We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“well priced hotel in downtown Gibraltar” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cannon Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Gibraltar
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cannon Hotel
Save
You added Cannon Hotel to your Saves list
9 Cannon Lane, Gibraltar   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Gibraltar
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“well priced hotel in downtown Gibraltar”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

I stayed here for two nights to relax in a small piece of UK in Spain. I believe it is well priced 55 pounds for 3 persons and 70 pounds for 3 persons with private bath room, compared to other hotels in Gibraltar, but they don't have airco and one night we had a shared bathroom. The hotel serves English breakfast and is in the middle of the main shopping street. Advice: take a bus to the main square and then walk in less than 10 mins to the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    23
    27
    18
    29
See reviews for
11
36
21
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
frejus
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

brilliant location, very friendly pleasant and helpful staff. good clean roomy bedroom with good quality firm mattress. Very good free full Englsih breakfast. This hotel is highly recommended as extremely good value and quality in Gibraltar. My wife and I really enjoyed our stay there.
Malcolm in Spain.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chayofa, Spain
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

The cannon hotel is a very basic hotel but it works and is not like the overpriced others, room service is on request, and i found the staff are very helpful and nice. the rooms are not air conditioned and a little bit smelly, after a hot summer day this is not so nice, if you open the window the bugs come in to feast. this is not a location for honeymooners or romantic nights on the rock. for me I was here on business and just needed a place to rest and wash, and the location for me was perfect. the staff are not there 24hrs and go home at 2300hrs so don't forget your key.

Room Tip: rooms on the lower floors should be cooler.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Gibraltar is still a step back in time (despite its shiny new seafront bars & casino) & this great little hotel is a part of that experience. It's very quirky & somewhat old fashioned but it has a bar, a dining room & a pleasant courtyard. It's centrally located, the breakfast gets you going in the morning, the communal showers are clean & the people you meet here will put a smile on your face.

Let's be clear, I tend to travel alone & if I was taking a lovely lady I'd go for the Bristol or the Continental (both OK) if she was more interested in the hotel room than the adventure. But I have stayed here twice & I will now always stay here on my annual visit to this lovely rock. If The Cannon ever shuts I will be a broken man (& have to pay a heck of a lot more to stay in Gib), so Vive Le Cannon!

Room Tip: Take earplugs for a full night's sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014 via mobile

Sunborn costs £240 a night joke , canon hotel is. £48 but is in desperate need of decor , wouldn't take a lot , at the moment I would class it as a dive , in Gib you can get away with this I wouldn't eat in here looks unhygienic to me . It would be shut down in UK guaranteed .

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

I don't understand these negative reviews.My experience was quite the opposite.
We had a really nice room with private bathroom,beautiful sheets & towels.
Perfectly cooked English breakfast.Is on a very picturesque street.Hotels in Gibraltar are very expensive.Cannon hotel was a steal!

Room Tip: rooms with private bathrooms are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

Can we view a room before we book?
Yes..If you come back Tuesday..

Have you a room available to check into now?

Yes

Can we view it please?

After you have paid!!

We never stayed...Whilst we were there we noticed a happy hour in the bar..
That spoke volumes.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cannon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cannon Hotel

Address: 9 Cannon Lane, Gibraltar
Location: Gibraltar
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Gibraltar
Number of rooms: 204
Also Known As:
Cannon Hotel Gibraltar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cannon Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.