We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Caleta Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Caleta Hotel to your Saves list
Caleta Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sir Herbert Miles Road, PO Box 73, Gibraltar   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Gibraltar
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

Wonderful holiday room was nice and clean needs a little touching up though, breakfast was a bit of a let down not much choice but over all lovely relaxing stay. View from hotel room was stunning looking out across to Africa we watched the fish in the sea from our room

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

497 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    207
    91
    44
    22
See reviews for
84
224
20
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cordoba, Spain
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

We got married in Gibraltar in August. What a wonderful week! We stayed at the Caleta on the recommendation of our Wedding Planner Monica, at Hour Weddings. She wasn't wrong, my goodness they looked after us. My husband suffered a life threatening illness 12 weeks before the wedding, leaving him in a wheelchair - the hotel could not have been more helpful. They moved us to a room with great disabled access and made sure we had everything we needed, and more besides. We stayed from 2 days before the wedding to 4 days after and every single day was special. On my wedding day I felt like a princess. Special thanks to Kevin - your such a star! Our room - and the 4 our guests stayed in was spotless - beautiful in fact.
We had SUCH a great stay we went back for Remembrance weekend earlier this month, again it was beautiful. This time my husband was on his feet and the absence of the wheelchair was noted by staff - personal touch is rare. Great food in the bar, great service throughout, perfect weekend that left us refreshed and rested. We will be back very soon. Thank you so much to everyone at the Caleta.
If I had a down side it would be that it is pricey to stay - but all the good hotels on Gibraltar are pricey - fact of life.
It is out of town a little too, we like that, but if you want to be in the heart of things you won't get that here - but it is only a 5 minute car ride or the bus stops right outside the front door - every hour or half hour I think.
Being out of town makes it very quiet - some of the more central hotels have traffic noise problems. That's personal preference.
On the whole - Caleta you have a regular.

Room Tip: The hotel is in "wings" some rooms are up or down stairs - if you need a lift ask!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

We got married in Gibraltar last week. It was a lovely country and great local people and I would do it again but I would definitely not stay at this hotel even if I was given a free room here. The amount of stress created was uncalled for. We paid a premium to stay at this hotel as compared to others and unfortunately the premium was not 'received' in satisfaction.

Reasons below:

Nice scenic view but that's about it! Housekeeping was friendly but front office reception staff could have been better trained for a hotel this expensive. e.g. Day of our registered wedding. booked well in advance but Taxi mix up due to staff not understanding English (Pablo mixed up our room number so we were late). We had to flag a cab on the busy road and were warned we might still get charged by the hotel for no show ! Front office reception try and smile to be polite but not effective at all in doing or getting things done. They need to have a manager around who understands English and can converse fluently. I felt like I was dealing with Government staff when dealing with them i.e. slow. The only receptionist who was really good was Gabor (Hungarian) and he knew how to deal with issues. The other 3 receptionists were useless.

Cleanliness : poor - dirty tub, smelly blanket ( I had to sleep in the cold as opposed to exposing my body to the blanket).

Internet was a disaster...due to repetitive attempts could not connect even from the hotel lobby. Staff at front desk were lazy in helping us fix the problem. Why advertise for internet (wifi) when there is none during the 3 days we were there ? they said only certain rooms catch the wifi.
Food was okay -nothing to rave about.
Breakfast - the best thing we had in this hotel was the breakfast (self serve).
View- really gorgeous.
Billing- on our checkout we were overcharged by one night ! good thing my mother caught this as we were in wedding mode so were not thinking of checking the hotel bill.
Hotel massage and make up /spa wonderful.. the massage therapist is great and so Is the makeup artist. my wife looked great in the wedding pics.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

wonderful helpful staff,always with a smile,very relaxing location.The view across to North Africa from my room was great.I only had breakfast there,all good and pleanty of it.You have a sea view from the dinning room, attentive service at all times.I have stayed in many hotels around the globe ,i would always come back to The Caleta if they had a room spare.Thank you Caleta.

Room Tip: ask for sea veiw
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

An excellent hotel that i would recommend to anyone. The room overlooked the sea and i was able to watch the sun rise on most mornings. Great places to eat close to the hotel and a fantastic beach.

Would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

This was a four star hotel but in my opinion I would not rate it higher than a two/three star, we did arrive a little early for checking in so were told to wait in the bar until the room was cleaned where somebody would come and get us, this never happened, after going to reception a couple of times asking about the room, it was ready to use two hours later with no apologies for the wait from any of the staff on reception we carried our cases up and down so many steps i felt id walked miles and my arms looked like an orangutan's, the room was functional nothing more although you could pick holes (like the cigarette burn in our top bed cover) or the broken bath plug, glue around the toilet handle, the broken tiles,
basically the room was in need of a little maintenance as were other parts of the hotel i suppose it looked a little shabby, on the plus side it was cleaned very well and the sea view was lovely and you could access the beach from the hotel via more steps, the buffet breakfast was fine, but we found the hotel restaurant nunos was over priced and a little pretentious, you can walk into the town centre in around 30/40 minutes which is downhill, we took the bus back £1.50 single per person, the taxis seem to differ in price from town even though they all had meters £5 to £6 approx. single trip, the only person we found really friendly and helpful was a chap called Gabor so to sum up we would say it is overpriced for what you get, and if you have walking difficulties this hotel does have a lot of staircases to negotiate although it does have a lift but apparently not to our part of the hotel, my advice would be to get a five star hotel for the same price just over the border and have a day trip in Gibraltar.

Room Tip: take a ride in the cable car to the top of the rock the views are fantastic, plus the boat trip to s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

We recently returned for a short break at the Caleta Hotel. This was our first stay at this hotel as we usually stay at the Rock hotel for our two or three short breaks every year in Gib. I have to say that we were impressed with the hotel. Our room, a deluxe sea view was spacious and comfortable with a very nice bathroom with his and hers sinks, and a lovely powerful shower. The best bit though was a nice big balcony and as other reviewers have stated, you think you are actually over the sea, terrific! Eating options are also very good. We went down for breakfast every day at about 9 o'clock and there were plenty of table, a good selection from the buffet with staff continuously walking around filling up tea/coffee cups. This rates better than the Rock hotel, where, in our experience, if you turn up for breakfast at 9 you invariably have to wait for a table and the service can be a little chaotic. We had dinner one night at one of the lounge tables and the food and service was very good.Before we arrived we thought that its location would be a slight problem (we like the Rock hotel's location) but it was fine with the bus stop right outside. The No. 4 bus runs at 30 minutes and 45 minutes past the hour and on the hour. As we are of a certain age! we purchased a senior hoppa ticket for £1.20 which gives you unlimited travel for that day. All in all a very nice stay at the Caleta, but for us the big question is which hotel do we prefer the Caleta or the Rock Hotel? Each hotel has a completely different atmosphere but we think we will take it in turns in future for our short breaks. We are returning to the Rock hotel next month (it will be interesting to see how the renovations are going on) and shall shortly book a 5 night stay at the Caleta for next May.
We always book through mygibraltar.com which offers very good package prices.
One more thing, there is a lovely little restaurant called the Village Inn just down from the hotel accessible through the hotel's pool area and on the beach promenade. Very good food and service, not at all posh! but but very pleasant.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Caleta Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caleta Hotel

Address: Sir Herbert Miles Road, PO Box 73, Gibraltar
Phone Number:
Location: Gibraltar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Gibraltar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Caleta Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 176
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Venere, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Caleta Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caleta Hotel Gibraltar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caleta Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.