We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Been twice, just booked to go again!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Con Dios

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gibraltar
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Con Dios
Save Saved
You added Con Dios to your Saves list
Marina Bay, PO Box 80, Gibraltar 11300   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Gibraltar B&B and Inns
Rogiet, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Been twice, just booked to go again!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

I have stayed twice on Con Dios..it's a fantastic place to stay, excellently situated to explore Gibraltar and the surrounding area. Jill and John are fantastic hosts and really know the area well, so you will never be short of ideas for what to do.

I heartily recommend this experience to anyone wanting to visit the area and the experience of being gently rocked to sleep by the waves at night is one that everyone should have at least once in their lifetime. I'll be going back again soon!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    22
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
11
32
20
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

me and my son stayed there last week and we both thought it was a great experience.my son is 13 and he really thought it was the highlight of his holiday its the first time he has ever stayed on a boat and was a bit more interesting than staying in just another hotel.the owners are friendly and made us feel welcome the price is very reasonable.we would def stay there again its not the rock hotel so dont expect that style .we recommend it

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

This old boat has better rooms apparently but the starboard stateroom is absolutely horrible. Leaving luggage on the aft deck is an inconvenience that affects the forward staterooms including the starboard one. It is small with twin berths that are okay but there is only one port (window) and it was hot and stuffy. They give you a ridiculous fan but that means the one outlet is used and you cannot charge anything. The breakfast is a couple of bowls with some cereal if you want it but we went out and were delighted to do so. But this is the big kicker: it absolutely reeks of a horrible stench from the toilet. It is awful so they put in an automatic air freshener that pumps out regular bursts of a gagging chemical flower scent. One night is a lifetime supply of this place.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

My girlfriend and I had the pleasure of staying in the State Room of the Con Dios. Both Jill & John were excellent hosts. We will never forget our great experience with them and hope one day to re-visit Gibraltar. Such a neat experience.

Room Tip: We found the State Room to be a wonderful choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Extremely well situated for touring Gibraltar. Jill & John were excellent hosts and offered quality accommodation aboard their boat. Flew with Monarch and the landing was a highlight, ask for a window seat to get the most out of the flight.

The weather was superb if a little too hot for hiking up and down The Rock.

Plenty of bars and restaurants, Gibraltar can be lively at night but there are some quiet spots to be had, just go off the beaten track and they're there.

Try it, (the boat and Gibraltar) it is different but in a good way.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, UK
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Would just like to thank Jill and John for 2 fabulous nights on the Con Dios we really enjoyed the facilities the ambience of the Stateroom and everything was lovely. Shower block a short walk away was clean and modern. Would definitely stay here again

Room Tip: If the stateroom is available book it. Lovely and more space than you think
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

The Con Dios Bed and Breakfast is a 52ft Yacht permanently moored in Marina Bay at the heart of the vibrant Ocean Village area of Gibraltar it has 4 Guest bedrooms starting from as little as 25.00 GBP per Night.



When I arrived at the Con Dios I was greeted immediately by Jill & John who where very friendly and very knowledgeable about Gibraltar. I was shown to my Cabin by Jill who showed me how to operate their marine toilet (which is quite easy) I was then given all the information I needed about the Con Dios such as the WIFI password and what time it was usually switched off, how to get on and off the boat without having to go for a swim and how to get up to the Sundeck and more importantly how to get back down.



The Cabin I stayed in was surprisingly spacious very clean simplistic décor with a Gibraltar flag next to the window, there were tea and coffee making facilities and Cereal provided in the room, fresh milk was available in the fridge just below the stairs, and an en suite toilet which again was very clean and always smelt fresh.



Overall the Con Dios is Fantastic Value for Money in a good central location close to
•The Airport
•Bars and Restaurants
•Bus Station
•Points of Interest and Tourists Attractions

Casemates Square, Main Street, Trafalgar Cemetery and Botanic Gardens for the Top of the Rock Cable Car are all in walking distance of the boat.



Date of Visit: September 2013

Cost of Stay: £112 for 4 Nights



Our Rating: HOSPITALITY CHAMPIONS

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Con Dios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Con Dios

Address: Marina Bay, PO Box 80, Gibraltar 11300
Location: Gibraltar
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Gibraltar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Con Dios is a guest/hotel boat moored in Marina Bay Gibraltar. It provides a relaxing comfortable stay. Great location to explore Gibraltar and Spain. Reasonable rates. A unique accommodation opportunity. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Con Dios Hotel Gibraltar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Con Dios, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.