We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice surprise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Caleta Hotel

Save Saved
You added Caleta Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Caleta Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sir Herbert Miles Road, PO Box 73, Gibraltar   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 7 hotels in Gibraltar
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A nice surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

Having been to Gibraltar before, we were expecting the hotel to be tired and dated, but actually it was lovely. The location is spectacular, and the little beach next door to the hotel is nice and relaxing compared to the other side of Gibraltar. There are a couple of bars and restaurants on the beach so there is somewhere to eat and drink other than the hotel, if you don't feel like walking/driving back into the town centre.
We booked rooms in the hotel at the last minute as we were holidaying in Spain but needed to spend the night in Gibraltar, so we just took what was available. The two apartments we booked had clearly been recently renovated and were spacious and comfortable; the two rooms we booked were not quite as modern but they were pleasant, clean and very large. All our rooms had sea views, which we were all impressed with!
We all found the staff to be really efficient and helpful. In particular, the front of house staff member Lucia was fantastic. Nothing was too much trouble and she gave us lots of useful advice about the best way to get around Gibraltar. If we go back to Gibraltar, this will be our hotel of choice.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

446 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    121
    184
    82
    40
    19
See reviews for
77
203
14
55
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florence, Italy
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Although the hotel facilities were very nice, everything runs VERY slowly. Our air conditioning was broken and it took a good half a day for someone to fix it. Also the "spa" was manned by only one or two people and thus booked for days. Finally, if you want a cab you're better off walking, or catching the bus. it is only about a thirty minutes walk into the town center and there is a bus stop right outside the hotel that runs on the quarter hour during weekdays.

Room Tip: Take the bus, it's better than any other form of transportation
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merseyside
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Just returned from getting married at the Caleta in Gib and it was fantastic from start to finish. We were upgraded to the bridal suite for the full 5 days of our stay (and not just the 2 days inc in the package) and our wedding day was PERFECT!. We could not have asked for better. Everything went smoothly and all the staff where fabulous. Must say a big thanks to Marjo for organising everything for us prior to arriving in Gib and also the restaurant, bar and reception staff. The food on the day itself was 5 star. We love the hotel, and I know some areas could do with updating (as other people have mentioned), but it just adds to the charm in our opinion. The views are outstanding, the terraces are fantastic and right next to the hotel the cute little beach and shops are just lovely. They are in the process of building a beach bar and other shops which will only make it better. We will definately be back in the future, and the Caleta will be our first choice.

Room Tip: Sea View Room is a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Super location compared with any down town hotels. Nice beach, several beachside eateries. Room had excellent beds, lousy fridge (should have complained), tired but adequate bathroom but plenty of hot water. Friendly staff, buffet breakfast excellent, if expensive (£10 pp). Italian hotel restaurant was super. Sea view rooms must be the best, sunrise over the sea. We had a balcony..... About 5' square, OK if you want to smoke. Plenty of exterior areas, bar, lounge, pool, ultimately leading down to the beach. We were in Gib for 5 days and found the bus service a must, frequent, on time and a senior hoppa for £1.20 gave you the run of the network right down to Europa Point..

Room Tip: Sea view recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Usually stay elsewhere when visiting the Rock but on this occasion the Caleta was the only option. Located on the eastern side of Gibraltar it is away from Main Street etc but easily accessible via taxi or indeed bus which stops right outside the hotel with a £1.50 fare.

Hotel itself from the outside could do with a lick of paint but once inside the staff are friendly, the room was comfortable (although sleep on the first night was difficult due to very rough waves crashing into the rocks below my Sea View balcony), free wifi, relaxing bar area and a good selection of food at breakfast. Didnt use the gym but much better to get out for a run around the Rock.

If you want a beach then there is one just down the road along with a small selection of bars and restaurants.

Having now stayed once I would stay again. No sign of any apes but plenty of seagulls circling the main door so if you are waiting for a bus or taxi make sure you take cover under the canopy to avoid an unwelcome present.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

My sister and I stayed for 4 nights. We ate at the restaurants on the nearby beach because they were better value and more relaxed. The rooms are refurbished but the outside of hotel needs painting. There are busses which stop close the hotel and travel into the town are and Market place. Will stay again at the Caleta.

Room Tip: We stayed on the Rock side and it was quite nice. The monkeys are quite entertaining and come on to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Been going to this Hotel since 1970 & the location is second to none.
Two of our daughters and family & friends stayed here when they were married in Gibraltar.
My wife & I celebrated our Golden Wedding with over 100 guests, some of whom travelled from various parts of the world and most of the people stayed at the Hotel and what a fantastic reception they put on. In addition one of our grand-daughters celebrated her 21st Birthday in Gibraltar and again family & friends stayed at the Caleta. Finally family celebrations were complete when another of our grand-daughters was Christened at the Cathedral on Main Street & again we all stayed at the Caleta.
On several occasions I have also taken parties of Rotarians from Preston, Lancashire and each time we have stayed at the Caleta.
Finally, my wife & I have just returned from yet another visit to the Caleta 1 week spent with Rotary friends and the other week on our own. Michael Barton.JP.

Room Tip: A De-Luxe Sea View on either 2nd 3rd or 4th floor with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Caleta Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caleta Hotel

Address: Sir Herbert Miles Road, PO Box 73, Gibraltar
Location: Gibraltar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 hotels in Gibraltar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Caleta Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Caleta Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caleta Hotel Gibraltar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caleta Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.