We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place after the Camino” 5 of 5 stars
Review of San Francisco Hotel Monumento

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added San Francisco Hotel Monumento to your Saves list
San Francisco Hotel Monumento
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Campillo San Francisco 3, 15705 Santiago de Compostela, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great place after the Camino”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We walked the last 110km of the Camino and arrived tired but happy at the San Francisco where we had stayed before we began out trip. Our left "city stuff" luggage was in our room when we checked in. The staff is both friendly and helpful. Rooms have all modern amenities. The pool was especially relaxing. Hotel is close to the Cathedral and restaurants. Have already recommended the hotel and will do so again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

473 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    324
    120
    19
    5
    5
See reviews for
68
247
35
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Altrincham
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

This restored monastery provides high standard, comfortable accommodation. The location of the hotel is its main asset, situated in the heart of the historic area of Santiago de Compostela. In the nearby square, in front of the cathedral, you can watch the arrival of pilgrims completing their personal and emotional journeys.

Difficult to get transport close to the reception in order to off-load luggage. Slightly complicated internal layout requiring specific lifts to arrive at the correct floor (somewhat inevitable with a monastery conversion). Breakfast unexciting - below average for the price.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

The previous reviewer redd27 has said it all. Very helpful staff, good food, and with the bonus of a secure car park and a swimming pool 5 minutes walk from the centre of Santiago. We had a great stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

This used to be an old monastery and has been refurbished into a modern hotel. It has a smallish pool that is heated and indoors. It's a great location being only a 5 minute minute walk past some shops to the cathedral and the old town. The restaurant is worthwhile and has a great daily dinner 3 course menu for €20 a head

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

I was here for business. Excellent rooms and fantastic setting. The front desk people are very helpful and friendly. Internet is for free and it works!
A minute from the cathedral.

Breakfast in the cafeteria is on the expensive side, but you can just go down the street and have a coffee.

I will come back!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

I stayed here as a treat after walking the Camino. I was a bit disappointed by my experience. The hotel was very clean and the staff courteous, however, the quality of the bed was such that it moved when I moved. I had the buffet breakfast, which I felt was overpriced for the selection of food available, and whilst I was at the buffet, my coffee was cleared away and rubbish from another table placed on mine. I had to ask for a further cup of coffee, there was no offer to refill the cup etc. I never got to use the pool as it didn't open until 10am and I would have liked an early swim.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

We stayed here to experience Santiago De Compostela and we could not have wished for better. The service was friendly and helpful and the facilities were outstanding. We had two nights and I would recommend this hotel. Many thanks to the waiter who went out of his way to make my girls a Spanish Tortilla for their lunch. They are very fussy eaters and this is their favourite but wasn´t on the menu, so he asked the chef and it was made specially for them!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to San Francisco Hotel Monumento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Francisco Hotel Monumento

Address: Campillo San Francisco 3, 15705 Santiago de Compostela, Spain
Location: Spain > Galicia > A Coruna Province > Santiago de Compostela
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Santiago de Compostela
#3 Luxury Hotel in Santiago de Compostela
#4 Romantic Hotel in Santiago de Compostela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — San Francisco Hotel Monumento 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 150 m from the Cathedral, right in Santiago de Compostela’s historic city centre, San Francisco Hotel Monumento offers its clients the tranquility and silence of an 18th-century Franciscan convent combined with all the services and comforts of a 4-star hotel. Free parking, Free Wifi and free access to the indoor pool & Jacuzzi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Expedia so you can book your San Francisco Hotel Monumento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Francisco Santiago De Compostela

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Francisco Hotel Monumento, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.