We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this place - great views” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Caleta Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Caleta Hotel to your Saves list
Caleta Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sir Herbert Miles Road, PO Box 73, Gibraltar   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Gibraltar
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Loved this place - great views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

this was a great hotel, wonderful views, and amazing service, and would stay her again.
the beach is very near, and it is not far to the town centre.
is on the Atlantic side so good to watch the ships go by.

Room Tip: get a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

645 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    261
    129
    51
    28
See reviews for
112
295
23
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (262)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durham
Level Contributor
97 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

1: This was our fourth stay at the Caleta and we always love to stay there. It has a certain charm that I really can’t put into words. The hotel is in a great position if not brilliant location – if that makes sense. The walk to the hotel along Devil’s Tower Road is, appropriately, hellish. It really is. I cannot recommend highly enough taking the (cheap and very regular) bus service. It is the most hideously grubby and smelly walk you can imagine. Once completed, the Caleta benefits from having its sanctuary/haven feel amplified. None of this is the hotel’s fault of course but really, I feel the Gib Tourist Board really does have to show some leadership here – especially given that this less than inspiring route also takes you to Gib’s only two real beaches.

OK – the hotel is a bit in need of a facelift but it’s still charming. We had the misfortune to be given a lovely sea view room (as requested) that had no aircon (it was only half installed) during a very hot September week. The hotel provided an little aircon unit and a fan but it was very uncomfortable throughout the week to be honest.

The food we had in the hotel was good overall and the bar is a real highpoint. Good selection of drinks and always a good atmosphere. I can’t fault the staff in their attitude and personal skills; it’s just that one night we waited and waited for room service before (having made three phone calls) it came an hour and a half late.

We found the pool area to be good with plenty of capacity and the (cold) salt water pool is a great place to cool off – usually alone (due to the temp I guess!).

We love the Caleta and will be back; but I’m not completely sure why! Maybe it’s the staff and the fact that we have many happy memories; however, there is a new ‘floating’ hotel arriving on the other side soon and, I fear, unless the Caleta is given a face lift and something (anything!) is done about the state of the route to it, this much loved old friend may find itself having a bit of a struggle on its hands to keep up. I hope not.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

Firstly, I must rave about the breakfast and fabulous sea view from the dining room- what a place to enjoy a coffee.
The reception is welcoming and fresh. The reception staff could speed up a bit as they move exceptionally slow.
The rooms were pleasant, clean and adaquate. Everything We needed was provided. The sea view is similar to being on a cruise ship.
The pool is wonderful, perfect size and relaxing area. But a pool side bar /water service would help.
Sadly, the bar good was very disappointing- greasy, soggy, tasteless and unhealthy.
I agree with it needing a few coats of paint, it certainly does not appear to be a 4 star hotel on approach. But then again all of Gibraltar needs a revamp!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Just got back from a weekemd away in Gibraltar , stayed at this hotel , yes in does need a spruce up , mainly paint and carpets , but overall was very much worth the money.
Great sea view, room large and comfy , bathroom clean , only had b&b but the food was great.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Just returned today (22nd Sept 2013) after a nice week at the Caleta.
It was our first visit to Gibraltar and we decided to give the Caleta a go.

In general it is a lovely old British influenced hotel, run by very friendly staff.The location is superb in Catalan Bay and we were lucky enough to get a sea view room (the sea is literally straight down from the room balcony).

Unfortunately there were a few minuses.

The prices in the hotel are very high so I would recommend descending the steps down to the bars in the bay where the prices are around half.
Breakfast on the first two mornings were like something out of Fawlty Towers. After being ignored for about 5 minutes, we were shown to a table and none of the staff seemed to know what they were doing. I asked for some milk and the waiter returned with it but had forgotten who ordered it and walked round with the jug held in the air calling, "Who wants milk?"
All this changed on day 3 when Anna took charge and transformed the choas to calm and everything ran like clockwork.
The only other slight criticism is the pool. Whilst the pool area is lovely, the pool is very dark and uninviting, perhaps putting in lighter coloured tiles would help.

All in all though, the Caleta Hotel is a very nice, friendly place and I would not hesitate in returning there.

Room Tip: Try to get a sea view but if you get a rock view, make sure you lock your balcony door because the m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

Dinner in the restaurant was nice. Rest of the hotel is 30 years out of date like most of Gibraltar. Room was fine and staff were friendly if a bit like Manuel on faulty towers. It's better than the Elliot IMO but if you need to be near the middle of gib it's a short cab ride from the caleta to everywhere.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

The Caleta is probably the nicest hotel in Gibraltar for its appearance, location and restaurants. My wife and I stayed 2 nights there and it is located on the quieter east side of Gibraltar away from any Cruise Passengers and shopping. However it is located only a 10 minute taxi ride from all the bustle since Gibraltar is not that big. Our room was a very nice King size bed ocean balcony room. the room was very clean and had beautiful views of the Sea off the balcony. The room, as the entire hotel needs a good coat of paint and a little sprucing up would make it stand out even more! This seems to be true of most hotels in Gibraltar. Free Wi-Fi is included in the room which is nice, however you have to pay almost 10 Pounds for breakfast. The breakfast was very nice though with a good selection of meat, cheeses, rolls, eggs, etc. to satisfy any taste. The pool area is nice and has direct access down many steps to the beach if you want to go lay on the beach. I have stayed at a few hotels in Gibraltar and I would have to say the Caleta is the nicest. Just be prepared for some chipped paint, a little mold in the bathroom and a little wear and tear, however it is still a nice, clean place to stay!

Room Tip: Get an ocean view balcony room.. very nice for listening to waves crashing against the rocks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gibraltar
0.9 mi away
Sunborn Gibraltar
Sunborn Gibraltar
#1 of 7 in Gibraltar
4.5 of 5 stars 481 reviews
0.6 mi away
O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel
0.6 mi away
Rock Hotel Gibraltar
Rock Hotel Gibraltar
#2 of 7 in Gibraltar
4.0 of 5 stars 1,251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Asur Hotel Campo de Gibraltar
Asur Hotel Campo de Gibraltar
#2 of 7 in La Linea de la Concepcion
3.5 of 5 stars 740 reviews
2.2 mi away
AC Hotel La Linea by Marriott
AC Hotel La Linea by Marriott
#1 of 7 in La Linea de la Concepcion
4.0 of 5 stars 419 reviews
6.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Campo de Gibraltar - Barrios
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caleta Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caleta Hotel

Address: Sir Herbert Miles Road, PO Box 73, Gibraltar
Phone Number:
Location: Gibraltar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Shuttle Bus service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Gibraltar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Caleta Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 176
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Caleta Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caleta Hotel Gibraltar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caleta Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.