We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Scenic view but that's about it...stressful to stay here” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Caleta Hotel

Save Saved
You added Caleta Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Caleta Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sir Herbert Miles Road, PO Box 73, Gibraltar   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 7 hotels in Gibraltar
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Scenic view but that's about it...stressful to stay here”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

We got married in Gibraltar last week. It was a lovely country and great local people and I would do it again but I would definitely not stay at this hotel even if I was given a free room here. The amount of stress created was uncalled for. We paid a premium to stay at this hotel as compared to others and unfortunately the premium was not 'received' in satisfaction.

Reasons below:

Nice scenic view but that's about it! Housekeeping was friendly but front office reception staff could have been better trained for a hotel this expensive. e.g. Day of our registered wedding. booked well in advance but Taxi mix up due to staff not understanding English (Pablo mixed up our room number so we were late). We had to flag a cab on the busy road and were warned we might still get charged by the hotel for no show ! Front office reception try and smile to be polite but not effective at all in doing or getting things done. They need to have a manager around who understands English and can converse fluently. I felt like I was dealing with Government staff when dealing with them i.e. slow. The only receptionist who was really good was Gabor (Hungarian) and he knew how to deal with issues. The other 3 receptionists were useless.

Cleanliness : poor - dirty tub, smelly blanket ( I had to sleep in the cold as opposed to exposing my body to the blanket).

Internet was a disaster...due to repetitive attempts could not connect even from the hotel lobby. Staff at front desk were lazy in helping us fix the problem. Why advertise for internet (wifi) when there is none during the 3 days we were there ? they said only certain rooms catch the wifi.
Food was okay -nothing to rave about.
Breakfast - the best thing we had in this hotel was the breakfast (self serve).
View- really gorgeous.
Billing- on our checkout we were overcharged by one night ! good thing my mother caught this as we were in wedding mode so were not thinking of checking the hotel bill.
Hotel massage and make up /spa wonderful.. the massage therapist is great and so Is the makeup artist. my wife looked great in the wedding pics.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

461 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    124
    189
    85
    42
    21
See reviews for
80
206
15
58
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

wonderful helpful staff,always with a smile,very relaxing location.The view across to North Africa from my room was great.I only had breakfast there,all good and pleanty of it.You have a sea view from the dinning room, attentive service at all times.I have stayed in many hotels around the globe ,i would always come back to The Caleta if they had a room spare.Thank you Caleta.

Room Tip: ask for sea veiw
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

An excellent hotel that i would recommend to anyone. The room overlooked the sea and i was able to watch the sun rise on most mornings. Great places to eat close to the hotel and a fantastic beach.

Would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

This was a four star hotel but in my opinion I would not rate it higher than a two/three star, we did arrive a little early for checking in so were told to wait in the bar until the room was cleaned where somebody would come and get us, this never happened, after going to reception a couple of times asking about the room, it was ready to use two hours later with no apologies for the wait from any of the staff on reception we carried our cases up and down so many steps i felt id walked miles and my arms looked like an orangutan's, the room was functional nothing more although you could pick holes (like the cigarette burn in our top bed cover) or the broken bath plug, glue around the toilet handle, the broken tiles,
basically the room was in need of a little maintenance as were other parts of the hotel i suppose it looked a little shabby, on the plus side it was cleaned very well and the sea view was lovely and you could access the beach from the hotel via more steps, the buffet breakfast was fine, but we found the hotel restaurant nunos was over priced and a little pretentious, you can walk into the town centre in around 30/40 minutes which is downhill, we took the bus back £1.50 single per person, the taxis seem to differ in price from town even though they all had meters £5 to £6 approx. single trip, the only person we found really friendly and helpful was a chap called Gabor so to sum up we would say it is overpriced for what you get, and if you have walking difficulties this hotel does have a lot of staircases to negotiate although it does have a lift but apparently not to our part of the hotel, my advice would be to get a five star hotel for the same price just over the border and have a day trip in Gibraltar.

Room Tip: take a ride in the cable car to the top of the rock the views are fantastic, plus the boat trip to s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

We recently returned for a short break at the Caleta Hotel. This was our first stay at this hotel as we usually stay at the Rock hotel for our two or three short breaks every year in Gib. I have to say that we were impressed with the hotel. Our room, a deluxe sea view was spacious and comfortable with a very nice bathroom with his and hers sinks, and a lovely powerful shower. The best bit though was a nice big balcony and as other reviewers have stated, you think you are actually over the sea, terrific! Eating options are also very good. We went down for breakfast every day at about 9 o'clock and there were plenty of table, a good selection from the buffet with staff continuously walking around filling up tea/coffee cups. This rates better than the Rock hotel, where, in our experience, if you turn up for breakfast at 9 you invariably have to wait for a table and the service can be a little chaotic. We had dinner one night at one of the lounge tables and the food and service was very good.Before we arrived we thought that its location would be a slight problem (we like the Rock hotel's location) but it was fine with the bus stop right outside. The No. 4 bus runs at 30 minutes and 45 minutes past the hour and on the hour. As we are of a certain age! we purchased a senior hoppa ticket for £1.20 which gives you unlimited travel for that day. All in all a very nice stay at the Caleta, but for us the big question is which hotel do we prefer the Caleta or the Rock Hotel? Each hotel has a completely different atmosphere but we think we will take it in turns in future for our short breaks. We are returning to the Rock hotel next month (it will be interesting to see how the renovations are going on) and shall shortly book a 5 night stay at the Caleta for next May.
We always book through mygibraltar.com which offers very good package prices.
One more thing, there is a lovely little restaurant called the Village Inn just down from the hotel accessible through the hotel's pool area and on the beach promenade. Very good food and service, not at all posh! but but very pleasant.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Excellent hotel our room overlooking the sea, with the sun rising each morming whilr we sit on the balcony. Walk down the hotel steps and you are on a beautfull beach. The food in the bar serves wonderful snacks. The food in numos rest is a bit expensive. There is a regular bus service into the centre of town. We would stay again

Room Tip: Aways ask for a sea view and one that overlooks the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

A really good hotel which is in art deco style. Our room, although not large, was well appointed and comfortable. While we were there there was a violent storm but our room was warm and cozy.
The position of this hotel is a little away from the action but perched on a rock above the bay it offers some wonderful views and there is a lovely sandy beach beneath it, which, alas due to the weather, we didn't try. There is a small outdoor pool at the hotel which, again, went unused while we were there.

There is a good bus service round to the main part of the rock and the bus stop is almost right outside the hotel. We found a lovely restaurant just along the road from the hotel which also had wonderful views of the bay. Unfortunately I am unable to remember its name.

Room Tip: Sea view a must otherwise your view will be the side of the rock!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Caleta Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caleta Hotel

Address: Sir Herbert Miles Road, PO Box 73, Gibraltar
Location: Gibraltar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 hotels in Gibraltar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Caleta Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Caleta Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caleta Hotel Gibraltar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caleta Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.