We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cannon Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Gibraltar
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cannon Hotel
9 Cannon Lane, Gibraltar   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 7 hotels in Gibraltar
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

A good place to stay very pleasant staff good breakfast and excellent location in the middle of everything.I will stay here again for sure and would recommend this place.I have nothing bad to say about the place

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    13
    19
    21
    19
    29
See reviews for
11
31
17
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
HULL UK
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

10 of us stayed for five nights.found it basic but comfortable.good value for the price staff friendly and helpful.breakfast which was included in the price was ok .would stay there again no problem situated on the main street it is ideal for enjoying gibraltar.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spain
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

The options are few for a stay in Gib at a reasonable rate and we thought the Cannon Hotel would be ok for the one night. Upon reflection we would willingly have paid more if we had known what awaited us. The room was drab and dirty as was the bathroom. No toiletries apart from a handsoap dispenser, no glasses. Bedlinen had not been changed from last guests (hairs on pillow) Bedside tables were filthy. Dining room was equally dirty and we did not eat the provided breakfast as we were put off. On the up side the location is great and the staff were friendly. they really need to get their act together as it could be a lovely place with a bit of t.l.c. and a spot of elbow grease.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012 via mobile

I stopped in this hotel for one night ( one night too many) The room was grotty and in need of a redecorate the bed sheets were not changed from last guest and when receptionist told, she first said the sheets were not pressed then agreed and changed them. The breakfast was not as bad as some reviews and the night porter was friendly and the service was ok, but would never stop here again or recommend This hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holbeach, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I stayed here for 2 nights and have absolutely nothing to complain about. booked a single room but got given a twin (200), room was spacious and clean with a comfy bed, plenty of towels and pillows, right next door to the shower room which was very convienient. Staff always friendly and courteous, ok so it's not the Rock Hotel, but it's not the Rock Hotel prices, if you are just looking for somewhere to sleep whilst exploring Gibraltar this place is perfect. No complaints!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We stayed here for an overnight stop in gib. The hotel is very basic but the price of other hotels in Gib meant this was the best we could afford. He rooms are basic. Shared bathrooms. Rooms accessed via internal gallery. Free WiFi. Courtyard bar. Full English breakfast. Helpful and friendly staff who helped us find free 24 hour parking - multi-storey just outside the walls by the American memorial. Has government cars on upper levels and has 24 hour security. With hindsight I would have payed more to stay somewhere a bit more upmarket!

Room Tip: Street side rooms are noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

I'm not sure what the other reviewers are moaning about, as this place was exactly what I was expecting when I booked what is probably the cheapest hotel in Gibraltar. Of course it is going to be a bit small and the furnishings will be a bit dated -- if you don't want that, book at a more expensive place. But if you want a place to crash in the evening and a decent Full English breakfast in the morning (which is included), and don't want to spend a lot, then this is your place. The staff was friendly (they were willing to stay late to let me in when my boat from Tangier was delayed) and the location is fantastic (just off main street, and a 20-25 minute walk to the airport). My only complaint was that the workers on the street started at about 7am, which woke me up since I had the window open.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cannon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cannon Hotel

Address: 9 Cannon Lane, Gibraltar
Location: Gibraltar
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 hotels in Gibraltar
Also Known As:
Cannon Hotel Gibraltar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cannon Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Cannon Hotel to your Saves list
;