We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short Break” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Caleta Hotel

Save Saved
You added Caleta Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Caleta Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sir Herbert Miles Road, PO Box 73, Gibraltar   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 7 hotels in Gibraltar
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Short Break”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Gibraltar is a great place for a short break and the Caleta Hotel certainly makes part of that break enjoyable.
I stayed here recently following a holiday in Spain and was impressed by the warm welcome by the reception staff on arrival, something hard to find on your travels these days!
This theme seemed to be the trend at this hotel with all staff from bar to restaurant being very welcoming and accommodating.
The Hotel itself is a little worn at the edges but this seems to add a little more charm, but the rooms are spacious with fantastic sea views as the hotel is built in to the rock directly above the sea giving the impression that you are on a cruise ship . Bedrooms although a little dated and probably due refurbishment are spotlessly clean with comfortable beds, tea and coffee making facilities, mini bar,safe and tv. Plenty of wardrobe space, clean towels and toiletries make for a comfortable stay.
I can recommend the restaurant and advise booking as it seems very popular with guests and locals and can be very busy. This is obviously due to the quality of the food and service along with the fantastic sea views .It is also very reasonably priced for the standard of food on offer.

Breakfast in the morning is continental and adequate you can pay for a hot cooked English breakfast as extra if you choose. Once again the staff are very welcoming and helpful with tables cleared quickly, and of course nice sea views while you dine.
There is a Bus stop directly outside which will take you in to Casemates Terminus and on return stops a little before the hotel or a little after, just ask the Driver where to get off if you are a little concerned. Reception will call a Taxi if you prefer fare around £5 one way depending on time of day. This is similar to the fare from the airport or return which varies from around £6 to £8 once again reception will arrange allow 15 to 30 minutes when calling for one.

Room Tip: Sea view is best
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

464 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    125
    190
    85
    43
    21
See reviews for
80
209
15
58
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013 via mobile

I enjoyed this hotel tremendously we had a sea view and it was gorgeous especially the sunrise, everyone was keen to help the breakfast and bar staff was friendly, the continental breakfast was very tasty and had a wide variety of items, and room service was only an extra £3 per room our room was cleaned every day and even when we left it in a right mess ( as 4 ladies were getting ready for a wedding bride & bridesmaids) everything was put back neatly, lovely air condoning in the room was a god send as it was 33•c, the room was equipped with a mini bar although slightly expensive, we took everything out and put our own water etc in and the cleaners always washed our glasses and put them in the fridge do nice and cold, you don't have to take any wash stuff with you as shower gel, shampoo, body lotion, toothbrush + paste, shoe shine, sewing kit, shaving cream + razor, shower cap, and towelling robe, over all a brilliant time and would definitely return.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wickford, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

We booked the bridal suite for three days and a seaview room for the remaining 7 days of our 10 day stay. There does seem to be two distinct sides to the hotel. The modern updated side then the older side. We stayed at both sides of the hotel and loved both equally. The decor was quite different in each. The staff were excellent during our entire stay and Marjo who organized the wedding facilities was always on hand to ensure we were happy and everything went smoothly. The venue is quiet and beautifully located to enjoy the beach and the quieter side of Gibraltar. Local restaurants are of excellent quality and low price. Its perfect to be able to walk straight down to the beach whenever you fancy. Sea views are beautiful. The hotel met every requirement for a beautiful, personal and memorable wedding. We saw several other weddings during our stay but we still felt our treatment by hotel was special and tailored to our needs. All staff tried their best at all times and were genuinely friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: some have a small balcony, I would imagine if you specified a balcony was important to you then it c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horley, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

The Caleta has a stunning location on the East of the Rock next to the popular swimming area of Catalan Bay, which is accessed by a set of stairs near the swimming pool. The pool itself felt warm, but that may have been in comparison with the sea I had just come out from. The beach is clean, with some pleasant places to eat set behind it in the Genoese Village.
Access to Gib central is by bus, which is cheap and frequent (get a 'hoppa' all-day ticket). The bus drops you off at the main square, Casemates, from where you can take other buses or walk. If using a taxi, the road tunnel at the South of the Rock is open, but drivers may wish to...extend their journey by coming round the top (North) end even if coming from Europa Point.

The hotel is a little faded in appearance, and my room, while clean, was somewhat tired. The double bed consisted of two singles pushed together that were slightly different in height, but the biggest problem was the headboard. This was secured neither to the bed nor to the wall, and the slightest movement in bed produced sounds reminiscent of a more passionate encounter. Everything else worked fine, and the room was airy and pleasant with amazing views of the sunrise.

Brakfast was continental, a 'full English' being available for £££££s. Salt and pepper are not provided at each table, and tea is from a thermos of hot water carried by the waiter, or an urn, rather than a pot. Two of my rolls were actually stale and hard, but the rest of the breakfast was adequate even if the items aren't replenished quite as often as one could wish.

I did not sample any other food, but once again, as so often, it is the staff who make or break any hotel stay, and they were, in this case, superb. Nothing seemed to be too much trouble.

Room Tip: A sea view room is much nicer
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alicante, Spain
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Just returned The Caleta Hotel.... what a lovely hotel. seeing the reviews on TripAdvisor I thought we may have made a mistake wanting to stay at this hotel, but I was pleasantly surprised. The reason for the stay was to attend a close friends wedding that was being held at the Caleta Hotel.
We all had a fantastic time and what beautiful grounds... yes a few things needed a lick of paint but we definitely overlooked that.
The staff were amazing anything we needed they were there. Wali and Kevin were fantastic.
The room was perfect and very clean I do recommend getting up early to watch the sun rise.
The food was perfect

Room Tip: 414 and 418
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parbold
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We had a further excellent week here in September.
We thoroughly enjoyed our week at the Caleta, just a few points to make.
Our comments are:-
The lady who appears to be in charge of breakfast does a really good job. The day she wasn't in, breakfast organisation seemed to fall to pieces.
I thought that we saw Mohammed (behind the bar) smile once, but I could have been mistaken.
No problem checking in and the room was ready and waiting.
Reception staff were helpful and friendly.
Bar menu has been the same for a few years - needs updating.
Internet access easily available, and free.
We'll probably be returning later in 2014

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton-on-Tees
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

My wife and I had our wedding at The Caleta Hotel in August 13, the staff were very friendly and helpful. The suite that we had was excellent, very clean and well presented. The whole wedding party stayed at the hotel for 3 nights and the food throughout was absolutely lovely. Ideal location for a great beach and salt water swimming pool. We also returned in mid September for a friends wedding and it was just as good. We are planning on returning every year as a little reminder of our special day.

Room Tip: If your budget allows go for a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Caleta Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caleta Hotel

Address: Sir Herbert Miles Road, PO Box 73, Gibraltar
Location: Gibraltar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 hotels in Gibraltar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Caleta Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Caleta Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caleta Hotel Gibraltar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caleta Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.