We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in Gibraltar” 4 of 5 stars
Review of O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel

Save Saved
You added O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Governors Parade, Gibraltar   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 7 hotels in Gibraltar
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great place to stay in Gibraltar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

First time in Gibraltar and booked this hotel deal through secret escapes -- ideal location and very comfortable rooms. Restaurant on roof with great views over the rooftops and out to sea, we had a very good and relaxing meal one evening here after spending all day walking the Rock. Room very comfortable and all facilities worked . Staff very helpful with any queries . The main street shops and square are a short stroll away - likewise the Marina where the restaurants are very good but more expensive. I can recommend The Elliot to anyone visiting Gib and we look forward to returning .

Room Tip: 4th floor upwards looking over rooftops out to sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary K, General Manager at O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Dear Alistair S,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.
I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We look forward to welcoming you back for a second visit very soon.

With kind regards, Mary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

834 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    223
    368
    172
    55
    16
See reviews for
103
366
60
156
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (273)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai, India
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

This hotel is well located just under the shadow of the Great rock of Gibraltar. It has a roof top restaurant with a swimming pool with one end looking at the tall standing rock and the other end overlooking the Mediterrenean sea. The spread of breakfast is decent.
The rooms are comfortable and cosy. The bathrooms dont have a bath tub but a spacious shower cubicle. The bar is open until 1.30 in the night.. All in all a very comfortable stay. The staff is very courteous and helpful too.

Room Tip: Most rooms have attached small balcony overlooking the Mediterrenean sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary K, General Manager at O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Dear Aarthikkanal,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.
I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

With kind regards, Mary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wormerveer, The Netherlands
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

Not only was this the best hotel we'd stayed in in along time, but this was the best holiday we've had in years! We really loved Gibraltar that we thought we'd love to move there in the future. Pity we couldn't live in this hotel!
Perfectly situated, this hotel had all the important amenities with reasonably sized relaxing roof top pool beside the restaurant and great views over looking the sea in one direction and the rock in the other.
Outside the hotel you're in the centre of town with various food outlets and shops galore and further afield, they even have a Morrisons! Fantastic! Can't wait to go again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary K, General Manager at O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Dear Fortuner,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.
I was delighted to read that you had a great stay with us.
We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

With kind regards, Mary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gandia, Spain
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

We have now stayed in this excellent hotel four or five times. On each occasion we have enjoyed it very much. The staff are friendly and welcoming. The rooms are comfortable, the food is excellent whether in the Verandah Bar or the rooftop Bistro restaurant (which is outstanding). The location is ideal being just a few yards from Main Street and overall is hard to fault. However, there is one big problem which I highlighted in my last review a year or so ago, it is very noisy. Having people running along corridors, shouting and banging doors at 3, 4 and 5 o'clock in the morning is simply not acceptable. For the nights I have been here both on our previous trips and this one a good night's sleep has been almost impossible. This is not condusive to a good holiday and I suspect many people, particularly the older ones, will simply not return. I know it is hard to control unruly guests but this is a problem which needs to be examined urgently. This is a great pity as this hotel has a lot to offer. The only other tiny problem is that the cords on the supplied hairdriers are really not long enough to use confortably. If these two problems were overcome I could not think of a better hotel in which to spend time while in Gibraltar. I

Room Tip: A sea view is always prerable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary K, General Manager at O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Dear Bill T,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.
Thank you for your feedback which we really appreciate and I have had discussions with my team here re your comments and our Night Manager is now aware of noisy guests on the floors.
We are doing a refurbishment this year and I think this will cover some of your other comments.
Bill, we look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

With kind regards, Mary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

Great location, short walk to shops, bars and restaurants and only 10 minutes to the Marina.
The hotel is really quite ugly from the outside and could do with a makeover internally. Having said that, the room was spacious and clean with a nice bathroom. A tiny balcony which was more or less pointless.

However, the walls are paper thin and I hardly slept on the first night due to my noisy neighbour, not that he was doing anything out of the ordinary, they just really need some good sound proofing.

The staff were helpful, polite and efficient.

They have a jazz night on a Thursday night and it was fantastic....highly recommended!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary K, General Manager at O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Dear Balimoon,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.
I was delighted to read that you enjoyed our Jazz evening.
We will be doing a refurbishment this year and I hope we have the opportunity of welcoming you back to enjoy it.

With kind regards, Mary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

Hotel is very conveniently located and the rooms are large and fairly comfortable. However, things such as breakfast need a bit more organising, we stayed over Gibraltar Day and breakfast was chaos - no tables available, no glasses for juice, no coffee, etc.
We had a small issue with the Gibraltar Day BBQ, having been told the wrong time, we did, after some discussions get our money back a month later.
The bar is pleasant and prices are reasonable.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary K, General Manager at O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Dear FullFonz,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.
Gibraltar Day is a really busy day here, and I do apologise for the less than satisfactory service you received while you were here with us. and I hope we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back again to experience our normal high standard of service.

With kind regards, Mary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

Myself and colleagues stay here regularly on business. For Gibraltar the standard is very good. Breakfast has not changed in six years, I never eat the sausages and the bacon needs an extra minute. The pool is tiny and the bedding has seen better days. The Veranda Bar is quite good but steak entrecote was exceptionally tough....twice. All in all Eliots is an above average hotel in need of a top down dobhy.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary K, General Manager at O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Dear H R,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.
Thank you for your feedback, which we really appreciate.
We will be doing a refurbishment this year, we are also in conversation with our meat supplier.
We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

With kind regards, Mary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel

Address: 2 Governors Parade, Gibraltar
Location: Gibraltar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 hotels in Gibraltar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Warm welcome awaits you at the Gateway to two continents. The O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel is situated in the heart of Gibraltar's business district and tax free shopping areas. The views are magnificent and offer surprising contrasts that combine the famous Rock, Straits of Gibraltar, North Africa and Southern Spain. Soak up the Mediterranean sun at the Rooftop Pool. The Verandah bar with out door terrace is well know for it's jazz evenings on Thursday night's and live music on Saturday nights. Enjoy a meal in our 8th floor Rooftop Bistro Restaurant, while taking in the magnificent views across the Bay of Gibraltar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
o Callaghan Eliott Hotel
Eliott Hotel Gibraltar
o Callaghan Eliott Gibraltar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.