monkeys and members of our group had their rooms raded!!

As you enter the hotel, the breeze from the sea sweeps through the reception areas, and the bustle of Gibralter below can be faintly heard. The marble floors draw you away from some of the more dated decor, though the overall style is charming and elegant, and has all the trappings of traditional colonial style. The staff are friendly, and from the bar and restaurant areas it is possible to just sit and enjoy the views.

The hotel is just a 15min walk from town, though if you have a car you can park freely and nip in and out. The cable car to the view point on the rock is just a few minutes from the hotel.

The hotel also has a lovely pool, though not heated and is sea water - despite this, a nice setting with a bar and waiter service for drinks and snacks! - there are plenty of beds and space around the pool. The botanical gardens are also worth a stroll.

The rooms were clean, and maybe not to everyones taste. They lack the feel and contemporary style of many of todays modern hotels, but continue to have a charm of their own. Decor is remeniscent of bygone days with floral design and dated furniture, however, fully functional and clean.

I would heartily recommend a stay at the Rock hotel, and a couple of days on Gibralter, it is an interesting place and if the weather is nice, its lovely!

Room Tip: All rooms sea views - go for a 3rd or 4th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

964 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    280
    350
    191
    91
    52
See reviews for
129
521
49
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2011

Reception area is nice enough.
Customer service is not great. A couple of the younger wait staff in the restaurant were nice. Other than that, no smiles from staff. And they always made me feel like they were doing me a huge favor by checking me in, ordering me a taxi, bringing me food, etc. Reception staff were the worst.
I was disappointed with my room considering it is marketed as a 4 star hotel. It was clean but basic and rather small.
Food is awful and limited.
Views are great though. I think I'll try another hotel next time I come to Gib.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Devon
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2011

This was our third visit to The Rock Hotel and found it most enjoyable like the other two visits.
We found the Reception Staff very helpful and they had time to find out information that we wanted.
There was plenty to chose from for Breakfast more than we could eat and once again the staff were very polite. We knew some of the waiters from our previous visits.
We did eat in the Wisteria Bar as the main Dining Room was catering for a Wedding Reception.
The service was excellent and we could not fault the food. We also had a meal in the Barberry Bar.
Our room was on the fourth floor and the views were spectacular. The only trouble we had was the Apes you could not seat out on the Balcony for long as the Apes were there. I kept our biscuits and crisps hidden away because they will see them. Also we kept our curtains pulled when we went out so they could not see into the room. We did have a lock on the door.
Bus fares are cheap 30p a trip we got a 80p day ticket each which worked out cheaper if you are going to use it more than three times in one day.
Cigarettes are £2 for 200 cheaper at the Airport then in Main Street.
We did go on the Cable car and walked down you can take in the scenery at your own pace. We went into the World World II tunnels very interesting. We wished we had had better weather we only had one hot and sunny day out of six but at least it did not rain.

Room Tip: We were on the fourth floor good views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2011

I have just returned from 4 nights staying at the rock, I had previously stayed there last september and enjoyed it but things have slipped since. The telephone didn't work in my room which would have been useful as I had a friend staying along the corridor> I reported this several times, another phone appeared in my room but this never worked either. The extract fan in the bathroom was full of dirt, I again asked for this to be hoovered out but it was never done. Having found these issues a problem I then noticed things that I had not prevously observed before, the furniture is quite stained as are the carpets.
The guests are warned to keep windows shut so that the apes do not enter the rooms looking for food, however when I came back from breakfast one morning I found the tea and coffee tray had been pulled apart, my handbag emptied and I noticed that the window was open, an ape had been in the room and ransacked it. When I informed reception the receptionist admitted that some of the locks do not work!
On the plus side the breakfasts are great, the pool area is very nice although you are reliant on the pool being heated by the sun. The majority of the staff are very friendly. This hotel is in need of a total reburbishment in order to bring it up to standard

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunstable, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2011

Have just spent 3 nights a The Rock with 3 girl friends and on the whole had a good experience but we were put into rooms with no balcony, there was no sign of any towelling robes or the trouser presses that they so proudly advertise on their website. When I queried this at reception I was told that balconies had to be requested when booking and that you had to pay extra for towelling robes, OK but not what the website states so felt a bit disappointed about that.

Try and get to breakfast before 9.00am at the weekends as it gets really busy after that and the waiters struggle to cope, we had to wait ages to get a waiters attention just to get some more coffee.

The pool area was very nice - all the building work nearly completed now and the complimentaty bottle of water put on the sun bed with the towels is a nice idea.

By the way - if you want to walk to the main resort area and back be prepared for the very steep hill, it's a killer!!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2011

Having recently stayed there for a two week holiday I was very disappointed with the poor service and rooms. The welcome sherry - we are still waiting for yet the couple before us were offered one and a couple after us! the doors don't lock securely - just a bolt on the metal french door totally insecure. The connecting door was unlocked. The TV had a poor picture - when it worked. The phone never worked. The service lift was never used by staff so the other lifts were often full. The noise from the road was unpleasant. The bathroom had mould on one wall and when the regular chambermaid was off then the room was not serviced. The reception staff were told but did nothing so in the end I got tired of moaning and stopped! Also the lollipops in the room never happened.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2011

Stayed at this hotel 2 yrs ago and was disapointed then but decided to give it a second chance as heard the rooms had undergone a re-fit. How wrong! The room we were given on first impression seemed ok but after a few hours we started to realise it was just as bad as 2 yrs ago. The air-con unit started to pour with water after about 10 mins of use and even when switched off continued to drip,drip,drip for hours after. After informing reception of the problem someone came to the room and put 2 towels on the floor to catch the water. These were sodden after a few hrs. The next day someone came to fix the prob but after the unit had been on for half an hour the same problem happened. We continued to inform reception but nothing more was done. We spent 4 sleepness nights listening to the drip,drip,drip of water onto the sodden towels. Also we discovered the toilet was not bolted to the floor so had to be very careful when using it!. Was informed the hotel was fully booked so we couldn't be moved but the room below us was empty throughout our stay (Maybe the water leaking from our air-con had flooded it! ). Will not be giving this hotel another chance as there must be other (drier) hotels in Gib better value for money.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rock Hotel Gibraltar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rock Hotel Gibraltar

Address: 3 Europa Road, Gibraltar n/a
Location: Gibraltar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 hotels in Gibraltar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rock Hotel Gibraltar 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built on Gibraltar's western flank with stunning views across the bay, it has been welcoming guests since 1932. As the colony’s premier hotel the guest book is littered with famous names as diverse as Sir Winston Churchill and the Two Ronnies! Tastefully renovated, it has the character of a bygone era with the facilities of a modern 'Grand Hotel'. Traditional afternoon tea is served in the lounge and the hotel’s Rib Room Restaurant is recognised as one of the finest places to dine in Gibraltar. The atmospheric Barbary Bar and adjoining wisteria covered terrace are wonderful places to be on a summer’s evening, both are delightful meeting places, the latter a popular venue for weddings. The hotel’s pool area and gardens have an air of tranquillity, yet the centre of town is only a 10-minute downhill walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Rock Hotel Gibraltar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gibraltar Rock Hotel
Rock Gibraltar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rock Hotel Gibraltar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.