We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Handy for the centre and cosy” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Hotel As Artes

Save Saved
You added Casa Hotel As Artes to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Casa Hotel As Artes
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Travesa das Duas Portas 2, 15707 Santiago de Compostela, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Handy for the centre and cosy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Hotel as artes is truly brilliantly situated for access to the centre, the bed are comfortable and the rooms are clean. The breakfast was great, good coffee, freshly squeezed orange juice, tasty fruit salad and breads, cheese and ham. however this location just by the Cathedral is tempered by an acceptance that this is a hotel in Spain and it will therefore be pretty noisy due to the people on the street and excellent buskers by the Cathedral.

It was a handy and cosy place to stay but i felt it was overpriced for what it was and wish that we had perhaps gone for a little more luxury for the same price with a longer walk. Or had searched more thoroughly for a property not on Sawday's, as we came to realise during our stay that there are so many amazing places that are not on the main websites. That said we had a lovely stay and we thoroughly enjoyed the proximity to the beauty of Santiago de Compostela.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    99
    45
    9
    1
    2
See reviews for
24
82
19
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
England
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay on the whole. Nice hotel in good location - quiet but very close to the cathedral. Rooms nice enough too. Great idea to have a water cooler and coffee/tea making facilities on the landing. The hotel feels more like a cosy guest house than a boutique hotel. The younger chap at reception certainly could have been more welcoming when we first arrived, but was helpful and friendly during the rest of our stay. Towards the end of our stay we met his colleague who was a pleasure to talk to and extremely cheerful and welcoming.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Our last day on the Camino we walked 40kms, staggering into the Cathedral square at about 8pm hot, grumpy and limping from blisters. It was a great relief to find out that the hotel was just a short shuffle away. We just had the small double bedroom and although compact it was perfect for our needs. The room was tastefully decorated and absolutely clean (unlike us).We could even see one of the Cathedral towers from our bedroom window!

The manager was very friendly and gave us lots of helpful advice in good English.

I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone travelling to Santiago.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Illinois, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Like many other reviewers, I recently stayed at this little gem after walking 32 days on the Camino de Santiago. It is a tiny, 7-room hotel that is very near the cathedral. Each room has original artwork inside, is decorated very uniquely and each is named after a different famous artist, sculpter, architect, etc. We had a room for three, my two daughters and myself, and while not spacious, it was perfect for the three of us. We had a corner room with two windows and nice views. The staff was so friendly and so helpful that this has to be one of my favorite small hotels ever. The only downside was the fact that there was some evening noise of passerbys but with this excellent location it has to be expected (note: sleep quality below).

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room to get two windows!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

I stayed here after walking the Camino Frances this spring. This place was very close to the Plaza by the Cathedral of Santiago, and it was an oasis of peace. The managers were friendly, and helpful with all of my needs. I didn't have the breakfast, but when I saw how nice it was, I regretted not doing it. Easy walk to everything related to the camino and the cathederal. If I return to Santiago, I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

I stayed there for 1 night after finishing the Camino Frances, and it was possibly the best accommodation that I could have booked. I was really impressed by the service and place, right from the moment I arrived. The staff were extremely friendly, and one of them (Carlos?) even allowed me to play on the piano in the cafe. Also, I like the fact that each room was themed after different musicians/ artists. It was definitely a great place to finish off my camino.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

After completing the Camino de Santiago, we were looking for a nice place to stay instead of an albergue. Casa Hotel As Artes was an unbelievable find: lovely rooms, personal service, and terrific location. Don't miss this gem of a hotel in Santiago!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Casa Hotel As Artes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Hotel As Artes

Address: Travesa das Duas Portas 2, 15707 Santiago de Compostela, Spain
Location: Spain > Galicia > A Coruna Province > Santiago de Compostela
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Santiago de Compostela
#7 Business Hotel in Santiago de Compostela
#9 Family Hotel in Santiago de Compostela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Casa Hotel As Artes 1*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Casa Hotel As Artes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Hotel Santiago De Compostela

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Hotel As Artes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.