We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel, perfectly located” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Altair Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Altair Hotel to your Saves list
Altair Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Loureiros Street, 12, 15704 Santiago de Compostela, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Montreal
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel, perfectly located”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

About 5 minutes from the cathedral, this hotel lived up to other reviews. We were in Santiago for a wedding and we were thinking of staying at the Parador. However, after reading reviews on TripAdvisor, we decided to opt for the Altair and we were not disapointed. The room was spacious, the bed was comfortable, the hotel is very well located and they can validate your all day parking to an indoor lot that is about 2 mins away (9 euros per day). They spoke very decent english at the reception desk and the personnel was absolutely lovely.

Just one minor hiccup: the rooms are not soundproof. In the morning we heard doors slamming and the maintenance personel cleaning other rooms.

We did not try the breakfast.

We recommend the Altair and would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    57
    5
    1
    2
See reviews for
53
163
16
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

We stayed at Hotel Altair last week (June 2012) and thought it was lovely. The building is gorgeous, everything in the city (old part around cathederal) is within walking distance. Our room was simple but very spaceous and comfortable. The staff were very helpful and friendly, especially as my bag did not arrive from London, and they spent a lot of time on the phone to the airport / airline company. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moncton, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

After 130 kms walking over 5 days, we were delighted by this hotel. It was very comfortable, clean, has character and the staff is terrific. It was a perfect ending to a long and sometimes gruelling walk. We were refreshed and revitalized by our stay here. The location is great- a quiet side street but still in the old quarter of Santiago de Compostella- a very interesting and busy city. I would recommend this hotel to everyone who wishes to stay in S de C. You would not be disapointed!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

We stayed over for two nights and we were extremely pleased with location, room standards and service. What really impressed me was they make it really simple for you. I had a prepaid room and the chek in time was really quick. When in the room I got wifi access for free and the code was available in the booklet inside the room.
The minibar was excellent, cheap (not a rip off as in many hotels) and mineral water is free!! Excellent when you use a bottle over night and you are leaving early in the morning with no time to waste at the counter checking out.Well done to all the hotel staff

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012 via mobile

Amazing modern property that has done a wonderful job of incorporating the old and the new. Rooms are spacious for Spain, and well-designed and thought out. Beds are comfortable and everything is spotless. Service is truly above and beyond - incredibly friendly, multilingual, and they go out of their way to make you feel at home and accommodate every need.

Only a few things: this property can be a bit noisy at night if you're a light sleeper, due to the hardwood floors throughout, and guests coming up and down the stairs, etc. You can also hear some noise from adjacent rooms. Also, this hotel does not have a restaurant on site, though there are many nearby. They do serve a great continental breakfast in the morning though.

Stayed April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nova Scotia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

This hotel far exceeded our expectations. Staff went beyond normal service to accommodate our every need. The room on the main floor with the small garden was excellent. The breakfast was amazing with lot of variety. We stayed here for 8 days and feel sorry we have to leave as the staff feel like "family". We cannot say enough about our experience here and would highly recommend it. Thank you Roberto & Javier and all the wonderful staff you have made our "Camino" much more enjoyable. P & D Canada

Room Tip: Room 002 on the main floor with a lovely patio
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with NH Hoteles

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

We were really happy with this boutique hotel. The location is very convenient being just on the edge of the old town and a five minute walk to the cathedral. The continental style breakfasts were really good and there was plenty to eat.. We were on the top (3rd) floor and the room was quite large, modern and very clean with a large ensuite and stand alone shower. The only things missing were wardrobe/hanging space - although there was plenty of room to spread things out - and a safe. The service was excellent - very friendly, helpful and welcoming staff.

Room Tip: We were very happy with our top floor room which have sloping roof mounted windows. The ensuite win...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Altair Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Altair Hotel

Address: Loureiros Street, 12, 15704 Santiago de Compostela, Spain
Location: Spain > Galicia > A Coruna Province > Santiago de Compostela
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Santiago de Compostela
#3 Family Hotel in Santiago de Compostela
#4 Business Hotel in Santiago de Compostela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Altair Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Splendia, Despegar.com, Expedia, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Altair Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Altair Hotel Santiago De Compostela
Altair Santiago De Compostela

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Altair Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.