We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good central location, friendly helpful staff, clean and modern” 4 of 5 stars
Review of O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel to your Saves list
O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Governors Parade, Gibraltar   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Gibraltar
Southern England
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
225 helpful votes 225 helpful votes
“Good central location, friendly helpful staff, clean and modern”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

We had a good sized twin room on the third floor at the rear - our friends had a front room with a better view (of the rock). The room was clean, comfortable beds, excellent daily chambermaid service, tea/coffee facilities, table and chairs area, small balcony, plenty of storage, safe, hairdryer (i recommend you take your own though), trouser press etc. The soundproofing was not brilliant with the room on one side because of the connecting door. A higher floor room at the front would be the best location probably. Very helpful reception staff. Nice bar area and outside terrace for afternoon tea or evening drinks. We didn't use the restaurant but I didn't hear good reports from others who had breakfast included. The pool area was nice - could do with more loungers and chairs though and perhaps a bit of greenary to make it more attractive. A good central location with shops bars and restaurants within easy walking distance. A clean comfortable modern hotel.

Room Tip: high floor at the front overlooking the rock
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mary_kinch, General Manager at O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel, responded to this review, June 1, 2012
Dear Terry W,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.
We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

With kind regards
Mary Kinch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,067 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    316
    459
    209
    63
    20
See reviews for
153
472
72
195
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (371)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

This is a very central hotel, much closer to the water than The Rock Hotel. It was fine but when £44 for breakfast and £10 for parking was added it was not great value.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

I stayed at the O’Callaghan Elliot in May 2012 for 2 nights. People were smoking in reception which was an annoying thing to arrive to. The desk staff were nice, if a bit quirky. The rooms were nice enough, comfortable bed. The bathroom amenities were seriously lacking as the shower gel and shampoo were so gloppy I could barely get them out of the container. The breakfast was served on the top floor and had a nice choice of options and a lovely view to take in first thing in the morning. Good, central location. Overall this felt a bit more like a nice 3-star hotel rather than a 4-star hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mary_kinch, General Manager at O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel, responded to this review, May 18, 2012
Dear WMPCC100,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.
We are in the process of changing our bathroom toiletries.
Gibraltar will have a no smoking policy from 01 October this year.
I am glad you enjoyed our breakfast on the 8th floor and yes the views are amazing from there.
We look forward to you returning very soon.

With kind regards,
Mary Kinch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

I stayed at The Elliott in April this year and they were very busy. It is your basic "City Centre" hotel mainly set up for visiting business clients. That said it is fine for people visiting on holiday to use as a base. No fancy thrills on show, just a decent bar doing food. Gibraltar suffers in regard to a lack of Hotels. The room was very set up and is very much what you would expect it designing a room for someone to spend a night or two (but no longer). All in all no problems, no complaints, but also no "WOW" factor

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mary_kinch, General Manager at O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel, responded to this review, May 18, 2012
Dear MGowing,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.
I am glad to read you enjoyed your stay with us.
We look forward to you returning to stay with us soon.

With kind regards,
Mary Kinch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

We recently stayed here for 3 nights in a King Size sea view on the 6th floor, and very much enjoyed our stay. We chose this hotel because of Trip Advisor reviews, and like others find it amazing Gibraltar has a severe lacking in hotel choice and quality, strange as its a great destination with plenty to do and see in such a tiny area.

Bad Points:
Room price. Very expensive.
Wifi - £5 for 2 hours!.....not acceptable these days when we need access for flights etc. Should be free or just a nominal daily charge. Find an internet cafe.
Breakfast - Per person £11 for continental, £20+ for full English. My advice, give it a miss as we did, and go find a nice cafe to get the same for a few £s.
King Size bed was 2 singles (not unusual), but made up with single sheets, quilts and separated. As much as we tried to join them, the cleaners were intent on separating them each day.

Good Points:
Location. Very central, but tucked away. Can be noisy, but our sliding balcony door pretty much made the room totally silent when closed.
Room view out to the bay.
Spacious room. Large shower.
Room and bathroom was very clean.

As you can tell, this hotel is designed to extract the maximum amount from your wallet, but providing you know and accept that, its a good choice. We also enjoyed the small roof top pool on a hot day.

We didn't eat evening meal here, but only because there is a large choice around Gibraltar and it's nice to get out and explore. One night when we returned very late from the Gala casino (well worth a visit), the hotel bar was packed and everyone seemed to be enjoying the live jazz band that was on that night (Thursday).

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mary_kinch, General Manager at O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel, responded to this review, May 18, 2012
Dear Chuffin,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.
I am glad to here you enjoyed our pool area, which is great on a hot day.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

With kind regards,
Mary Kinch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lemesos
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

Basic hotel, clean comfortable room, very expensive internet. good english breakfast and buffet included. good location close to the main street for shopping. for dinner i opted to walk to spain and head to algeciras by bus (2.15 euros) where i ate at La Posada de Millan.

Good thing about the hotel? location, also close to the gibraltar museum.

Internet WI-FI: A rip off, 18 pounds! for 24 hours internet. to make it worse it was even slow and skype was not able to run.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mary_kinch, General Manager at O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel, responded to this review, May 18, 2012
Dear Divermariner,

Thank you for taking the time to write your lovely review.
I am glad to here you enjoyed our buffet breakfast.

We hope to welcome you back again soon.

With kind regards,
Mary Kinch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Attard, Malta
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

Centrally located (within walking distance from everything except the airport and the border) which is its good point. Friendly dedicated staff, some of whom have become old friends ( I have been visiting for 15 years). Also serves a good beer and I remember many a mean Irish steak and rioja! Hotel has got meeting facilities.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mary_kinch, General Manager at O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel, responded to this review, May 18, 2012
Dear Hilary Paul A,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review, and thank you for your lovely comments.
We look forward to you returning very soon.

With kind regards,
Mary Kinch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel

Address: 2 Governors Parade, Gibraltar
Location: Gibraltar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Gibraltar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Warm welcome awaits you at the Gateway to two continents. The O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel is situated in the heart of Gibraltar's business district and tax free shopping areas. The views are magnificent and offer surprising contrasts that combine the famous Rock, Straits of Gibraltar, North Africa and Southern Spain. Soak up the Mediterranean sun at the Rooftop Pool. The Verandah bar with out door terrace is well know for it's jazz evenings on Thursday night's and live music on Saturday nights. Enjoy a meal in our 8th floor Rooftop Bistro Restaurant, while taking in the magnificent views across the Bay of Gibraltar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
o Callaghan Eliott Hotel
Eliott Hotel Gibraltar
o Callaghan Eliott Gibraltar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.