We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beyond perfect!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Costa Vella

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Santiago de Compostela
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Costa Vella
Save
You added Hotel Costa Vella to your Saves list
Rua Porta de Pena 17, 15704 Santiago de Compostela, Spain   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
New York City, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beyond perfect!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

I just came back today from Santiago de Compostela and i couldn't wait to write a review for this hotel. The place is just right - clean, comfortable, and beatiful. The service - OUT of this World!!! They provide the most amazing breakfast with a beautiful view to the hotel's garden, and always come back to offer more cafe con leche - what else can you ask for? It's truly an experience. Roberto and Jose are so welcoming and the ladies that work with them as well. I gurantee you that you will leave this hotel pleased and wanting to come back.
Gracias Roberto por la sonrisa en el cafe = ) y a la camarera por no echar mis documentos al cesto ... Espero en un futuro cercano volver!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    337
    75
    14
    3
    1
See reviews for
52
206
41
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

If you want 6* service then I would wholeheartedly recommend this great family-run hotel. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel very special and all the staff, but especially Roberto and Javier, were really friendly and welcoming. From the freshly-squeezed orange juice in the beautiful hotel garden to the wonderful breakfast (we were full to bursting every morning after the fresh juice, coffee, croissants, toast, tarta de Santiago - local almond cake), everything was of the highest quality and served with a genuine smile. The location of the hotel was great - just inside the old town but away from the noise of the main square. We were given great advice on things to do with the kids (I would recommend the Italian restaurant in the Cancelas shopping mall which has a huge kids' play area and where you can choose from a buffet of about 20 different types of pizza and pasta from about €10 per adult with beer and wine included!) and nothing was too much trouble for our hosts. This really was the best hotel experience I can remember and we wouldn't think of staying anywhere else next time we visit Santiago de Compostela.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

On our way back from Portugal to Madrid w decided to stop in Santiago de Compostela. We booked two rooms last minute based on the reviews here. Let me tell you, you can;t go wrong with Tripadvisor. From the minute I call to inquire for availability I knew this was a different hotel. We arrived at the entrance and spotted the beautiful couryard with a stunning Church in the background, such a nice old world feeling. The hotel has a small reception desk area, very welcoming smiley people and a homey feel. We were upgraded at no extra charge to two Gallery rooms overlooking the garden with its beautiful flowers and trees even in winter, the Church and the Monastery. On every floor they have a sitting area, one for reading and the other one for breakfast...Ohhh breakfast, that was the highlight of our trip. The next morning we got up and started our day with a delicious treat. Robert was our server, a young guy full of energy willing to pleased us. None of our many requests were turned down. Robert brought us fresh bread, tomato, olive oil, delicious croissants, local cheese, hot thick chocolate and perfect cafe con leche...We couldn't believe how good the breakfast was for the price of the room. Location is great, close to shops, restaurants and important sites. The lunch recommendation was fantastic, we ate at La Bodeguilla...Great food, great price with the real local feeling. I will recommend this place to anyone wanting to experience the Galician Flavors. The only little thing I should point out is the fact that the building is a little bit noisy inside, you can hear people going down the stairs and shutting doors, but since we were there for one night only and there were not that many people I should not rate this less than 5 because that didn't stop us from enjoying the place to the fullest. Santiago is a very touching place that you should visit!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Gatos, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We were recently visiting our daughter who is living in Santiago and teaching English in a nearby town. The parents of a friend of hers recommended Costa Vella and after reading the reviews on TripAdvisor our expectations were very high. Not only were our expectations met they were clearly exceeded. We stayed at the hotel twice during our trip with a tour of Spain and side trip to Italy in between. Even before we arrived we were provided a huge Word Doc that had all sorts of info about the town and local area including tips on restaurants as well as things to do and see.

At the start of our trip we stayed on the top floor in a very cute, comfortable room overlooking the garden. The room was a good size and the vaulted ceiling made it feel bigger. At the end of the trip we decided at the last minute not to do a planned trip to Portugal and they were happy to provide accommodations. We were set up in a mini-suite on the second floor. It has a separate sitting area overlooking the garden with a phenomenal view of the Galician country-side. In both cases Roberto and the staff were extremely accommodating and helpful with whatever we needed. As mentioned by others breakfast is served in a cute eating area – it was delicious including a large slice of toasted local bread with tomatoes, olive oil and cheese – yum! If requested, they will also bring fruit, croissants or yogurt. In the evening the sitting area is a great spot to relax and have a glass of local wine before heading out to dinner. All of this for 65 Euro a night including breakfast – truly the best deal of any accommodation in all of our travels! We cannot recommend it highly enough.

A couple of other notes: We were fortunate to be in town for New Year’s Eve. In the plaza in front of the Cathedral they set up a large stage with a great “salsa-type” band. Everyone was given a bunch of grapes and a bag full of hats, masks and noise makers. By midnight the plaza was filled with thousands of revelers to eat 12 grapes to the gongs of the Cathedral bells followed by a fireworks show and lots of dancing and merry- making. It was the best New Years Eve ever! Also, if you have a car I strongly advise a trip out to Finisterre and Muxia – both are awe-inspiring experiences.

Room Tip: As mentioned by others, the rooms facing the garden (away from the street) are nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

After spending 33 days walking the camino, the Costa Vella Hotel was the perfect stop for us in Santiago! The price of the rooms were certainly higher than what we were used to 'en route' but very reasonable compare to other cities. This family owned hotel thrives in any way to help its guest to have a very pleasant stay and they have succeeded with us! The owners helped us figure out our luggage problem by calling for us the shipping company and were so helpful answering multitude of questions. The continental breakfast were delicious and the dining room spaces as well as the terrace outside are simply lovely. The room was very clean and comfortable and the Yves Rocher soaps was a nice touch specially after using an all-purpose soap for a month! We would and have already recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lummi Island, Washington
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

After 35 days on the Camino we found a room at a small hotel that proved to be noisy day and night...so we gathered up and found a room at Costa Vella that was a gem. The staff couldn't have been more helpful, the breakfast delicious, the room clean and beautiful and the garden area a place to lose oneself in the afternoon heat. I wish we would have found it sooner. It is very popular so would advice booking ahead. Close to the cathedral but very quiet at night. We were able to store our backpacks in the hotel for the day even though we had checked out while we waited for our train to leave that night. Thank you for a great ending to our adventure. Loved this hotel!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Our Camino adventure was topped off by staying at this lovely small hotel. Robert and the staff went out of their way to help us. We stayed in room 205 overlooking the garden and on Sunday, we were treated with beautiful music in the afternoon.

We had to catch a flight before the kitchen officially opened, but Robert said he would accomodate us.

I highly recommend this gracious hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Costa Vella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Costa Vella

Address: Rua Porta de Pena 17, 15704 Santiago de Compostela, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Galicia > A Coruna Province > Santiago de Compostela
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Santiago de Compostela
#4 Best Value Hotel in Santiago de Compostela
#4 Family Hotel in Santiago de Compostela
#10 Business Hotel in Santiago de Compostela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel con encatno ubicado en el centro historico de Santiago de Compostela. Terraza jardin adosada al muro medieval de la ciudad. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Costa Vella Hotel
Costa Vella Santiago De Compostela

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Costa Vella, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.