We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel to your Saves list
O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Governors Parade, Gibraltar   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Gibraltar
Inverness, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good choice.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

excellent location - central but not noisy - easy walking from most things. Modern facility without being too plastic.thanks to other trip advisors for helping us choose. fronts on to nice quiet area with a view of the rock from our room.

Room Tip: can be noisy on upper floors I'm told if there is an evening function.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary K, General Manager at O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear Thomasprag,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.
I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

With kind regards, Mary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,080 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    321
    466
    211
    63
    19
See reviews for
155
481
71
196
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (375)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canillas de Albaida, Andalucia, Spain
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014 via mobile

Another fabulous night at the O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel. Staff on reception and the cleaning lady were very friendly and helpful. The room was large and clean with lots of information. The bed was huge and very comfortable. We had a delicious lunch in the bar where the staff too were very helpful and attentive.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary K, General Manager at O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear Carol R,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.
It was a pleasure to have you staying with us.

We look to welcoming you back again very soon.

With kind regards, Mary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

We've recently stayed at the O'Callaghan Hotel and really enjoyed it. We had a room on a high floor with a really nice view of the Rock. The restaurant was quite good (we had breakfast there and also dinner a couple of times) and the waiters really nice. The view from the top floor (where the restaurant and the pool are) is amazing: on one side there is the harbour and on the other the Rock. The hotel is very conveniently located about 100 meters from Main Street, where all the shops are. Lots of restaurants are also in same area. We would definitely stay at this hotel if we returned to Gibraltar.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a high floor for a nice view. One side faces the Rock, the other the sea, so, pick...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary K, General Manager at O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear Ecrini,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.
I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

With kind regards, Mary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Valerien
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

My wife and I stayed here one a one night visit to Gibraltar.
The staff were very good and helpful - always a good sign. We were surprised at the standard of the room and had a good view of the Rock.
My wife was woken up at 0430 due to the noise outside the hotel - we were on the fifth floor!
Breakfast was of a high standard although, in the high season, I feel that this could develop into a bit of a bun fight - we got to the restaurant fairly early and by the time we had finished other guests were waiting for the tables to be vacated.
Overall very pleased and would go back if in the area

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary K, General Manager at O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Dear GaryTG,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

with kind regards, Mary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loughborough, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights to celebrate my husbands 80th birthday. The hotel was lovely, the staff veery friendly and the room was superb. The facilities are very good and the views are stunning. The breakfast, which was included in our booking was good, both English and continental tastes well catered for. However, the food in the restaurant for dinner was certainly not inspiring and was overpriced for what you got. Overall, it was a very nice place for a short break and there are lots of restaurants in the area which are well worth visiting.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary K, General Manager at O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Dear Lynda D,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.
I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We will take a closer look at our restaurant food.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.


With kind regards, Mary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

Stayed for 2 nights, very comfortable room with great views of the rock and the cable car. Good location and handy for the many restaurants in the area. Friendly staff a good breakfast. Only downside was expensive wifi.

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary K, General Manager at O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Dear Ashley Shrewsbury,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.
I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

With kind regards, Mary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds UK
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

I last stayed in gib 30 years ago , the eliott was then the holiday inn and the border was closed , staff very helpful , room clean and spacious if a bit brown ! Not the comfiest bed and failed my towel test ... Closer to sandpaper than cotton . Great view from the chaotic breakfast restaurant but if you get a deal its the best of a bad bunch , may have to up their game when the sunburn opens

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary K, General Manager at O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Dear Massey550,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.
We are doing a big refurbishment this year and I think you will enjoy the end product.
We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

With kind regards, Mary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel

Address: 2 Governors Parade, Gibraltar
Location: Gibraltar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Gibraltar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Warm welcome awaits you at the Gateway to two continents. The O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel is situated in the heart of Gibraltar's business district and tax free shopping areas. The views are magnificent and offer surprising contrasts that combine the famous Rock, Straits of Gibraltar, North Africa and Southern Spain. Soak up the Mediterranean sun at the Rooftop Pool. The Verandah bar with out door terrace is well know for it's jazz evenings on Thursday night's and live music on Saturday nights. Enjoy a meal in our 8th floor Rooftop Bistro Restaurant, while taking in the magnificent views across the Bay of Gibraltar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
o Callaghan Eliott Hotel
Eliott Hotel Gibraltar
o Callaghan Eliott Gibraltar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.