We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Shrine to Our Lady” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shrine of Our Lady of Europa

Shrine of Our Lady of Europa
Gibraltar
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 29 attractions in Gibraltar
Type: Landmarks/ Points of Interest
Attraction Details
Niagara Falls
Top Contributor
226 reviews 226 reviews
134 attraction reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
“Beautiful Shrine to Our Lady”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

This shrine is beautiful. It has had many incarnations throughout its history from a mosque, to a cathedral, to a munitions storage area and back to a church again. Beautiful location next to the water.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    5
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seville, Spain
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“don´t miss out this place of peace and love.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

the best thing to do in Gibraltar, even if you´re not much into spiritual and religion. you just enter into the building and you´ll have a warm wellcome by the lovely lady who runs the place. a place of devotion for over 700 years !!! our lady of europe in such a humble shrine will hunt you.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful and historic place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

We popped in to see this historic building the day before we went back to the UK. Well what can I say? It is a humble yet beautiful building, with a lovely Medieval mosaic pavement outside. The chapel itself is very holy and peaceful - we said a few prayers inside before leaving. There is also a lovely little exhibition room which tells the tale of the Shrine and Our Lady of Europe via a series of artefacts and exhibitions - eg there was a statue of the King os Spain kneeling before a statue of the Virgin, and this explained how the Castilians had founded the Shrine during the Reconquista etc. There is also a lovely little souvenir shop. Well worth the visit, even if only visiting out of historic, rather than spiritual, interest. Highly recommended.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Just had to visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

We popped in to see the virgin and child that throughout history had been spared, when the moors came and looted the church but spared this statue. We said a prayer for family and friends.
It finished off a lovely day in Gibraltar.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craiova, Romania
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
55 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“HEAVENLY”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We entered into a small Shrine and we discover a lovely museum about the history of the statue of Our Lady of Europe. We went into the Chapel and we prayed for a while and sat in peace. We had reconciled souls contained an unearthly silence ... as if heaven and earth met in the way we ... lukewarm, feeling high point in our visit to Gibraltar

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shrine of Our Lady of Europa also viewed

 

Been to Shrine of Our Lady of Europa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shrine of Our Lady of Europa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Shrine of Our Lady of Europa to your Saves list