We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good quality hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel to your Saves list
O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Governors Parade, Gibraltar   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Gibraltar
Certificate of Excellence
Wickford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
141 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Good quality hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014 via mobile

Excellent location for this hotel. Standard of accommodation also befits its rating. Level of service sometimes lets it down, although maybe this is as a result of the more relaxed attitude taken to life in Gibraltar.

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank WickfordTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary K, General Manager at O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Wickford Traveller,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

Thank you for your comments which we really appreciate.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

With kind regards, Mary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,362 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
181 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

I was recommended this hotel by a friend who stays in Gibraltar regularly, good choice! My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our week here. I tried to e-mail a request for a sea facing room, that didn't appear to have worked, but luckily on asking at reception for a high up sea facing room we got 603, pretty fine it was too. the view is very special and there's lots to see happening out on the water, lots of ships moored, and coming and going. It is a little noisy but real noise like ships horns when it is foggy, not party noise. I liked the hotel, clean and quite smart, the rooms are great, big enough for a week and well serviced on a daily basis. Breakfast is great, huge choice of whatever you could want, and when the weather is nice you can sit by the pool, very lovely. We didn't eat any other meals in the hotel or use the main bar. The pool side bar is good, although it wasn't open every day, prices are, I thought, very reasonable, pool towels are available either at the pool bar or at reception. All of the staff that we came across were friendly and efficient and all were happy to pass the time of day, the pool bar staff were great, happy to bring drinks to the table. The hotel is very well situated, a ten minute stroll to Casemates Square and a little bit further to the cable car, it's just minutes from a big selection of bars and cafes. I would thoroughly recommend this hotel to anybody travelling to Gibraltar for a holiday.

Room Tip: Sea facing rooms are great, as mentioned in other reviews, they do get hot, but well worth it, the a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary K, General Manager at O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Ian B,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review.
I was delighted to read that you had a great stay with us.
thank you for all your lovely comments and we look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

With kind regards, Mary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Turned up for lunch in the bar burgers and sandwich for group of four Waiter took order one of the group ordered a burger specifically without mayo.It took them an age to get the food to the table and all the burgers had mayo which was incorrect .Waiter took the offending burger away and said it would be sorted .It never was and we complained. The staff appeared to give not a blind fig and seemingly could not communicate with each other .Best bet is go somewhere else for bar snacks .

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary K, General Manager at O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Tim H,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

I do apologise for the less than satisfactory service you received when you arrived for lunch on our Veranda Terrace. I can assure you that is not our normal standard of service. We are training new bar staff at the moment and I will certainly be going through your review with my Food and Beverage Manager.
Tim, I would like to offer you an upgrade to a suite on your return visit to Gibraltar.
I look forward to hearing from you soon.

With kind regards, Mary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

We have just returned from a long weekend in Gibraltar.(11-14 July). It was our 5th visit and we have stayed at the Calleta and mostly with friends who live in Gibraltar there. This time we decided to stay at the Eliott as we wanted to relax and re-charge our batteries.
We requested a high floor room with views over the Straights. On arrival we were allocated 701...perfect.
The room was very clean and the bed comfortable...clean towels everyday and a well stocked tea/coffee tray.We ordered room service and this arrived promptly
.
Breakfast was very good and plenty of staff to clear the tables and replenish the food.

We requested a late check out on Monday as our flight was an evening flight, the young lady on reception didn't think this was possible
as the hotel was at full capacity, but said that they could store our bags and that they would provide us with towels and a hairdryer so that we could shower in the gym.
A little while later I was talking to the reception manager who was up helping with breakfast and mentioned this to him. Within half an hour we were told that we had a late check out...perfect !!! (and at no extra cost).

My husband had stayed at the Eliott several years previously , when we checked into our room there were chocolates for us and a small card welcoming us back !
all staff were very polite and helpful.

The pool area is very pleasant with tables and chairs with canopies...on a higher level there is a sunbathing terrace which has spectacular views.
My only gripe being that there aren't enough sunbeds (12 in all) and that there is room for at least half a dozen more. Yes, some people were up there early to put towels out to reserve their beds, but its just as nice to sit next to the pool. The bar man at the pool bar was very good and there were towels there too.

The Eliott is very well situated and is pretty close to everything...a ten minute stroll down to Casemates Square where there are restaurants and bars.

We didn't eat dinner at the hotel, but finished off every evening sitting outside with a nice coffee and glass of wine. On Saturday night there was a singer who was very good too.

We plan to return to Gibraltar as soon as possible and WILL be booking to stay at The Eliott...we think of Gibraltar as almost like being home, so therefore the Eliott is our 2nd home.

Thankyou to ALL staff who have made our recent stay perfect

Room Tip: Ask for a room above the 5th floor as you will have views. If you want a view over the Straights the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jkmcdonald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary K, General Manager at O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Jkmcdonald,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.
It was a pleasure having you stay with us.
I am delighted you had a great stay and that you enjoyed the chocolates.
We look forward to your 6th visit to us and we hope it will be soon.

With kind regards, Mary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Pleasant hotel, good service. Rooms were ok, aircon not cool enough even on coldest setting. Very central. If you use the gym could do with some more kit, mats, more varied weights, on the whole enjoyed the stayed and would use the hotel again

Room Tip: Not very fast and needed to get code from reception, not made clear as only found that out after a f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Simon1807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary K, General Manager at O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Simon 1807,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

With kind regards, Mary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
170 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

This well-located hotel in the center of town was fine. Room quite spacious, clean, good shower & bed. Parking provided (very important) though a bit pricey at 12 Pounds ($21) a day. We enjoyed seeing Gibraltar - which seems to do everything possible to display it's British connection. The old town remains authentic. Driving and finding your way on the narrow streets and roads is a challenge, particularly if you go up on the rock where getting into the parking areas can be a bit hairy. Driving up the rock costs 22 pounds ($39) or 31 Euros, and except for the Caves and some pretty tame macaques, isn't all that interesting. But, I suppose worthwhile to have experienced. Do not acquire more currency than you need. The pound notes are Gibraltar pounds, not British pounds, and pretty much useless anyplace else, even in Britain.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BunkyVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary K, General Manager at O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Bunky VA,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and Gibraltar.
I hope you had a good trip back to Virginia, and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

With kind regards, Mary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Stayed one night and was very pleased. They had everything, hair dryer, Iron and board, tea and coffee tray, nice comfortable bed and great shower. All you can ask. Bit pricey and the only complaint was that people put towels on the sunbeds and there were not enough of them.
Right in the centre

Room Tip: I had a sea view but do not know if it was the best choice. Was a nice room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary K, General Manager at O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear Kay S,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

With kind regards, Mary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gibraltar
0.3 mi away
Sunborn Gibraltar
Sunborn Gibraltar
#1 of 7 in Gibraltar
4.5 of 5 stars 656 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rock Hotel Gibraltar
Rock Hotel Gibraltar
#2 of 7 in Gibraltar
4.0 of 5 stars 1,355 reviews
0.6 mi away
Caleta Hotel
Caleta Hotel
#4 of 7 in Gibraltar
4.0 of 5 stars 713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Asur Hotel Campo de Gibraltar
Asur Hotel Campo de Gibraltar
#2 of 6 in La Linea de la Concepcion
3.5 of 5 stars 829 reviews
1.9 mi away
AC Hotel La Linea by Marriott
AC Hotel La Linea by Marriott
#1 of 6 in La Linea de la Concepcion
4.0 of 5 stars 487 reviews
5.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Campo de Gibraltar - Barrios
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel

Address: 2 Governors Parade, Gibraltar
Phone Number:
Location: Gibraltar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Gibraltar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Warm welcome awaits you at the Gateway to two continents. The O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel is situated in the heart of Gibraltar's business district and tax free shopping areas. The views are magnificent and offer surprising contrasts that combine the famous Rock, Straits of Gibraltar, North Africa and Southern Spain. Soak up the Mediterranean sun at the Rooftop Pool. The Verandah bar with out door terrace is well know for it's jazz evenings on Thursday night's and live music on Saturday nights. Enjoy a meal in our 8th floor Rooftop Bistro Restaurant, while taking in the magnificent views across the Bay of Gibraltar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Otel, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
o Callaghan Eliott Hotel
Eliott Hotel Gibraltar
o Callaghan Eliott Gibraltar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing