We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff and restaurant! But the rooms are too noisy!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Puerta Gamboa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Puerta Gamboa to your Saves list
Hotel Puerta Gamboa
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle de Gamboa 12 | Pontevedra, 36202 Vigo, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 45 Hotels in Vigo
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Stockholm
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Great staff and restaurant! But the rooms are too noisy!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2011

We felt so very taken care of! But we didn't sleep very good. There was construction work from early in the morning outside and lots of traffic..eventhough the windows are soundproof it still don't help. The walls between the rooms are like thin papers. We could hear our nighbour snore.

Room Tip: Avoid staying above the bar next door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    23
    10
    1
    3
See reviews for
24
92
10
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stillwater, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2011

We stayed here for one night as our departure back to the US was Vigo/Paris/Mpls. This was a great hotel for our last night in Spain. Father/Son ownership who run a top notch place in the center of the old town.

They were very helpful with locating wine shops, internet cafes, dining, etc. Most importantly, excellent directions to the airport the next morning.

If the future brings us back to Vigo. we would deifinitely stay here. Unfortunately, Vigo itself is not much.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2011

I loved everything about my stay at Hotel Puerta Gamboa when I was in Vigo visiting my son Located in the old city, the newly renovated hotel of 11 rooms has a homey feeling with upscale amenities. The owners were delightful and helpful with every detail. The son, whose English is very good, made some wonderful recommendations regarding sightseeing and shopping. I would not have found a lovely Spanish ceramics store wtihout his suggestions.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plantation, FL
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2010

Way beyond our expectations. The hotel was recently redone and boy was it nice. The rooms were wonderful, the bathrooms were beautiful! The owner Jose Manuel and his son could not have been any nicer. They bend over backwards to help you. We were lost and Jose Manuel sent his son outside to look for us. Breakfast was simple but great tasting. We can't say enough nice things about this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonesboro, Ga
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2010

My wife and I took the train from Madrid to Vigo in August 2010. My wife called Jose Manuel Teijeira the owner from the train station. He immediately came to the station to pick us up. After arriving at the hotel we were greeted by his son and wonderful wife Berta. They are so hospitable and made us feel like family. We stayed for 3 wonderful days in Vigo at the Puerta Gamboa. This family is tremendous and made us fel right at home. Mr Teijeira also volunteered to take us up to Castro Park in his own vehicle which was so gracious of him. After we checked out he returned us to the train station and assisted us in getting a rental car for our continuing journey to Asturias. That evening Mr Teijeira called us on his cell phone to check to see if we were OK and needed anything. We have travelled extensively and I have never encountered such wonderful people as the Teijeira. I high recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Vigo. We hope to return again this coming Spring for another visit with this wonderful family. The hotel itself is excellent and the service is above reproach and in all aspects exceptional.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2010

Fabulous famaly hotel, most welcoming and worm.
The hotel has been renovated 2 years ago, and looks like band new
Food was very good, and they made you feel at home.
Rooms are not very big, but modern clean, and equipt.
Loved it!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2010

We were lost, yet again, in another big city and the owner of the hotel drove to where we were waiting . . . and led us to the car drop-off on some obscure street. We were exhausted and asked if we could eat there and had the most delicious simple meal. The son, who speaks English, and his father even offered to drive us to the bus station, but we took a cab.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Puerta Gamboa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Puerta Gamboa

Address: Calle de Gamboa 12 | Pontevedra, 36202 Vigo, Spain
Location: Spain > Galicia > Pontevedra Province > Vigo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 45 Hotels in Vigo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Puerta Gamboa 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This charming hotel is located in an old and impressive granite building, in a privileged position in the area of the port of Vigo. Gamboa Hotel is the ideal starting point for exploring on foot the center of Vigo, which is located in the heart of the city.All rooms are exterior, enjoy plenty of natural light and feature a balcony. To end the day, can come to relax and drink in the hotel cafeteria. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Puerta Gamboa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Puerta Gamboa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.