We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“value+” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Catalunya Express

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Catalunya Express to your Saves list
Catalunya Express
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   General Contreras 16, 43004 Tarragona, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 20 Hotels in Tarragona
northern ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“value+”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

This was a last minute booking and we stayed for a week. the room was small and functional and spotlessly clean the towels changed daily and sheets every other day. Reception staff were great and spoke passable english and gave us lots of information about the city. Breakfast was very good. Overall a thoroughly good experience and excellent value for money.

Room Tip: Room on inner courtyard very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    31
    19
    7
    1
See reviews for
14
32
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Spain
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

We overnighted for Euro 53, inclusive of taxes and breakfast. If you have a car, the secured Car Park is less than 3 minutes away and does give you a 20% discount if you stay in this hotel. Car parking overnight in Tarragona is very expensive: Euro 18 - 25( in the centre of the old town)
The buffet breakfast (spanish) had a good selection and they had unusually "great" coffee packs that you put into the machine and it pumped out flavourful coffee indeed !.
It is about 10-15 minutes walk into the old town with outdoor moving escalators nearby, to take you up so that you don't have to walk up the steep hill. The train station is less than 4 minutes away from the Hotel. We slept well as the Hotel is in a residential area. There is free. Wi-Fi. The room we slept in was functional but very clean. In the U.S. this will be classified as a Motel.
The staff does speak English.

Room Tip: Do ask if you can turn on the A/C. It looked as though it was centrally controlled. We didn't n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2011

Booked this hotel as near to Reus airport and our flight arrived late at night. Very friendly reception staff (at all times, as always a different face). Room clean but small, but we only ever use the rooms to sleep in so no problems there. Just a short walk to main ramblas and square. Not only would I say we would go back here, but we did, for our last day in Spain it was like winning the lottery, getting a room was a bonus (just turned up) but Tarragona was celebrating Santa Tecla which was a festival well worth seeing, loved it

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spain
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2011

We picked this on the factor of price with the B&B option, paying 49 euros for the night, and we used it as a stop gap after a long weekend in Barcelona.

Where do I start?
When we arrived at first we couldn't even get in.... there is no door handle... they make you ring the bell for entry (possibly for security - not a fabulous area around the hotel). The reception guy was very pleasant, but although we had 2 small-ish bags and another larger one he didn't offer to carry anything up to our room - please note there is NO LIFT in this hotel.
Our room... no 104 - we asked for non smoking and it was adequate.... but the double bed had a mattress which had definately seen much better days and I swear I have spring shaped bruises on my hips as a result.
Also I would highly recommend taking ear plugs as it was quite noisy outside( we went last weekend of Feb, so very quiet in the hotel itself apart from our neighbour who had his tv on very loudly.)
The bathroom....well for starters there are no baths in the hotel, just showers, not even the half baths that you sometimes get in the older Spanish hotels. Secondly, you couldn't really get in and out of the bathroom easily - having to side step the door each time with about a 3mm clearance on the sink. I'd love to know which room had the large bathroom on the reviews, as if I did think of returning (which I won't) then that'd be a must to request!! (think of the normal size bathroom in something like an Ibis hotel, and half that...corridor style.... thats more the size we're talking.)

Breakfast - I would say was an average breakfast for Spain, nothing special, certainly not one to rave about. The usual cold meats, croissant, cakes, sliced bread which had been out for quite a while by the feel of it, no staff around at all to ask for anything. The only thing I saw in addition to the norm was the Spanish tortilla (potato omelette) which you could heat up in the microwave.
It did advertise the restaurant, open from 8pm - 10.30pm, but the night we went it was very much closed (Sunday).

One reviewer said its about 5 mins walk to the train station..... make that about a 2 minute walk.... not that I heard a train, but we did hear every single person that walked past the hotel on their way to another one with their wheely suitcase across the ribbed pavements.

Its also a fair hike up to the old town form the hotel, although only about a 5 min walk from the port.
Major plus side was that there was WIFI in the rooms.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Tarragona hotels

Wellington, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2010

Stayed two nights over a weekend, check-in trouble free and help with luggage!Although in the city and near the station the room was remarkably quiet.The sights of Tarragona are all within walking distance,including the beaches.The room whilst not large was more than adequet for two and toiletries were supplied --not usual at this level of hotel -- The real surprise was the breakfast!! IT WAS FANTASTIC the quality of juices,pastries,beverages etc. was FIRST CLASS as was the selection.The cleanliness of room,bathroom, and public areas again was very good.Ibelieve the mark of a good hotel is to ask yourself,would I return? My answer for this hotel is YES

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2010

Spent there one wonderful week of my summer holidays. If you go for budget travelling this is great Hotel/Hostel to stay in. It is very clean. Air-Co works great. Bathroom very clean with towels changed each day. Sheets on bed changed each second day. Room always cleaned very carefully. Breakfast is very good for the money. You have nice choice of food and the quality of food is good. It is safe place with very friendly stuff. I highly recommend for everyone who is into not very expensive but nice place. It is good idea to ask for the room which is "inside" room. Rooms next to street might be a bit noisy. Hotel is close to beach (nice one) and the train station (100 m). We had great time there! Thanks!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2009

Hotel was clean and staff were friendly and helpful with a good understanding of English. The room was clean but the air conditioning unit was old and noisy. Breakfast cost 5 euros each for cereal/bread/cold meats. The train station was literally around the corner so ideal if your getting the train somewhere.

It cost 30 euros from the airport which seemed expensive!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Catalunya Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalunya Express

Address: General Contreras 16, 43004 Tarragona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > Tarragona
Amenities:
Beach Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Tarragona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Catalunya Express 2*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HostelBookers, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Catalunya Express reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalunya Express Tarragona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Catalunya Express, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.