We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dolphin Safari Gibraltar” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Original Dolphin Safari

The Original Dolphin Safari
Marina Bay, 6 The Square, Gibraltar
00350 20071914
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Expedia
Book a Tour
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Our boat has 35 seats but we only ever take a max of 25 passengers to ensure passenger comfort. We do not take large coach groups so you can be assured of being treated like a person and not a number.We have two large gold dolphins outside our offices and our consierge wear blue t-shirts with the words 'Dolphin Safari'.We offer a first class option to see the dolphins with guaranteed frontline comfortable cushioned seating and a shaded indoor observation lounge. Refreshments are available on-board, full live commentary and five star treatment for every passenger.
Useful Information: Lockers / storage
Leicester, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Dolphin Safari Gibraltar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

November 10th 2012, my sons 16th Birthday. we were so lucky the sun came out and we had a very pleasant trip onboard Dolphin Safari Blue Boat. Plenty of dolphins seen and one jumped way out of the water. Good commentary throughout trip would recommend to anyone

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dolphin-Safari, Owner at The Original Dolphin Safari, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
So pleased you had a great dolphin trip, especially for your sons 16th, thank you so much for taking the time to give us a review so that future visitors have an idea of what to expect, of course every Safari is different, but we are all really pleased to hear that you enjoyed yours.

Hope to see you again one day, from all of us at Safari

Fiona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    294
    43
    5
    7
    9
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stansted Mountfitchet, United Kingdom
1 review
“In the words of my son - it's amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We boarded the boat on a grey October afternoon and pootled out into the bay, where we soon found a pod of very lively dolphins. They seemed as pleased to see us as we were to see them, with one or two leaping clean out of the water on numerous occasions. My wife and I loved it. Even more so as our six year old son kept saying "it's amazing". Expensive trip but unforgettable.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dolphin-Safari, Owner at The Original Dolphin Safari, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to write us a review, it really is appreciated and it is lovely to hear that both you and your husband enjoyed it as much as your little boy. I have even seen tiny babies respond to the dolphins and the adult dolphins come to see baby humans. Thank you very much for offering your feedback and again a big thank you from all of us at Dolphin Safari.

Fiona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gibraltar
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great way to spend a Sunday afternoon”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Had a great trip and my daughter was so excited to see so many dolphins following the boat. The staff were helpful and friendly. The views of Gibraltar are lovely and you can also see Spain and Morocco in the distance. A fun afternoon spent with friends and family :)

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dolphin-Safari, Owner at The Original Dolphin Safari, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to give us a review here on Tripadvisor, it is much appreciated and we are all of course delighted that you enjoyed the experience. From all of us at Safari a big thank you.

Fiona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Beware the "10% online discount"”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

If you book online there is a 10% discount offered but the website does not direct you to the payment page making it impossible to pay online.
If you pay at the office (having given your details online) they will not give you the discount - very poor.
The 1 1/2 hour advertised trip was closer to 1 hour in duration & the advertised "refreshments" were non existent.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dolphin-Safari, Owner at The Original Dolphin Safari, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Thank you so much for giving us a Tripadvisor review, I am sorry that you had trouble booking online, as you quite rightly point out we only offer the 10% discount for online pre-bookings and so you would have been charged full price on arrival.

I am aware of your case and appreciate your disappointment. However I am also very pleased to hear from you by email that you and your family did enjoy the dolphin trip. I am sorry that you weren't offered drinks on the boat, this has been pointed out by another reviewer and as I have explained to them, the drinks are on the boat but it may have been the case that the crew were more focused on the dolphin experience and overlooked offering the drinks to clients. My apologies for that.

Although you do feel let down over the 10% discount we do hope to see you again one day as ultimately we are a small company offering dolphin watching primarily and our prices are very fixed to cover operating costs, the 10% online discount is a genuine offer and not a gimmick that larger corporations offer. However we are looking into the online payment system as a result of your complaint to see if we can update or improve it, so thank you for bringing that to our attention.

Fiona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Very good experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

My family and I enjoyed the whole tour. 'Dolphin Safari' definitely know what they are doing and the trip began with a safety talk. We were lucky enough to see loads of dolphins and the kids were blown away by the dolphins surfing the wash at the back of the boat.
The only thing that was missing were th 5 star refreshments!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dolphin-Safari, Owner at The Original Dolphin Safari, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review for us and we are so pleased that you enjoyed your dolphin trip. I am sorry that the drinks onboard were not offered to you, as some explanation, not excuse, the crew were most likely focused on commentary and finding the dolphins. Having said that your comments have been taken onboard and we will try to do better in the future and make sure that everybody is aware that there are drinks if they would like.

Thank you once again, all feedback is welcome as it helps us to improve our service to the best that we can, and we hope to see you again one day.

Fiona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Original Dolphin Safari also viewed

 
Gibraltar, Europe
 

Been to The Original Dolphin Safari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Original Dolphin Safari, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.