We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Economy hotel with too much economising.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of AC Hotel Tarragona by Marriott

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added AC Hotel Tarragona by Marriott to your Saves list
AC Hotel Tarragona by Marriott
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida de Roma 8, 43005 Tarragona, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Tarragona
Dinas Powys, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
“Economy hotel with too much economising.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We stayed 3 nights here. After an extremely noisy hotel in Valencia, we asked for a quiet, high room, and were given one on the seventh floor at the rear, overlooking a park. It was very quiet but disappointingly small, with a window best described as half the normal in size. Lighting was poor, and there was no vanity mirror for a lady. The dressing table light didn't work, nor did half the ones in the bathroom. These were later fixed but went again.The swinging bathroom door was poorly fitting opaque glass,like a Western saloon, with no lock.The shower was excellent. The worst feature was the bed - " queensize". She must have been a midget. It was quite the most uncomfortable bed I've ever, and I mean ever, slept in: a hard mattress, polyster pillows, and a dip in the middle. My wife and I could only sleep by hanging over the side of the bed, to maintain equilibrium, like big cats on a tree branch.
As I know this sounds like one long moan, on the positive side, complimentary drinks a great idea, as was the solarium on top, with plenty of space, although the loungers were pretty manky.
I would also echo sentiments about staffing; one poor girl on reception, with a long queue of people checking in and out. So much for management.
There is a Corte Inglese store close to the hotel on the extended new ramblas, with a reliable restaurant on the top floor.
The old town is great, especially around the cathedral area. Look for the Plaza Del Forum, we can recommend the cafeteria there - La Casita de Los Treauras Bessones ( the little house of the female triplets). Superbly kept draught lager, and a wide selection of moderately priced food.
On the Roman sights we would strongly recommend the Roman Circus, stunning ruins which run under the houses of the old town - best value out.

Room Tip: Ask for room overlooking the park . Check the bed before accepting the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    180
    56
    14
    12
See reviews for
50
174
21
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

The location isn't perfect for a tourist, but if you don't mind a little walking, the beach and tourist sites -- the Roman ruins -- are just a 15 minute walk away. And Tarragon is a lovely town for walking. The hotel offered good clean and comfortable accomodations, the staff was helpful and friendly... and the breakfast rose above it all, it was really delicious, especially if you like traditional Spanish breakfasts. Recommended.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

stayed here for three nights. all was very satisfactory. only ever seemed to be one person on reception though, which can cause minor delays. very nice fully tiled bathroom, however the shower screen is insufficient to prevent water soaking the floor. breakfast definitely not worth 12€ - we had a quick look and it was very basic.
very much enjoyed the city of tarragona.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
239 helpful votes 239 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

First impressions of the hotel were good.
It was a bit of a walk to the old town but nevertheless a pleasant walk. The old town is lovely, lots of character and charm.
We were offered the choice of twin beds or a queen size bed, if offered take the twin beds, the mattress was a bit on the hard side so we did alot of rolling to the centre of the bed.
The hotel states they offer a safe for your personal belongings. We were told that none of the bedrooms had safes in them but if we wanted we could use the one in reception, not ideal and not convenient.
These are only minor points and are not intended to discourage you in booking this hotel as on the whole we were pleased with it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

The AC Hotel Tarragona was eveything we had expected from a Marriott chain hotel. Nice rooms, friendly personnel, clean - a pleasant experience.

We arrived late at night and the receptionist advised us to go to the harbour for a late night dinner. It is within walking distance (15 min.). We had great seafood there.

Be careful if you park your car in the hotel garage - it is quite tight but a good driver can manage.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

Easy access to city and a pleasant walk to the beach. Bus station just up the road with connections to Barcellona and south. Good rooms and roof terrace. Staff helpful. Any number of eating options nearby and reasonable prices.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

This was our first visit to an AC hotel and we were impressed as soon as we walked through the doors. The receptionist was very friendly and suggested an area of tapas bars to have lunch as only one of the three rooms were ready. She showed us how to get there on a map. On our return the rooms were ready.
The hotel is a 5 minute walk from the main bus station if you want to visit the surrounding area but as we were just there for the weekend we stayed around Tarragona. We got the bus from Reus airport which was €3.10 each and only takes 15-20 minutes. We returned to the airport by taxi which was €25.
The hotel is very clean and modern as were the rooms. The rooms had very comfy beds with plenty of pillows. Each room has a free mini bar which is stocked with soft drinks. The bathrooms are modern with powerful showers and soft towels. There are no balconies but there is a sun terrace on the eighth floor. You have to walk through the gym to get to the terrace which has more towels and another free mini bar of water. Also on this floor is a Turkish bath which you need to ring reception 15 minutes before you want to use it and they turn it on so it is hot for your visit. There are showers and toilets on the floor too.
The only downside is the hotel is about a 20 minute walk to the cathedral area which is the main area for bars and restaurants. However, there are bars along Ramblas Nuvo which is the main street to get from one end of town to the other. Everybody walks down the middle of the dual carriageway and there was a market there when we were there.
I had seen that a restaurant called La Cuitat was voted no. 1 on tripadvisor so we asked the receptionist to book us a table as we thought Saturday evening might be busy. When she rang she was told it was closed except for parties of 15 or more. Seems a strange way of operating a restaurant !! I asked her if she could recommend anywhere and told us about one called La Nau.
On the way there we found another highly voted restaurant on Trpadvior called La Terrat which was also closed. We decided to go to La Nau even though it was number 52 or so. It was an excellent meal. We opted for various tapas from Spanish omelette to razor clams. We filled the table with enough dishes for 4 and with the wine it only came to €45. I will write a separate review on this restaurant as it deserves higher than 52.
We had a nice breakfast just round the corner from the hotel in a cafe bar called Nectar. This place was immaculate with good food and a friendly staff. You could see into the kitchen where your food was being prepared and they had to push a button to open the glass sliding doors to get in and out of the kitchen. It was the same when you went to the toilet. You pushed a button and a glass door slid open and all the lights came on to let you into the toilet area. Again these were immaculate. We always judge a place by the cleanliness of the toilets. The attention to detail was excellent. One person asked for mustard for their bacon sandwich and it was presented in a sauce boat which makes a change from sachets. Then we ordered some tea which came in individual cast iron teapots and the tea was made from loose tea in an infusser in the top of the teapot which was the best tea we had ever drank abroad.
All in all Tarragona is worth a long weekend visit. It has a nice beach, roman ruins, a cathedral, all the designer shops, good restaurants and bar culture. AC Tarragona is a great hotel to stay in whilst visiting and we would recommend this hotel to family and friends.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to AC Hotel Tarragona by Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AC Hotel Tarragona by Marriott

Address: Avenida de Roma 8, 43005 Tarragona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > Tarragona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Tarragona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — AC Hotel Tarragona by Marriott 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Expedia and Marriott so you can book your AC Hotel Tarragona by Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ac Hotels Tarragona
Ac Hotel Tarragona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage AC Hotel Tarragona by Marriott, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.