We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a fine place to stay.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rock Hotel Gibraltar

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Rock Hotel Gibraltar to your Saves list
Rock Hotel Gibraltar
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3 Europa Road, Gibraltar   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Gibraltar
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Always a fine place to stay.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2011

I fail to understand the negative reviews for this wonderful old hotel. This was our third stay at The Rock and each time the service has been exceptional. The setting is the best in Gibraltar and sitting on Wisteria terrace watching the sunset is a real experience. The rooms are clean and comfortable and the breakfasts are excellent with a wonderful choice of foods available. If you are looking for something modern and sterile then look for something more akin to a Travelodge but if you want a real experience of the flavour of Gibraltar and excellent staff who are always willing to help then book at The Rock

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,035 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    299
    383
    205
    94
    54
See reviews for
136
561
53
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (311)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alderney, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2011

Once the finest in Gibraltar The Rock is now no more than pedestrian.

It's saving grace was that we got a cheap deal and for what we paid it offered good value for money. At rack rate in the hundreds of pounds you'd be disappointed.

Room decoration was tired but not tatty though I did find that of the 6 lights in my room 3 were dead. The rooms were clean.

Restaurant food was of good quality but the service was of the bored variety.

Internet only available in the reception areas. As I was on holiday this did me a favour but if on business you'll need a dongle.

The views are lovely, the busy harbour fascinating to watch. There are plenty of public areas just to sit and read.

You should have a pleasant enough stay here just don't be expecting high class 4 star luxury and service.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2011

Despite website saying wifi was available in rooms not in our room. Likewise telephone in room never worked during our stay. On both these problems was given no proper excuse from Reception.
During our 3 day stay only one PC worked in Internet Room so there was difficulty in getting internet access.
The Bar Manager wore a bow tie but with shirt collar undone - looked very scruffy and not what you would expect in this standard of hotel.
Piped music kept stalling - would have been better to turn off completely.
Suspect scrambled egg at breakfast made from powder - awful!
Despite the above we enjoyed our visit to Gibraltar.

Room Tip: You need to be fit to walk up hill to Hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2011

I had the misfortune of staying here for 2 weeks whilsts relocating with work. While the views and sunsets are spectacular, the hotel in general is not, and is very tired, dated and needs a huge amount of money spent on it to bring it up to modern day standards.
During my 2 weeks I had to change rooms 3 times. First time I had no wifi and the tele wasn't working, second time I woke up with 50 bedbug/ flea bites, third time, again no wifi, but I had given up hope at this point.
Wifi is only found in the reception area and surrounding rooms, so if you need it, make sure you ask!
My boss also stayed here and woke up one morning in bites, we can only assume they came form the apes fleas as it was too cool for mosquito's. (they will come in if you leave your door open!)
Would definitely not recommend the hotel, the Elliot in town is marginally better and a little more modern, but minus the views.
Very glad I didn't pay to stay here myself!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, England
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2011

Stayed at the hotel with my wife and friends for a week end break in March 2011.
I can see what reviews mean when they describe the hotel as 'tired'. If someone had the money and the time and a paint brush it could really look a top hotel. Ignoring that though it is still very clean and tidy and excellent value. The rooms all overlook the harbour as most reports have already said and we did have the local visitors to the balcony, the apes.Just make sure the door is closed if you go onto the balcony. You may look onto the balcony and not see any, venture out and the next second they appear climbing down the drain pipe. They are harmless though but they do have a good look to see if they can get into the room. Otherwise they sit on the balcony rail waiting for you to take their photo.
Again, as already commented on, its a good 15-20 mins walk into the 'main street' of town and is a good uphill walk on the way back. We did not mind walking but could see how it would be a problem for those who dont like to walk far or you are hoping it did not rain, which it did one night and we got soaked.
Breakfast is fine and we only ate from the bar one night which was.....ok but a bit pricey.
There are plenty of places to eat in town. The Gibraltar arms has already been mentioned and we loved Nelsons Bar in casemates square at the end or the beginning of main street depending on how you look at it.
The bars in Irish town do really good food as did the 'Star Bar' just off main street leading to Irish town. Its advertised as the oldest pub in Gib. Really cosy and friendly. The curry enchilados are to die for.
Yes the marinas are lovely to wander around but the eating places are a bit pricey.
If you like to walk then Meditteranean steps is a must. Walk up the rock past the hotel and take the first road on the left and follow it up to the kiosk in the road. Its behind here.
Its a good 45-60 mins walk up to the top wih stunning views.
Once at the top we walked along the top road passing the apes den and onto Moorish Castle.
Yes, really enjoyed our visit and will def be back.
Dont hesitate to contact us if you need any advice.
Chris & Sharon

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilts, UK
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2011

Having just spent a smashing 5 days at The Rock Hotel, I am both bemused and dismayed by some of the negative comments on Tripadvisor. Sure, the hotel is no longer in pristine condition, but if you want shiny & tiny corporate-style then look elsewhere. Our holiday experience of the place suggests that detractors must either be a) on a tedious business trip, or b) the type who would criticize anything and everything. Our only disappointment (and we were only appraised of this at check-in) was that the pool area is being refurbished and won’t be open until at least the end of April.

The hotel attracts a polite and well-behaved clientele with ages being late twenties and upwards. Indeed, I would hesitate to say we were some of the youngest guests (blokes in their 30s), and some travellers were clearly of the old-school, well-heeled variety. This is not a hotel for kids/teens – very little to do for this age group and I feel the other guests relished the almost completely youngster-free environment.

Hotel room was of decent size, with lockable fridge (a real bonus), a TV with premium UK channels, well-equipped bathroom and very comfy beds. We also had a balcony with table and chairs. Each morning, the local ape population visit the hotel and are extremely entertaining. However, they will snatch & grab, with one particular female marauding through my toilet bag and emptying the hospitality tray of its biscuits and lollipops.

Hotel staff are smartly attired, efficient and will greet you and speak to you politely if you instigate the interaction. We found all other locals absolutely fine, though did have a situation on a Fri evening when a gang of drunk lads squared up to us in Casemates Square, a place which appears to resemble a UK theme park on a bad day. Hotel has wi-fi, but reception patchy, though the 2 PCs in the lounge are very useful.

Breakfast was more than adequate, with the usual hot full English selection, as well as cold cuts, cheese, fruit and a bewildering choice of pastries. We ate out every day, highlights being The Waterfront in the Marina and El Patio, discreetly hidden away in the top right of Casemates Sq. The latter hostelry appears to operate an amusing ‘QC’ procedure, with you being quickly vetted before a decision is made to allow you in or not! Dinner for 2 with four beers was £70 – the prices keep out the hoi polloi and the food was beautiful.

HOLIDAY TIPS:
Walk through the botanical gardens instead of the main road when accessing the hotel, it’s much easier on the legs.
Taxis are cheap, cheap, cheap. Grab one from the left corner of Casemates Sq to ferry you around if you’re in town.
Cashpoints are in town only, so stock up on money to avoid frequent trips.
Think carefully about doing the upper rock reserve on foot – it’s at least 5km between attractions and in parts is really quite arduous. A guided taxi tour won’t break the bank and the cable car ride is thrilling, but select your cable car ticket carefully to ensure your admission to all sites is covered.

We found Gibraltar fascinating and are already making plans to return to the Rock Hotel.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2011

We have just returned from Rock a hotel I have always wanted to visit. It is in need of sympathtic refurbishment but we loved it. The pool is being done at the moment It is across the road next to Botanical Gardens very peaceful wish we could have sat out there. Our room looked out to sea and was very sunny. Blackout liner curtains would help to keep it cool. We did have dressing gowns at no cost The radio was part of TV. The Fridge was not stocked which I prefer so we can use for our own drinks etc. Morrisons is a short bus ride away to stock up. If over 60 unlimited bus ticket 80p a day usable on all buses. Cable car station just a short walk down hill. Breakfast was fine typical buffet style. My bacon was not swimming in fat and everything else Ok. Service also. We did not eat here at night as we were always out. Can reccomend Gibralter Arms Main Street 2 main courses £9.50 after 6pm drinks about same price as UK. We always took Nbr 3 bus back up hill as very steep. Apes came along baconies each morning but were not as aggressive as Langkwai Malaysia. You just need some common sense. We visite Gib for the history. Trafalger Cemetry at bottom of hill from hotel my favourite place. We walked and walked and climbed went all around on bus.Spent very little and returned to hotel for a good nights sleep. Thank You Rock Hotel

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rock Hotel Gibraltar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rock Hotel Gibraltar

Address: 3 Europa Road, Gibraltar
Location: Gibraltar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Gibraltar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rock Hotel Gibraltar 4*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built on Gibraltar's western flank with stunning views across the bay, it has been welcoming guests since 1932. As the colony’s premier hotel the guest book is littered with famous names as diverse as Sir Winston Churchill and the Two Ronnies! Tastefully renovated, it has the character of a bygone era with the facilities of a modern 'Grand Hotel'. Traditional afternoon tea is served in the lounge and the hotel’s Rib Room Restaurant is recognised as one of the finest places to dine in Gibraltar. The atmospheric Barbary Bar and adjoining wisteria covered terrace are wonderful places to be on a summer’s evening, both are delightful meeting places, the latter a popular venue for weddings. The hotel’s pool area and gardens have an air of tranquillity, yet the centre of town is only a 10-minute downhill walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Otel, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Rock Hotel Gibraltar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gibraltar Rock Hotel
Rock Gibraltar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rock Hotel Gibraltar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.