We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely location, fantastic sea views and visiting apes” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Caleta Hotel

Save Saved
You added Caleta Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Caleta Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sir Herbert Miles Road, PO Box 73, Gibraltar   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 7 hotels in Gibraltar
Wigan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Lovely location, fantastic sea views and visiting apes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2009

I travelled with my husband for a special birthday in October. We booked the flight and hotel ourselves. Having got off the plane it was quite difficult to obtain a taxi to the hotel,which is located the other side of Gibraltar town. (They all seemed to be booked by the cruise ships). Eventually we got to the Caleta Hotel which is in a lovely spot. Mother and baby barbary ape waiting to greet us high up on the wall next to hotel!!! Ensure you book a sea view room as visiting apes have been known to enter the rooms on the rock side!!! Check-in ok, room had fantastic views, because the hotel is built into the rock. Roomis spacious and reasonably clean but could be better. We did have a partially broken chair on our balcony which I reported but was told there were no more chairs to replace it,which I thought was a bit poor. The hotel itself was low-key and is used by business travellers as well as holiday makers and weddings. We never tried Nunos restaurant as it was quite expensive. Breakfast cost £11 per person which was not good value for money so we only had that once. On the whole the bar snacks were reasonable in price but were of poor quality. We ate out mostly. There is a fantastic sea food restaurantt down the road. To get into Gibraltar town you get the Number 4 bus which stops right outside the hotel,ask the driver to tell you when to get off as it is very confusing. On return make sure you get the Number 4 Both Worlds bus this is very important. We did book a trip with Blands travel and this took us to Marbella and Puerto Banus this is well worth doing and fantastic value for money. The weather was fantastic the whole of the time we were there. Gibraltar is a nice place. Has gone expensive due to the poor value of the pound. The centre is busy and buzzing and is still cheap for booze and fags. The food is a bit burger and chips which is not very appealing. The new complex Ocean Village in town is well worth a visit and is more upmarket.
Overall the Caleta hotel is great for a short tranquil break in the sun. The views are stunning and if you want a low key holiday with great weather and of course the famous apes then this is the place for you. We checked out the other hotels and this is the one we would return to. It does have its faults, it is a bit shabby chic but I would recommend it for a short break.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

444 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    121
    183
    81
    40
    19
See reviews for
76
202
14
55
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2009

We stayed at the Caleta for 5 Nights and found it to be one of the best hotels we had stayed in for many years,
The hotel is on the east side of gibraltar and although you pass quite an industrial area to get to the hotel once there you are rightnext to the beach which is very pretty and can be accessed directly from the hotel.
We had a room on the 4th floor ( shame there is no lift, but help available with luggage) the view over the med was fantastic, coupled with the sound of the sea breaking against the rocks at the base of the hotel.
Being on the east side you also get to see the sun rise every morning.
Try and get a balcony sea view room as it is worth the extra cost for the view alone, food bar etc very good and planty of little areas/ patios etc where you can enjoy your drink etc in the evening
Staff always friendly and helpful would recommend a visit

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almeria, Spain
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2009

My son got married at this hotel last week and used their wedding planner service. There were a few hiccups and it was strange that my son had a phone to contact the wedding planner while the reception was taking place. She should have been there to oversee any problems not on the other end of a phone!
We had a guitarist who played during the meal and he was superb. Also the photographer too many more shots than expected - can´t wait to see the CD next week.
We should have had the garden bar and disco until midnight, but at 11 the dj packed up saying he was only paid until then.................
The accommodation is rather tired and rooms are small. I believe that some form of modernisation is taking place, but didn´t see any rooms for myself that had been done.
Beautiful situation on the edge of the Rock, and on the beach, or water´s edge and on a clear day the sunrises are said to be spectacular. Unfortunately during our stay the mornings were overcast so we missed it.
The wedding meal was good, food beautifully presented and good quality. Service was good too in Nuno´s where we had the reception. Terrace outside was great place for the photos.........................strange to see other hotel guests wandering past on their way to the pool. This area should remain private for a wedding in my opinion.
Our family had travelled from different parts of the world to attend this wedding - hard mattresses made for disturbed nights. I feel that this hotel might have been grand years ago and lives on the old colonial reputation, but it needs money spending on it if it is going to continue offering wedding packages that were very expensive.
The hotel has a hairdresser Janice and the bride and myself had our hair done on the morning of the wedding. I must say that I have never seen a hairdresser work so fast and with such beautiful results we were transformed into really glamourous models.
Costly but well worthwhile.
In general the wedding was a success and we all enjoyed the day. Some of the service in the bar was hit and miss. Took ages to get drinks served in the garden all ordered by staff who did not speak English! Food served in the bar was good.
Reception staff were very pleasant and efficient with the exception of one very frosty young lady - she really shouldn´t be a receptionist!! It would deter guests from checking in if they got her!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardigan Wales
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2009

I'm not a great fan of Hotels, but I must admit The Caleta was ideal as a base for a relaxing holiday allowing us as a family to enjoy Mediterranean weather and at the same time avoiding the painful cost of the euro given we were in Gribraltar. It was a hotel that provided value for money without being cheap in tone and nature and most of the staff were 1st class. We shall be returning !

Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesex UK
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2009

Stayed 3 nights here for a friends wedding. Thought the hotel was lovely, rooms good & clean, fantastic sea view, shame you had to watch out if you left the balcony doors open, in case the apes visited! The wedding was fantastic, I really enjoyed it. Gingraltar was Ok, I don't think I would want to spend a whole week, but for a short trip very good. We had a fantastic reasonably priced rock tour courtesy of a lovely taxi driver called Rose. Brilliant & so informative & friendly. The restaurant food was excellent, and I had no bother with the sea water pool it was very clean. I loved my stay here.

  • Stayed June 2009
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2009

The Caleta is indeed a very nice hotel. As four star rating goes, it is quietly deserving, without the glitz of more prestigious establishments. Its location is possibly the best on the rock, if you want peace and tranquility, coupled with sea views to die for. On entering, one is greeted with a modern, spacious reception and through lounge bar, which itself looks out onto its own furnished terrace, and offers uninterupted views of the Med. Its almost like being on board a ship. There are numerous terraces to just sit out on, or eat from, all giving the same superb views. Guests are able to have meals in the lounge bar, and terrace, the rather stylish restaurant (more expensive) or even down by the pool.
Our bedroom and balcony overlooked the sea. An excellent sized room, with huge king size plus double bed. Everything was clean and tastefully furnished, though only one chair out on the balcony with a table. The bathroom was a reasonable size, but there was no extractor fan ability. Consequently the steam from bath or shower could not
escape sufficiently, and left rather unsightly patches of mould on the ceiling. Although very nicely fitted out with matching marble top and tiles, the single lighting unit over the double sink unit, made the shower/bath area very gloomy. Overall though this was not a problem, and everything was clean and worked as it should. The air conditioning control in the room was exceptionally good, although the remote control unit's holder had fallen off the wall, leaving just a little hole there, but none the less worked very well. Just little things like this that slightly take the edge off what is otherwise a lovely hotel.
The English garden was perhaps the worst for this. Although not very big, one can see how lovely it might have been, certainly the first bit that one sees suggests great potential. But it had been very run down and tatty to the side and rear, for some time by the looks of things. In fairness someone was working to clear some of the rubble, though to what end, and when, I suppose only time would tell.
There is a very good public bus service that runs throughout Gibraltar, buses are clean,
for the most part, punctual, and pleasantly air conditioned. The no 4 service actually stops very near to the hotel every 20mins or so, and takes you right into the town, as far as the cable- car station. The fare is an incredible 80p (60 or over) for all day, any service use.(£1.50 under 60!) You can walk down into town, about 20 mins, but it takes you through some rather grotty outskirts, (factory storage yards, garage areas etc.)
The pool, though not terribly large, is in a lovely sheltered situation, with one side overlooking the sea, and another part looking down onto the beach and village of Catalan Bay. There are private steps from here down to the beach. The sun terrace surrounding the pool is quite spacious, and there were always comfortable sun loungers available, and a small but very pleasant, sheltered lounge area to eat or have a drink in. Every day there was someone in constant attendance, who also doubled as the pools life guard.
Catalan Bay is OK, though it seems often heaving with youngsters and families, even during the working week, so the beach was always well used. Every morning, however, it was always clean and freshly raked over, though when they did this I've no idea. The locals were always very pleasant, however, and never impinged, it seems, on the tranquility of the hotel. There is just one restaurant in the bay, La Mamela, which offers a good alternative to the hotels bar meals. Like the hotel, it has a lovely verandah where one can eat, view the sea, and the village and hotel, at the far end, as well. Again, as with the hotel, the staff were very pleasant and obliging, and we felt that we had very good service and value for money.
Its lovely to feel that one is not being pushed for gratuities, no charge or suggestion was ever made by the hotel, or La Mamela, how refreshing!
All in all, despite a few 'rough' edges, we both felt that this was an excellent hotel in every way, and would most certainly recommend it to couples of families alike.
One word of warning, and that is that Gibraltar airport, is woefully inadequate. Its single carousel appeared to have a couple of cases thrown on, every few minutes (or longer) by just two blokes, it took about three quarters of an hour to retrieve our cases, from just one flight. I shudder to think what it would be like if three flights had arrived together.
Gibraltar is great for walking, historical sights and the absolutely awesom St Michaels Caves. But the rock itself is heaving with traffic, to the point of being overwhelmed, and contractors seem to be building everwhere and anywhere. Some of the lovely old forts were closed (this was second week in July), and there is a sense that a lot of their history is in danger of being neglected or overwhelmed with modern developments.
Also despite the fact that they pay no VAT, prices over there are much the same as in the UK (incl our VAT add on) so, apart from petrol, there is nothing particularly cheap it seems, to be purchased from the shops.
Having said all that, Gibraltar is a great place to visit, and we just didn't have enough time to see everything in five days. Its people are very friendly and generally well mannered, and life despite the hectic traffic, seems to be generally much more at ease and layed back than in the UK. We wouldn't have missed it for the world!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2009

The hotel staff were all very polite and helpful and the accommodation was of a very good standard. The breakfast was OK tho' the cooked breakfast wasn't hot. Generally we found it a very pleasant stay, except for the wedding reception on one of the nights - the live band was so noisy we could hear it in our room on the 3rd floor. A big drawback is the location as it's on the other side of the Rock from the main town and sites. There is a bus that will take you into town or its at least a 20 min walk. Gibraltar does have a much better bus service than you'd expect for a place of its size. The location of the hotel does mean you have direct access to the small sandy beach.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Caleta Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caleta Hotel

Address: Sir Herbert Miles Road, PO Box 73, Gibraltar
Location: Gibraltar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 hotels in Gibraltar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Caleta Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Caleta Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caleta Hotel Gibraltar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caleta Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.