We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel In Gibraltar” 5 of 5 stars
Review of O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel

Save Saved
You added O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Governors Parade, Gibraltar   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 7 hotels in Gibraltar
Gandia, Spain
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Best Hotel In Gibraltar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Excellent hotel in the heart of Gibraltar just a short walk from Main Street. We found this to be a very welcoming hotel and check in was quick and simple. The room was perhaps a little dated compared to more modern hotels but of a satisfactory standard. No mini bar was found but TV was supplied as was a great view of the harbour from the large double opening windows with a tiny balcony. We ate in the bar where we found an excellent choice of well cooked meals at a reasonable price. The hotel was clean, airy and spacious with a friendly atmousphere throughout. The breakfasts were supurb! An excellent choice of both hot (and I mean hot!) and cold selections and with good waiter service. Only minor problems were encountered such as no minibar but also wifi was charged for. This I feel should be provided as standard in all hotels. However, we would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Choose a harbour view room if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary K, General Manager at O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Dear Bill T,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your lovely comments.
We appreciate all feedback from our customers.
Bill, we look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

With kind regards, Mary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

842 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    229
    372
    172
    53
    16
See reviews for
108
373
60
159
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wigan, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

I visit gibraltar annually in feb on business, staying at the Eliot. The location is probably the best in the city. The pool and sun deck views are outstanding. The verendah bar on Saturday night had very easy going entertainment aka Sinatra , jazz tv., great stuff. Rooms and service as usual top notch. Hacked off that you have to pay to have access to tv now... Think that's a bit cheeky. Twenty quids not on.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary K, General Manager at O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Ian William H,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review, and thank you for your lovely comments, which we always appreciate.
The charge your were concerned about on the TV's is the in house movies package.
We are at the moment upgrading to digital TV and when it is completed we will have 20 free TV stations to choose from.
We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

With kind regards, Mary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

We stayed at the O'Callaghan Elliot over Christmas. We paid a premium for a room with a sea view then discovered that other guests who booked much later got similar rooms for almost half the price. The room was excellent and well serviced. We had a communicating door with our friends which was very useful, BUT DO NOT EAT CHRISTMAS DINNER THERE. There Spanish cook (no way was he a chef) knew nothing about roasting and serving any meat let alone turkey, did not provide ANY gravy or enough veg and was clueless when it came to dessert. ALL the staff just didn't want to be there and couldn't wait to get rid of us so that they could go home. It was an expensive meal and we were compensated on complaining but we feel it is only fair to warn future guests. Stay there by all means, it is otherwise a good hotel, but do not eat t there. "Disappointed at Christmas"

Room Tip: sixth or seventh floor overlooking sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary K, General Manager at O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Dear Artemis66,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.
I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us over Christmas.
We in the O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel strive to ensure that all of our customers receive friendly, efficient service in comfortable surroundings. It is clear from reading your review during your meal this did not happen and for this I am sorry. I have spoken with my team re the issues raised in your review. Relevent procedures have been implemented to ensure that such incidents do not occur in the future.
I do hope that we will have an opportunity to welcome you back to the O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel as I am confident that you will notice a marked improvement.

With Kind regards, Mary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bexley
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

My husband and I stayed here in January for 4 nights as a short break for his birthday.

Firstly the good...the location is great - a very short walk to main street and the bars and restaurants - although a note for anybody going in January as we did, Gibraltar closes early - the bars by the hotel finishing food at 7pm weekdays and 4pm/5pm at the weekend but I'm sure in the summer the main street is open for much longer and I don't blame the traders for not working as long during the winter months.

The room was good and very comfortable and no matter what time we left in the morning the room was cleaned and restocked.

Now the not so good....the reception who "greeted" us was abrupt and I won't go into details about what he said to me but I felt he was actually rude. The reception area itself is in need of decoration and I've since seen the reviewer who mentioned the clocks - they had been taken down and all that remained were dirty marks on the wall behind the desk. So all in all my first impression of the hotel wasn't great and that does tend to cloud your judgement of the rest of the stay.

Breakfast was another poor area. The waiters were less than helpful and acted like they wanted to be anywhere but the restaurant. Officially breakfast was available until 10:30. We arrived most mornings around 9:15/9:30 and that seemed to be past the time when the buffet would be restocked - one morning about 10 people were fighting over the one sausage left!!

My husband says I can't write this as I didn't mention it at the time but our first trip to breakfast actually put me off eating at the hotel - a small thing perhaps - but there was green mould over the top slice of bread supplied for toast and when I tried the rest it was exceptionally dried and stale - so no toast for us.

So all in all a mixed experience. I don't know if we would return to Gibraltar as we covered all of the sights and places to see but if we did I'm not sure if I would return to this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary K, General Manager at O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear Lesley E,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.
Please accept my sincere apologies for the less than satisfactory service you received during your stay with us.
I have carried out a thorough investigation of the issues you raised in your review and they have been the subject of my meeting s with staff and management.
Our wall clocks were being fixed as they were losing time.
We here in the O’Callaghan Eliott Hotel strive to insure that all of our customers receive friendly, efficient service in comfortable surroundings.
I do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon to the O’Callaghan Eliott Hotel.

With kind regards, Mary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timbuktu, Tombouctou, Mali
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Fantastic hotel. Ideally situated and catered for our every need. Highly recommended. The staff were very helpful and helped us with places to go and see etc. Bar very clean and tidy and nice food. Will without a doubt be going back to this hotel in the future.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary K, General Manager at O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Kev C,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.
I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and you found our staff very helpful.
we look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

With kind regards, Mary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I don't usually write reviews as I like to give places an opportunity by emailing the manager directly which I did last week and almost a week later have not had the courtesy of a reply. The Eliott could be so much better but no one appears to really care. I stayed last week (I'm a regular visitor) on the first floor which was noisy, I could hear music from the bar late at night. The hotel had problems with its water pipes, which meant water buckets behind reception. My biggest gripe however as a regular business visitor to Gibraltar that this "business hotel" charges its customers for internet access (very archaic) and to add insult to injury its hugely expensive. My home high speed fibre optic broad band is cheaper for a month that the Eliott is for a few hours!! Come on O'Callaghan Hotels you have a great location for your hotel you just need to up your game.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary K, General Manager at O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Flyer 1960.

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.
Please accept my apologies as I have not received any emails re your concerns.
Yes we did have a water leak from a burst pipe as we were fitting a new one, and I do apologise for the disruption this may have caused during your stay with us.
Please email me directly when you are returning to Gibraltar and I can offer you an upgrade to a suite.
I look forward to hearing from you soon.
With kind regards, Mary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

A 2 night stay this week. Overall, a positive experience. The Room was very clean and quiet, even though my room was next to the lift shaft. I found the breakfast was very tasty and there was a decent choice of food on offer. The hotel is in a very good location.

The fixtures and fittings in the Hotel are quite dated and it didn't really live up to what i was expecting given the price i had paid.

A couple of things that really struck me as 'odd' about this hotel - I am hoping the hotel management see this review..

The first thing I noticed when i walked in off the street, and when forming my first impressions of the hotel, was that the 6 clocks on the wall behind reception - showing the time in 6 different cities around the world, were all out of sync with one another. It cannot be 25 past the hour in one city and 10 past the hour in another. All of them showed different readings past/to the hour at any given time. I highlighted this to the reception staff and was informed the batteries needed changing, presumably an easy job, but nothing had been done 2 days later when i left. The other thing that I really noticed was that the restaurant - located on the 8th floor with superb views over the town, harbour, and bay - only the glass in the windows was completely obscured by severe condensation so it want possible to see anything.

2 seemingly small things but they really detracted from the otherwise positive experience of staying here. I cant be the only one to have noticed!

Room Tip: Ask for a harbour view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary K, General Manager at O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Dan_NorthLondon,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.
I am glad to hear you enjoyed our breakfast. Yes our clocks were broken and needed more attention than a change of battery.
We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

With kind regards, Mary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel

Address: 2 Governors Parade, Gibraltar
Location: Gibraltar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 hotels in Gibraltar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Warm welcome awaits you at the Gateway to two continents. The O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel is situated in the heart of Gibraltar's business district and tax free shopping areas. The views are magnificent and offer surprising contrasts that combine the famous Rock, Straits of Gibraltar, North Africa and Southern Spain. Soak up the Mediterranean sun at the Rooftop Pool. The Verandah bar with out door terrace is well know for it's jazz evenings on Thursday night's and live music on Saturday nights. Enjoy a meal in our 8th floor Rooftop Bistro Restaurant, while taking in the magnificent views across the Bay of Gibraltar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
o Callaghan Eliott Hotel
Eliott Hotel Gibraltar
o Callaghan Eliott Gibraltar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.