We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired” 3 of 5 stars
Review of O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel to your Saves list
O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Governors Parade, Gibraltar   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Gibraltar
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Tired”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

Myself and colleagues stay here regularly on business. For Gibraltar the standard is very good. Breakfast has not changed in six years, I never eat the sausages and the bacon needs an extra minute. The pool is tiny and the bedding has seen better days. The Veranda Bar is quite good but steak entrecote was exceptionally tough....twice. All in all Eliots is an above average hotel in need of a top down dobhy.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary K, General Manager at O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Dear H R,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.
Thank you for your feedback, which we really appreciate.
We will be doing a refurbishment this year, we are also in conversation with our meat supplier.
We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

With kind regards, Mary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

950 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    270
    415
    192
    56
    17
See reviews for
129
426
66
172
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (323)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

Just spent a long weekend here, booked through my gibralter, first time here, read many reviews, chose it because it was in town. Firstly all I can say to the many reviewers who say the beds are comfortable, try a memory foam mattress you will be amazed what a proper mattress feels like!.
The beds are Rock hard, big yes but rock hard, allmost industrial! If they were installed when the hotel was built, 2004, you have had your moneys worth now change them please! The hotel is starting to look shabby, it may have been 4 star when built but not now. The restuarant is far to small for 800 plus rooms. We had to queue every morning for breakfast even altering our times from 0745 to 09.30. food was ok. The evening restraunt meal was ok but not worth the £49 bill. The TV broke down 3 times, the lifts break down regularly, once on Sunday lucky not to get stuck in them! The room heater was noisy and inadequate, barely took the chill of the room. All in all we were disapointed it was barely adequate, wouldnt go back, no way. The noise from lifts and drunken guests alone is offputting.

Room Tip: Got to another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary K, General Manager at O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Dear Andrew r,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.
I was disappointed to read that you did not enjoy your stay with us.
Thank you for your feedback, which we really appreciate.
I would like to offer you an upgrade to one of our suites on your next visit to Gibraltar.
Andrew, I do hope you will take us up on this offer, and we look forward to welcoming you back.

With kind regards, Mary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

We were here for a family wedding. Our room was on the 4th floor and looking towards the harbour. The room was large, bed very comfortable, shower room was excellent.Breakfast was included in our package of flight, room, transfer but nearby places did breakfast for around £7.00.
The view from the resturant/breakfast room is amazing, with views of Spain, Africa, Gibralter town and harbour.
Staff were very helpful and friendly - the Veranda Bar serves good snacks at reasonable prices.
Spacious hotel with roof pool and gym.
We would come back - the lack of free wifi being the only shortfall.

Room Tip: Tell reception what is important to you and they will try to make it right, unfortunately high spiri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary K, General Manager at O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Dear Twoshedhead,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.
I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.
I will include WI-FI in your rate on your next visit to us.
We look forward to seeing you soon.

With kind regards, Mary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traiskirchen, Niederosterreich, Austria
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

I have been coming to Gibraltar for some time now and this was my second time at Eliot. There is really nothing to complain about, but there is nothing to be exctatic about eihter. Rooms are OK, food is average (maybe British people will ike it), menu actually somewhat poor. I had some examples of good and some of average service from employees. WiFi was a nuisance, had to restart my device to get reconnected many times. On top of that normal guests need to pay (I was lucky not to). I don't know if there are better hotels on Gib - I stayed once on the Spanish side and it wasn't that much better. All in all, a safe bet, but don't expect anything out of the ordinary - maybe except the view from the breakfast room / restaurant on the 8th floor. Oh, yeah - it is relatively close to main street, but again, everything there is close enough... :)

Room Tip: No idea. Loud heater in my room too...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary K, General Manager at O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Dear Mr Rommie,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.
Thank you for your feedback which we really appreciate.
We will take a closer look at everything in your review.
We do hope we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

With kind regards, Mary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancashire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

this is my third visit to this hotel. in 3 years we book when offers are on nice place. nice helpful staff good breakfasts and clean rooms and handy for shops and local bars. sure we will be back very soon.

Room Tip: we had 3 room's here to date all been good we had so far had a balcony standing room only think...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary K, General Manager at O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Dear Bigtrucker93,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.
I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

With kind regards, Mary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaga, Spain
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

I stayed at this hotel because I was attending a wedding there, but even on a pre-paid rate it seemed expensive, and breakfast wasn't included, No reduction for single occupancy either. The heating (room 305) was very noisy, the light switch for the bathroom quite a distance from said bathroom, bathroom extractor fan very noisy! And the bathroom itself uncomfortable - the basin too high and with a wide surround so unless you are tall, you soak your middle trying to wash your face. No make-up mirror, so had to kneel on the toilet to do my make-up. Friends staying in a double room had two lights which didn't work.
On the positive side, the staff were excellent, very friendly and efficient, the bed comfortable, and my room had a bath.

Room Tip: Ask for a bath if you want one
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary K, General Manager at O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Dear LizMalaga,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.
Thank you for all your feedback which we really appreciate.
We will take a closer look at everything you have mentioned.
We hope we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

With kind regards, Mary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014 via mobile

Very clean hotel with fantastic views from restaurant. Good small gym. Hotel room had all facilities plus a kettle for tea and coffee with a tea pot ! Hotel based in a central spot close to shops, restaurants and bar. A twenty minute walk to airport or border. Well worth money .



Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary K, General Manager at O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Dear Beverly H,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.
I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

With kind regards, Mary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel

Address: 2 Governors Parade, Gibraltar
Location: Gibraltar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Gibraltar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Warm welcome awaits you at the Gateway to two continents. The O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel is situated in the heart of Gibraltar's business district and tax free shopping areas. The views are magnificent and offer surprising contrasts that combine the famous Rock, Straits of Gibraltar, North Africa and Southern Spain. Soak up the Mediterranean sun at the Rooftop Pool. The Verandah bar with out door terrace is well know for it's jazz evenings on Thursday night's and live music on Saturday nights. Enjoy a meal in our 8th floor Rooftop Bistro Restaurant, while taking in the magnificent views across the Bay of Gibraltar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Otel, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Venere, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
o Callaghan Eliott Hotel
Eliott Hotel Gibraltar
o Callaghan Eliott Gibraltar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.