We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice AC Hotel in Tarragona” 4 of 5 stars
Review of AC Hotel Tarragona by Marriott

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added AC Hotel Tarragona by Marriott to your Saves list
AC Hotel Tarragona by Marriott
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida de Roma 8, 43005 Tarragona, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Tarragona
New Delhi, India
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Nice AC Hotel in Tarragona”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

This was a Businesstrip to Tarragona (Spain). As it already have been recommended to me from other Businesspartners, i did went into this "AC Hotel" and i can say, that it was a good Choice. It have a nice and cosy Design - i liked it. Top friendly Service there. Staff did speak good english and also they gave me few good Recommendation for some typical Restaurants in that Area. Also in that Area have been few very good Shops.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    180
    56
    14
    12
See reviews for
50
174
21
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Iberostar phenicia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

I stayed there in august 2012 and this hotel is perfect...customer service really good,the room and the bed is amazing,near to the main bus stop where you can take the bus to all beach resorts.you can use one bus ticket with 10 trips for 2 people you need to touch twice with the same card so you have 5 trips for both of you...tarragone city is amazing and you need to try the amazing breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Stayed here for a conference at the university. Good location for the university--a farther walk to the old city but we did it daily. Desk staff was wonderful and very helpful. Rooms were nice and clean. Some have a street view and some view the park in back. We had an interior room with no view but it was quiet. Breakfast is probably not worth the price as there are many restaurants close by at a good price. Drinks and coffee sold at bar in lobby but no coffee makers in rooms. Hotel does not have a pool but does have a nice fitness center. My only complaint is that internet use is free in lobby but to use wireless in your room, it costs 12 euros for a 24-hour period. Otherwise, it was a very good value as well. Would recommend it.

Room Tip: rooms on the back or park side are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Given the price level and the number of stars, this hotel was a great disappointment. The largest issue was the lack of cleanliness, which I think is very important for a hotel. When I came there, the toilet in my room had clearly not been properly cleaned. When I reported this a cleaner came, but she did not properly clean the toilet either. I ended up doing this myself.

While the lack of cleanliness was the main problem, the hotel was disappointing in other ways as well. The breakfast didn't mean much and was certainly not worthy of a four-star hotel. There was no Englist breakfast, which I would generally expect in this case. The water for tea was not warm enough and the boiled eggs very cold. The staff wasn't particularly friendly. There are no facilities in the room for preparing coffee/tea, which I would generally expect in a four-star hotel. When I wanted to order tea, it turns out they only have black tea. The hotel had no remarkably good points, so in sum my experience was quite negative.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Staying here for business. Being from the US, the expectations for a hotel are a bit different so I am writing this for US reviewers in mind.

Room: adequate and very clean. Go for the park view. The other is just a view. Of the center of the building. Very boring. No iron though. Need to either bring your own iron or have it done for you (mucho dinero).

Parking: be ready for tight parking in an underground garage, however, the pillars do have some foam bumpers because I assume many cars have had their shares of scrapes in the past. These bumpers give you a safety net. But make sure to rent a very small car if renting one at all (that is general advice for travel to Europe).

Staff: found them to be very friendly and helpful. No issues on my part.

Dining: breakfast buffet was ok but not outstanding. Think of it as continental breakfast plus.

Price: our company had a corporate rate but it seemed very reasonable.

Room Tip: Ask for the park view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

During a short visit to Tarragona we stayed in this hotel and were surprised about how nice it was. We had everything we needed here, including a very nice bathroom.
Although the room faced the main road we were not bothered by the traffic outside.

The staff was very helpful by giving us directions and ideas what we could do during the little time we had, and they recommended a very nice restaurant in the old city. Great recommendation, great service and a very nice breakfast bar! We used the hotel parking,too.
We would definitely stay here again and can recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terneuzen, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

My husband stays often in this hotel when he is working in Tarragona and this time I joined him for a long weekend.
It is close to the main centre and the Rambla (shopping area, restaurants etc.)
The room is rather small but when you just use it to sleep in as we did, it is great. Bathroom ok but again, rather small but with bath and shower inside the bathtub.
Nice amenities and big fluffy towels!
There is a comfy chair with table and a desktop with chair, large suitcase table and a large cupboard and of course A/C (which can be turned off!!) :-))
The room was spotless and cleaned everyday but sheets were not change daily, which, to be honest, I don't mind! I don't don't change the sheets at home every day either!!
Make sure you ask for a room facing the park on the backside, it is nice and peaceful.
I did not use breakfast at the hotel but according to hubby it is nice but I found the 9,50 euro too expensive. There are plenty of nice cafes around the hotel or near the Rambla to have a sumptuous breakfast for next to nothing! F.e, we had 4 coffee, croissants, pastries and 2 large brown sandwiches for around 5 euro!
Beware that during the weekend, the bar at the hotel is closed and we were there, the dining room was also closed.
There is a Nespresso coffee machine with pastries available at this bar, this is nice when returning from town for a (free!) coffee.
The roof has a sun lounge deck with loungers but I guess this place will be boiling during Summer as it is situated in the sun the whole day :-))

My husband will return on Sunday for another business stay but this hotel is also recommend for short (or long) stays while sniffing up culture in Tarragona.

Also compliments to the always very friendly staff, nothing is too much!!

Room Tip: Rooms on back of hotel are more quiet and with a nice view at a Park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to AC Hotel Tarragona by Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AC Hotel Tarragona by Marriott

Address: Avenida de Roma 8, 43005 Tarragona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > Tarragona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Tarragona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — AC Hotel Tarragona by Marriott 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Expedia and Marriott so you can book your AC Hotel Tarragona by Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ac Hotels Tarragona
Ac Hotel Tarragona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage AC Hotel Tarragona by Marriott, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.