We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel to your Saves list
O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Governors Parade, Gibraltar   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Gibraltar
Lisbon, Portugal
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Excellent location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

O'Callaghan is perfectly located in the city center of Gibraltar close to main street. It is easy to find by car if you look for Eliott hotel instead of O'Callaghan and you can use its car parking facility although it is payed.

The rooms (we stayed at a junior suite) are quite large and confortable and breakfast is also very nice (for British travellers it includes eggs, mushrooms, bacon, sausages, beans, ...). You can also use the swiming pool on the top floor, as well as a gym.

Internet wi-fi avalable but not free (unusual for a 4 star hotel)

I recommend this hotel for travellers that are visiting Gibraltar and enjoy being in the city center.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary K, General Manager at O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear PT-Tourist,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.
I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

With kind regards, Mary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,080 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    321
    466
    211
    63
    19
See reviews for
155
481
71
196
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (375)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

We stayed at the Elliott for one night in July. We were touring the south of Spain and decided to stop in Gibraltar on a whim. Getting through customs was quite an ordeal, crossing over an airport runway to get to the town was wild. Gibraltar is really a quaint English city and we wanted to stay right in it. We'd found the Elliott on Tripadvisor and made a reservation the night before we arrived. Our GPS found the location but the street was closed for repairs and our GPS couldn't find an alternative route. We called the front desk and the nicest fellow directed us up and around and over and through and somehow we navigated the very narrow streets to the Elliott. We weren't disappointed.

The front lobby was teeming with activity as several tour groups were gathered there. With all the bustle, we expected to be waiting for awhile but were checked in rather quickly. Our room was on the top floor with a breathtaking view of the sea on one side and the gargantuan Rock of Gibraltar on the other. The room itself was spacious, American-style really. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom was huge. We had one issue: no air conditioning. As the night wore on we realized it would not work and called maintenance. Management tracked us down at the hotel restaurant (outstanding, by the way) and told us it was too late to fix but we could use the room next door, connected by the outside balcony, to sleep and use the other room to keep our luggage. Talk about accommodating!

The hotel itself is within walking distance of everything we wanted to see. We were able to park our car out front of the hotel and walk to the nearby pedestrian street which is full of shops, restaurants, and pubs. The Rock of Gibraltar is a close walk and is well worth the trip up the funicular. We also had time to stop by the Gibraltar Museum, which was recommended in Rick Steves' guidebook. Very impressive for such a small place. The history of Gibraltar is fascinating.

A word about the hotel restaurant, located on the top floor with a bird's eye view of the city. The food was outstanding (we even had dessert). The wine list offered a great variety, the view of the sunset was unsurpassed. Most of all, the one-man staff was efficient, professional, and very friendly. There were very few folks dining there. I don't get it. If you stay at the Elliott, you have to try the roof-top restaurant at least once.

I know a lot of folks recommend staying outside of Gibraltar and day-tripping in. If you'd rather be in the center of the action, you can't go wrong with the Elliott

Room Tip: Splurge and stay on the top floor. The view is magnificent and while you are close to the pool and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary K, General Manager at O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Marie 63_12,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.
I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and your meal in our rooftop restaurant.
We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

With kind regards, Mary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

My partner and I had stayed in gibraltar before. This time we decided to stay at eliot hotel.
Good points- central location
Rooms a good size
Staff in restaurant friendly
Not so good points-
Breakfast very hectic and busy altough breakfast was lovely, staff seemed to be rushing around but not getting very far

The reason for our visit was to find a hotel for 24 wedding guests for our wedding next year. We found the reservation manager not very helful at all so needless to say we have booked a different hotel who's manager found the time to talk us through rooms and showed us around hotel and gave us a very healthy discount. It's a shame we left the hotel a bit disappointed with helpfulness towards our wedding. Would we return no but only down to unhelpful member. Hotel itself is lovely

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary K, General Manager at O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Maxlofty,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.
Please accept my sincere apologies for the less than satisfactory service you received from our Reservations Manager, whom I have spoken with.
Thank you also for responding to my private message to you.
We are looking forward to seeing you in 2014.

With kind regards, Mary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

We spent a week at this hotel in mid August 2013. The week started badly - the first room had a damp, musty smell about it; we suspected the bathroom. The air conditioning in the second room didn't work. The third room overlooked the front of the hotel. We had been warned that if you had a room at the front, you could hear the noise from the bar below at night, and that this would disturb your sleep. However, our third room, which was at the front of the building, was quiet, had less of a musty smell, and afforded a great view of the Rock.

Previous travellers have raved over the hotel breakfast. We found the breakfast to be just average, and possibly below 4-star standard. The hotel was also slightly dated and, in places, shabby, with effort required to spruce it up. However, the beds were comfortable, the air-con worked tirelessly (albeit noisily on occasion) and the staff were always very pleasant and accommodating, whatever the request. Particularly the lovely Laura in reception and Miguel in the terrace bar.

Although our room was cleaned daily, the carpets weren't always hovered, but the essentials were carried out. The hotel's public areas were better kept, and tidy, although some attention to detail wouldn't go amiss, for instance the arms of the sofas in the foyer were a bit grimy and the veneer was lifting off one of the display tables!

The location of the hotel was also a plus point, with easy access to Main Street and the essential shopping and restaurant areas. The Veranda Bar was well staffed, and served light meals and snacks at reasonable prices. The main restaurant on the top floor, however, was expensive for quite average meals.

In all, we rate this hotel more 3-star than 4-star. The rooftop swimming pool was hardly used, and the gym was frequently empty, but our stay was pleasant and restful, without being spectacular.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary K, General Manager at O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Les G,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.
Thank you for your comments which we always appreciate.
I am delighted to read that Laura and Miguel helped make your stay a pleasant one.
We look forward to seeing you soon again.

With kind regards, Mary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferragudo, Portugal
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

the hotel was in a nice quiet location,the staff were very friendly and helpful. the room was a good size,,tea and coffee nice touch. no hairdryer . lots of ironing facility!?! the carpets were a bit stained and the walls dirty!not so good for 4*bit expensive for all that..very close to centre.internet connection in the room was very slow and keyboard outdated.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary K, General Manager at O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Bongard 562,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.
Thank you for your comments which we appreciate.
We do have a maintenance programme in place at the moment for the painting of our bedrooms.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

With kind regards, Mary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alcester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights in August. Lovely room - very comfortable bed. Great Location in the middle of town - close to all the sights, bars, restaurants and shops. Good breakfast with lots of choice. We will definitely be back to stay on another visit to Gibraltar.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary K, General Manager at O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Anne Marie D,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.
We look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us very soon.

With kind regards, Mary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

Cannot not begin to tell you how much we enjoyed our stay here. Right in the middle of the town. Ten minute walk to the marina. Twenty to thirty minute walk to the airport. Our room was huge - the Trafalgar Suite. It is a tad old fashioned but we had 3 small balconies, two showers/toilets and 1 bathroom/toilet. The sitting room had 3 sofas and a dining table to seat 8. Air con worked perfectly and as it was a bit noisy we switched off the bedroom air con and left on the two in the sitting room so it was cool and quiet. A fridge was provided which was great and TV channels were fine with a choice of pay per view films etc. Nespresso coffee machine was provided which I loved. The view from our room was perfect - looking out over the water. The staff were very obliging. Our room was perfectly clean. Our only small prob was that at 7.30 am we could hear noise from breakfast room above us. But it was not a major worry. Swimming pool is very clean and we loved it during the day when it got very warm. I would not hesitate to recommend the hotel to anyone and we will certainly return again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary K, General Manager at O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Aine 1234_567,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.
I am delighted to read that you enjoyed the Trafalgar Suite, while you were staying with us.
We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

With kind regards, Mary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel

Address: 2 Governors Parade, Gibraltar
Location: Gibraltar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Gibraltar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Warm welcome awaits you at the Gateway to two continents. The O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel is situated in the heart of Gibraltar's business district and tax free shopping areas. The views are magnificent and offer surprising contrasts that combine the famous Rock, Straits of Gibraltar, North Africa and Southern Spain. Soak up the Mediterranean sun at the Rooftop Pool. The Verandah bar with out door terrace is well know for it's jazz evenings on Thursday night's and live music on Saturday nights. Enjoy a meal in our 8th floor Rooftop Bistro Restaurant, while taking in the magnificent views across the Bay of Gibraltar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
o Callaghan Eliott Hotel
Eliott Hotel Gibraltar
o Callaghan Eliott Gibraltar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.