We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but really needs some TLC” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Caleta Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Caleta Hotel to your Saves list
Caleta Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sir Herbert Miles Road, PO Box 73, Gibraltar   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Gibraltar
Old Windsor, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice but really needs some TLC”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

On arrival had to wait over an hour for our room. Put this down to the party we arrived with being large but after reading other reviews this appears to be the norm. This gave us sometime to sit on the veranda, which over looks the sea.
We had an excellent room overlooking the sea. The room was a reasonable size and the bed was massive. The fan and the A/C unit worked really well, though the fan was a bit noisy. The bathroom was reasonable and the shower powerful.
The continental breakfast was very good and the staff worked very hard at keeping the food well stocked and the coffee and teas supplied to the diners.
The hotel is in a great location, right next to a beach and a 20 minute stroll to the town. It is in a quiet location, and even though there was a wedding reception going on during our stay, by closing the door between the bedroom and the main door all noise was blocked out.
Taxis on the rock are problematic and not run very well, it’s easier to catch the local bus or walk, though if booked through the hotel then they appear to arrive when needed.
All in all I loved Gib and loved the hotel. I couldn’t give the hotel a higher mark because there are areas of it that are in need of major TLC and I don’t understand why the management have not pushed for this to be done.
I would return to this hotel without hesitation and would recommend it to a friend.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

520 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    216
    100
    45
    22
See reviews for
86
239
20
64
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Trumbull, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Our stay st the Caleta was extremely memborable.The desk clerks Samantha and Clair are wonderful.We got upgraded to a Water view apartment suite that was great.We did not know it had two balconies until the second day.The restaurant is excellent.The maiter'd Raf is the best with so many great suggestions.A view of the Med. on one side a view of the rock on the other.Gibrater is really a hidden gem.Don't miss out on it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallasey, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

This hotel has wonderful views and the staff are very good, very expensive for food and drinks ,but a really charming hotel ,needs a bit of work but rooms where very nice and you would pay just for the views alone would recommend to couples good bus service into town .

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Barrios, Spain
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

This hotel has risen above its previous rather unsavoury image and presents itself well to its clients. The staff make this hotel one worth visiting-apart from the wonderful seascape and exceedingly comfortable beds.
Yes its a bit worn round the edges and the decorator has to brush up his painting skills but given the competition this hotel can hold its head up with the best Gib has to offer.
Parking is a bit of a problem and you could end up with rather a hike from your car. Devils Tower Road is not noted for its beauty so your first impressions are not hopeful. Keep going its worth the effort to get there.

Room Tip: Sea View -who wants to look at a lump of Limestone? and you can watch the black zodiacs once its dar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

this was a great hotel, wonderful views, and amazing service, and would stay her again.
the beach is very near, and it is not far to the town centre.
is on the Atlantic side so good to watch the ships go by.

Room Tip: get a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

1: This was our fourth stay at the Caleta and we always love to stay there. It has a certain charm that I really can’t put into words. The hotel is in a great position if not brilliant location – if that makes sense. The walk to the hotel along Devil’s Tower Road is, appropriately, hellish. It really is. I cannot recommend highly enough taking the (cheap and very regular) bus service. It is the most hideously grubby and smelly walk you can imagine. Once completed, the Caleta benefits from having its sanctuary/haven feel amplified. None of this is the hotel’s fault of course but really, I feel the Gib Tourist Board really does have to show some leadership here – especially given that this less than inspiring route also takes you to Gib’s only two real beaches.

OK – the hotel is a bit in need of a facelift but it’s still charming. We had the misfortune to be given a lovely sea view room (as requested) that had no aircon (it was only half installed) during a very hot September week. The hotel provided an little aircon unit and a fan but it was very uncomfortable throughout the week to be honest.

The food we had in the hotel was good overall and the bar is a real highpoint. Good selection of drinks and always a good atmosphere. I can’t fault the staff in their attitude and personal skills; it’s just that one night we waited and waited for room service before (having made three phone calls) it came an hour and a half late.

We found the pool area to be good with plenty of capacity and the (cold) salt water pool is a great place to cool off – usually alone (due to the temp I guess!).

We love the Caleta and will be back; but I’m not completely sure why! Maybe it’s the staff and the fact that we have many happy memories; however, there is a new ‘floating’ hotel arriving on the other side soon and, I fear, unless the Caleta is given a face lift and something (anything!) is done about the state of the route to it, this much loved old friend may find itself having a bit of a struggle on its hands to keep up. I hope not.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

Firstly, I must rave about the breakfast and fabulous sea view from the dining room- what a place to enjoy a coffee.
The reception is welcoming and fresh. The reception staff could speed up a bit as they move exceptionally slow.
The rooms were pleasant, clean and adaquate. Everything We needed was provided. The sea view is similar to being on a cruise ship.
The pool is wonderful, perfect size and relaxing area. But a pool side bar /water service would help.
Sadly, the bar good was very disappointing- greasy, soggy, tasteless and unhealthy.
I agree with it needing a few coats of paint, it certainly does not appear to be a 4 star hotel on approach. But then again all of Gibraltar needs a revamp!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Caleta Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caleta Hotel

Address: Sir Herbert Miles Road, PO Box 73, Gibraltar
Phone Number:
Location: Gibraltar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Gibraltar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Caleta Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 176
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Caleta Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caleta Hotel Gibraltar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caleta Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.