We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average room, good location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Melia Maria Pita

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Melia Maria Pita to your Saves list
Melia Maria Pita
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avda. Pedro Barrie de la Maza, 3, 15003 La Coruna, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
up to -15% MeliáRewards
Ranked #8 of 33 Hotels in La Coruna
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Average room, good location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013 via mobile

Average room, medium size, nothing special. Breakfast is also average and it may best to take it outside. The best part is the location, in front of the beach. If you go on the right, you go up to the Aquarium and the Hercules Tower (20')

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlfonsoLara, General Manager at Melia Maria Pita, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Dear Client:

“We are very sorry if your stay with us did not meet your expectations. Be sure that your comments will help us to keep improving our service and product”

We would be glad to have the opportunity to receive you once again in our Hotel and change your last impression

Alfonso Lara
G. manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

582 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    272
    83
    25
    7
See reviews for
104
256
19
114
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

It's an ok hotel for one night on business, we stayed there for 3 nights on a weekend break to La Coruna and found it quite basic. Marble everywhere does not make a hotel and there is plenty of it in the public areas. The lobby is soulless, not a flower or a linen drop or a picture to break up the tons of cold marble, the public areas need to be softened, it is like entering an airport terminal.

The view is the only good thing going for the hotel, if you pay for an Ocean room. Breakfast is not worth taking it's quite basic, you're far better off with a great lunch in the myriad of wonderful restaurants in this lovely old town. It felt like the hotel did not have to work very hard for it's Guests as the business comes in anyway. If that's not the case then the team involved need to take a close look at their product.

Room Tip: Premium Ocean Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlfonsoLara, Gerente at Melia Maria Pita, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dear Mr. Tom:
First of all I would like to thank you for having chosen our hotel Meliá María Pita and also for taking the time to write and contact us. I full regret that you have left our hotel with a negative impression about our image and breatfast service .

Please accept our apologies and be sure that your comments will be looked into with great consideration and this will contribute to further improvements to our guests’ satisfaction.

It would be a great pleasure to receive you as a new at the Meliá María Pita.
Best Regards

Alfonso Lara
G.Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

The Hotel is old but the Premium Rooms are really big with a nice views to the beach. Hot water is not easy to find , and if you can´t go up the stairs because you have any fisical problem you must use the entrance near the restaurant. Not really nice for old clients. The floor in the room is quite noisy because is made from an old dark Wood. Breakfast is nothing special. People from reception are not really very nice but waiters in the breakfast room are really very helpful and nice. Best thing, the location.

Room Tip: Premium romos are nice and big and not very expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlfonsoLara, Gerente at Melia Maria Pita, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Dear Client:

First of all I would like to thank you for taking the time to write and contact us. I full regret that you have a negative impression about our reception services and please accept our apologies about that.

Best Regards

Alfonso Lara
G. manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

It will be difficult to beat the location of this hotel if you are staying in A Coruna. We did not book a sea view room, but got given one on check-in which was fantastic. There are steps going down to the beach in front of the hotel and the beach is great. We ordered some cava through room service and drank that on the beach watching the sunset - highly recommended. Even though it was October, the weather was absolutely great. The hotel is also a short walk from all the sights and lovely to walk around and discover. We also opted for the breakfast when we checked in and both the hotel and breakfast was excellent value for money. We found the service great and everyone was very helpful.

Room Tip: Do ask for a sea view room. We also asked for a twin room as we were two friends travelling togethe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlfonsoLara, Gerente at Melia Maria Pita, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Dear Client:

On behalf of Hotel Melia María Pita ´ staff, I would like to thank you for choosing us during your last stay in A Coruña as well as taking your time for your comments about our hotel.

Best Regards

Alfonso Lara
G. manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

This Melia falls well below its own aspirations. The WiFi and hot water are very unreliable. The walls are paper thin and heavy wood doors with faux wood floors means that any loud footstep will wake you up. We eventually resorted to earplugs and I am a very sound sleeper. The Laundry and Parking are pricey and they are not helpful in finding you any alternatives to their prices. Luckily I found a nearby dry cleaners that saved me about $60 USD over the hotel. Lastly, the bathroom had very shoddy work, broken tiles, and a broken shower head meant to adjust, but it kept sliding down. There are better alternatives for the money.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlfonsoLara, Gerente at Melia Maria Pita, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Dear Client:

First of all I would like to thank you for taking the time to write and contact us. I full regret that you have a negative impression about our services and please accept our apologies about that.

Best Regards.

Alfonso Lara
G. manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camberley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Visited here last Friday and spent two nights in the Hotel. I ate in the Restaurant one evening and the food was ok and breakfast was ok in the morning. Nothing special really but the location is good.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlfonsoLara, Manager at Melia Maria Pita, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Dear Client:

On behalf of Hotel Meliá María Pita ´ staff, I would like to thank you for choosing us during your last stay in A Coruña as well as taking your time for your comments about our hotel.

Best Regards

Alfonso Lara
G. Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
221 reviews 221 reviews
144 hotel reviews
Reviews in 124 cities Reviews in 124 cities
467 helpful votes 467 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

Loved A Coruna - what a lovely spot.
Hotel in great location looking out over fantastic bay. Friendly helpful reception staff who were happy to give us a late checkout - nb normal time is noon :)
Very comfortable bed & nice large towels however depending on what's happening it can be a bit noisy.
Breakfast buffet very good especially when booked at reception - 8 euros rather than 14.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlfonsoLara, Manager at Melia Maria Pita, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Dear Client:

Thank you very much for giving us your feedback about your stay in the hotel. The costumer ´s opinion always helps us to improve the quality of our service


Best Regards.

Alfonso Lara
G. manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Melia Maria Pita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Maria Pita

Address: Avda. Pedro Barrie de la Maza, 3, 15003 La Coruna, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Galicia > A Coruna Province > La Coruna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in La Coruna
#3 Business Hotel in La Coruna
#4 Romantic Hotel in La Coruna
#7 Luxury Hotel in La Coruna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Maria Pita 4*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Melia Maria Pita is located in the center of A Coruna, in the promenade and off the beaches of Orzan and Riazor, less than 10 min. Walk from the main attractions of the city such as the Tower of Hercules, the tapas area and the historic and commercial center, with easy access from any route. It has 183 rooms, most refurbished, with fabulous sea views. All are equipped with flat screen 37' TV with international channels, free internet access fiber optic high capacity and bathroom with vanity mirror, hairdryer and amenities Melia. The hotel has different dining areas, O`Toxo Buffet Breakfast restaurant, Restaurant -Cafeteria Trueiro two private rooms and indoor terrace with Canal + Liga. We specialize in Galician and Mediterranean cuisine and room service is available 24 hrs. He impressed the large, glazed and bright marble hall overlooking Orzan Cove. We have an exclusive parking for our customers, Internet corner (Point E) and 7 meeting rooms and banquet facilities accommodating up to 350 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Melia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Melia Maria Pita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Maria Pita Hotel La Coruna
Melia La Coruña
Melia Hotel Maria Pita
Melia Maria Pita La Coruna, A Coruna, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melia Maria Pita, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.