We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Mexico, Vigo, Spain” 5 of 5 stars
Review of CHESS Hotel Mexico Vigo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added CHESS Hotel Mexico Vigo to your Saves list
CHESS Hotel Mexico Vigo
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via del Norte,10, 36206 Vigo, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 45 Hotels in Vigo
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Hotel Mexico, Vigo, Spain”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

I've just completed my second stay here, both times in February and each time for a week.
It's worth its 3 star rating: the room was a bit small and dark but was clean and practical with efficient room service.
All the staff seem to speak some English. The wi-fi code is given on arrival and it worked well. There is also one desk top computer at the rear of the entrance lounge area with internet access.
I particularly enjoyed the breakfast buffet arrangements: not too busy, plenty of fresh fruit, pastries and some hot food as well. Hot and cold snacks can be purchased in the lounge area in the evening.
I was on the top floor (8th) but the lifts worked efficiently. My room was at the back so had no view but was at least quiet. Rooms at the front would have a good view over the bay but would be correspondingly noisier.
Vigo is built into a hillside: you walk down into town in 20 minutes but uphill to return to the hotel.
Very happy with my two stays and would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Rear side for quiet, front side for the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    38
    27
    6
    8
See reviews for
16
30
9
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vigo, Spain
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

the staff at hotel mexico where perfect. all spoke english, which helped me alot. the room was very clean, though could do with a paint job.
within 2 weeks of my first stay i had to return to vigo and chose hotel mexico again !

highly recommended for service, value, friendliness and comfort.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Viva Stay

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roma
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Much more than I expected for the price and for the stars.
I would come back surely.
The wi-fi was a little weak, but useful to read email.
Good position, clean and functional hotel for a decent price. Close to the city center.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for two nights during August and it was a clean and comfortable base for exploring Vigo but nothing more, so don't stay expecting luxury. What you receive is a clean and functional hotel for a decent price.
The rooms aren't the most modern available and my view was of a dirty old court yard, the hotel is located close to Vigo's old town and is easy to get to from across the city.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spain
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

My first impression of this hotel was a bad one, before I ever saw the place -- I booked it because it advertises itself as very near the train station. It is FAR from the station, almost a mile uphill! (After a cab ride up, the desk lady explained the train station has moved, and somehow the advertising has not been updated. No way.)
The room was very large and clean, with a lovely harbor view. The heat was blasting, and we could not make it stop. We finally opened the windows, which cooled things off, but admitted all the noise from the street and the puti-club a few doors down.
You can do better in this great city. Take a good look at the maps before booking, especially if traveling by train!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2009

Close to the city center, the trainstation, seesight, very nice service, clean and quiet rooms, with bath. Very pleasant, also good food.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2008

Paid 60 euros per night for a room. That is an average price (in Vigo), and so is the hotel...average.

Breakfast is not bad...but neither spectacular. I would say average. Location is not good...there are various restaurants in the neighbourhood, but the real city center (harbour/marina area) with all the nice tapas bars is 15 minutes walking.

The hotel is opposite the railway station, and that can make some noise. The road is busy as well, but the double glazing is remarkable effective, especially on the 6th floor. But if you are a light sleeper, then you can't sleep with the window open.

I had to wait 10-15 minutes for a taxi, but this is merely due to the front desk lady not phoning one when we asked. The second day it only took 1 minute! The lift is rathter small, and is busy in the morning (second lift was out of order).

The walls between the rooms are as thin as paper. You can hear everything that is being said in the room next to you. Luckily, my neighbours were quiet, and did not use their TV.

The room was clean on arrival, but it was not properly hovered during the stay. I dropped a peanut on the floor on the first day, and it was still there after a couple of days. The room has a hall with a second door, hence you do not hear anything from the hall, and this also provides some extra privacy in the toilet if you are with two persons. Bathroom was properly cleaned every day. But the drinking glasses were not replaced on a daily basis.

Summarising, cheap, but average quality. Next time, I will book earlier to ensure that I get a room in my favourite hotel in Vigo, which is Hotel America (though it is more expensive).

Stayed March 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to CHESS Hotel Mexico Vigo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CHESS Hotel Mexico Vigo

Address: Via del Norte,10, 36206 Vigo, Spain
Location: Spain > Galicia > Pontevedra Province > Vigo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 45 Hotels in Vigo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — CHESS Hotel Mexico Vigo 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your CHESS Hotel Mexico Vigo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage CHESS Hotel Mexico Vigo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.